Customer Reviews for

Holding a Tender Heart (Beiler Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joy Hannabass for Readers' Favorite Debbie Watson g

    Reviewed by Joy Hannabass for Readers' Favorite

    Debbie Watson grew up living close to an Amish community and was friends with one of the Amish families. Throughout her young life Debbie had always admired the Amish way of life and she spent a lot of time in the Beiler family home. It is after Debbie graduates from college that she decides to take the huge step of joining the Amish faith. Though her father was willing to let her explore what Debbie wanted in life, her mom though it was a phase in her life and she would come to her senses and return to her English way of living. But after the Beiler girls' dad agreed to have Debbie move into their home, Debbie was more than convinced that Amish is what she wanted to be. And Amish boy Alvin Knepp was an added reason to be Amish.
     
    Author Jerry Eicher is an awesome Amish storyteller. His books have that unique way about them that lets you know Mr. Eicher is the writer of these wonderful stories. Debbie was a sweet young lady and I admired her and her determined attitude to make the appropriate changes necessary to be called Amish. This is a unique twist that is different from most Amish stories because I have not read many stories where an Englisher turns Amish; the lifestyle is so different and being Amish means hard work. Debbie fit in well with the family, but it was not all a goody-goody life and there were difficult situations that upset the family a lot of the time. But their faith sees them through the problems. And I am looking forward to the next book in this series to continue Debbie’s story and her new lifestyle. This is an awesome book that I highly recommend if you enjoy Amish fiction. You will be delighted you picked Holding a Tender Heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Being an avid fan of Amish fiction, I thought I had read about e

    Being an avid fan of Amish fiction, I thought I had read about every possible plot line Amish fiction had to offer. I was delighted to find that Jerry Eicher had written a unique twist to the usual Amish story. This was a new author for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed his writing. The book kept me eager to turn the pages. I look forward to reading the rest of the series as well as other books he has written.
    The family of Bishop Beiler has a family member that is eager to break out into the English world. However, the local English girl is just as eager to learn more about the Amish lifestyle by moving in with the Beiler family. Will the influence of an Englisher in their home result in a negative outcome? What will the rest of the Amish community have to say about an outsider living with the bishop? And, how will romance play into the story? You will find many interesting twists and turns as the chapters unfold.
    A special thanks to author, Jerry Eicher, for the opportunity to read and review his work. A copy of the book was provided to me in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    Jerry S. Eicher is a great Amish author and I love his books. In

    Jerry S. Eicher is a great Amish author and I love his books. In the beginning of my reading, I'm feeling uncertain. An English girl, Debbie, that's a neighbor to the Bishop's family and friends with his daughters, graduates from college, lands a job and she's still looking for that particular something to fill her life. She believes it's in the plain world with the Amish.

    As I keep reading, word by word, paragraph by paragraph, page by page, I became absorbed into this awesome novel by Jerry S. Eicher. The characters became so real and I'm captivated by a story of love and forgiveness. Holding A Tender Heart to me was a novel I was uncertain at the first chapter, but at the final page I could say, "WOW, What an awesome book"! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and highly recommend it. Thank you, Jerry S. Eicher, for sharing a brilliant book I was not expecting. Holding A Tender Heart is Book One in The Beiler Sisters series. I'm looking forward to reading Book Two.

    I received a complimentary copy from the publisher and author in exchange for my honest review. This review is one hundred percent my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    After reading Holding a Tender Heart, book 1 of The Beiler Siste

    After reading Holding a Tender Heart, book 1 of The Beiler Sisters, I feel as though I was in the midst of the Beiler family all the time I was reading.  I appreciate the depth and accuracy of the writing by Jerry Eicher, he brings out some details others might overlook which makes a better understanding and feels more real.  It's not a fluffy romance book but shows what faith and love can do.  I can't wait for book 2 to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    This Book Will Hold You Captive! Are you ready for a readin


    This Book Will Hold You Captive!




