Customer Reviews for

Holding Out (Hawks Motorcycle Club Series, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I really enjoyed this book, can't wait for the second book to come out. I loved that it jumped right into the story, no long drawn out back story needed. Please give this one a chance - you won't be sorry.

posted by 4339925 on January 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay I bought this because it had a lot of great reviews. Sadly

Okay I bought this because it had a lot of great reviews. Sadly this was not a great book. The premise was really good, had a lot of potential but failed to follow through. The language was pitiful. I don't have a problem with rough language but this was more like immat...
Okay I bought this because it had a lot of great reviews. Sadly this was not a great book. The premise was really good, had a lot of potential but failed to follow through. The language was pitiful. I don't have a problem with rough language but this was more like immature shock value cussing & name calling. It added nothing to the story. Alas the page count on my nook state 551 but when you count by 3's and 5's it was only 130ish. Now if you want a great biker book Kristen Ashley is your author. After reading her this is a sad disappointment.

posted by 4062197 on March 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great big action packed read! I liked it a lot. Just wish there

    Great big action packed read! I liked it a lot. Just wish there were a little more backstory on the club. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Holding On by Lila Rose  4 out of 5 stars Zara has been on the r

    Holding On by Lila Rose 
    4 out of 5 stars
    Zara has been on the run for 6 years. Having left her abusive husband after a particularly vicious fight, she and her daughter Maya have relocated with the help of her friend Deanna.  They are eventually able to afford their own house, not knowing it is across the street from a biker gang compound.  
    Talon who is the head of the club and Zara feel an instant attraction when she storms over in her pajamas and tells him to turn down the music.  They do not act on their feelings for a long time and even then they have a lot to work through:  they both have children, he has been with various women in town, and her ex is suddenly hot on her trail.  
    I liked the premise of this story and enjoyed it more after the first couple of chapters.  The fact that they hadn't been together and he "claimed" her was a difficult concept to grasp.  I liked the interactions between characters and the dialog was funny. 
    I will definitely read more by this author because I am curious to see what happens to the rest of the characters. 
    *A complimentary copy was given in exchange for an honest review*
    Susan, My Secret Book Spot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Great

    Excellent. Great characters, good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    This book surprised me in a lot of good ways. Ill be looking for

    This book surprised me in a lot of good ways. Ill be looking for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good book especially for a first time author!.  I laughed

    Really good book especially for a first time author!.  I laughed, I cried. There were some good twists.  
    I will definitely read the next book in series. 
    Definitely similar to Kristen Ashley which was great for me. (My favorite author). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿ For two years, Zara Edgingway, secr

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿








    For two years, Zara Edgingway, secretary for an investigation firm and single mother of a precocious six year-old, has lived next to the hot biker president of the Hawks motorcycle club across the street. Despite some occasional flirting and the odd suggestive remark, he has not once made a serious move on her, when all of a sudden he is all up in her face, claiming her as 'his woman', and apparently she is supposed to fall at his feet. Right!




    Talon Marcus has kept close tabs and a keen eye on his pretty neighbour Zara, not wanting to scare her off if he moved in on her too soon. But after. A couple of years of dancing around each other, it was time to stake his claim. Reserved and careful as she was, her spunky nature and interest in him started shining through at times and he intended to capitalize on it. Her resistance wasn't going to hold him back, especially not when her body language told him something different altogether.




    Just as Talon is forcing his way into Zara's life and home, she receives some disturbing news and with that comes the first sign that perhaps the past she had been hiding from is not as far behind her as she thought. Signs are piling up that she might not be safe and Talon in his self-appointed role as 'her man' takes his protective duties very seriously, keeping tabs on her at all times with the help of his MC.




    When trust is betrayed and lives are threatened, it will take a leap of faith for Zara and Talon to come through......alive.




    *****




    A gut-bustingly fun & steamy thrill read!!!




    I can't remember why I picked up this book, but I'm so glad I did!! It was a blast!! Not necessarily a deep emotional brain twister, but a good solid, SUPER entertaining read, with scrumptiously hot Alpha biker dudes, screamingly hilarious and spunky besties, one sweetly gentle and one flamingly outrageous gay guy and a mouthy and mischievous six year-old. Add to that some seriously creepy obsessive ex with a wide reach and you have this great introductory novel to the Hawks Motorcycle Club Series!!!




    Zara has been in hiding for years from an abusive ex and just recently has started coming out of her shell a bit, regaining some of her sassy personality and outgoing nature. But she balks at the caveman attitude Talon tends to throw around at first, it feels a little too close to being controlled, although HIS control is something that gives her tingles instead of chills!!




    Having lived a rather typical fast and loose lifestyle, Talon knew that Zara was different, which is why he took his time with her. She was someone to settle down with. He had not always been a model citizen, but had cleaned up most of his act and that of the MC, considering it his family now. He wanted Zara to be part of that.




    Lila Rose uses colourful, straight language, vivid imagery and delicious humour to enhance a good, solid storyline. I can't wait for the next book in the series.




    Seriously!! Great laughs, fantastic dialogue, terrific rhythm and good action!! 




    ¿Cheeky, intense and red-hot page-turner!!¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1