    Are you ready for a reading adventure?  This is what you will get in this great read by author Jerry S. Eicher.  This author’s books just keep getting better and better.  I am already looking forward to book two in this series.




    Inside the covers of this book you will find an English girl who wishes to become Amish.  An Amish girl who desires to live and experience the English life.  An Amish boy who took his rumspringa a little too far because now trouble is knocking at his door. 




    I enjoyed all the characters in this book.  Some more than others but not one did I dislike.  I found myself dreaming of what it would be like to become Amish.  I quickly dismissed those thoughts because I know that I would not last more than a couple of days.




    There are quite a few twists and turns in this book.  I am certain that I have not read another Amish fiction book like this one.  This is the reason why I absolutely loved this book. 




    This book captures your interest from page one and keeps building until the very last page.




    Author Jerry S. Eicher, as in his other books, makes sure that God is there for each character no matter what trials and tribulations they may face.  Without God there is no foundation to build upon.




    Be sure to pick up a copy of Holding a Tender Heart.  I highly recommend it.  I wholeheartedly give it a 5 star rating!




    I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and author Jerry S. Eicher for allowing me to read and review Holding a Tender Heart.  The opinions expressed are mine alone.




     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    I really liked Holding A Tender Heart. I found it to be a deligh

    I really liked Holding A Tender Heart. I found it to be a delightful read. I really liked Englisher Debbie's determination to become Amish. And liked the Beiler sisters. I look forward to the rest of the series to see what happens with Debbie and the sisters. Highly recommended. Five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

     How many of us have wished to live with an Amish family and per

     How many of us have wished to live with an Amish family and perhaps even convert to the Amish faith?   I will admit to having some of those thoughts myself.   I think personally that there is a desire for simplicity, quiet, and peace.   Debbie Watson is a young Englisha girl who does exactly that with Bishop Beiler and his family.   His own daughter, Lois, has hopes of leaving the Amish faith and becoming English and he hopes that bringing Debbie into their home and family might change Lois' mind.   
    The oldest Beiler sister, Verna, falls in low with a young Amish man whoe gets into trouble with the law that could end with him in jail.  So obviously this story has much excitement and adventure.   So instead of Calgon taking you away, why not let Jerry Eicher do it with Holding a Tender Heart. 
    I was given a copy of this book by the author and Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another WINNER by Jerry!  --   Debbie Watson is English but gre

    Another WINNER by Jerry!  --  

    Debbie Watson is English but grew up living next door to Bishop Beiler and spending time at his house playing with his daughters. She has now graduated from college and landed her first job, so now her mother is in a hurry for her to move out. Debbie knows she was born English but she feels she is Amish in her heart, she loves the peaceful life they lead.




    When she gets up enough nerve, she asks Bishop Beiler if she can room at their house, as a paying boarder, so she can learn more about the Amish faith and maybe become Amish. The Bishop agrees, not only does he like Debbie but he is hoping she can help with his middle daughter Lois who thinks she wants to jump the fence.




    When Verna, the oldest Beiler daughter, finally takes a stand and agrees to let a boy take her home from a singing, her father isn't any too pleased. You see, she is 24 and never once been 'allowed' to accept a ride home, but she really likes Joe Weaver. When Joe gets arrested and is looking at possibly 20 years of jail time she continues to support him against her fathers wishes and nearly finds herself excommunicated. Can her dad really do that to her, yes, if she doesn't change her mind. Verna also talks Debbie into helping somewhat with Joe's case but will it do any good?




    Another wonderful story by Jerry. It's like looking from the outside in with Debbie wanting to become Amish and how she views things. I don't know that I could give up all of our conveniences. He also shows how a strong faith in Da Hah can get you through the worst of trials. This book is on the shelves March 1, 2014 and I am already anxiously waiting for the next book in the series, "Seeing YOur Face Again" due out June 1, 2014.




    Thank you to Harvest House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1