Customer Reviews for

Holding the Cards (Nature of Desire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book as are all in series but wrong description

The description currently associated with this title actually is for "Natural Law," which is the 2nd book in the Nature of Desire Series and is defininately worth reading after Holding the Cards. Briefly, "Holding the Cards" is about Lauren, an MD who needs to get away ...
The description currently associated with this title actually is for "Natural Law," which is the 2nd book in the Nature of Desire Series and is defininately worth reading after Holding the Cards. Briefly, "Holding the Cards" is about Lauren, an MD who needs to get away after a disasterous relationship. Lauren, a Domme, meets reclusive sculptor Josh, a sub, and his friend Marcus during her planned "escape" to a private tropical island. This is a story of Lauren and Josh and how they heal each other. (I apologize for such a general overview of the plot but I don't care for reviews that read like the Cliff Notes version of the book.)

posted by sharonRNNJ on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unusual love story

Yes, this is a romance but unlike any love story most of us will ever encounter. It is a story of a Dom and a Sub, an intimate look at what that world entails with both requiring a healing. Will both find what they deserve and need or will their fears and buried traum...
Yes, this is a romance but unlike any love story most of us will ever encounter. It is a story of a Dom and a Sub, an intimate look at what that world entails with both requiring a healing. Will both find what they deserve and need or will their fears and buried trauma prevent that. And don't forget the elephant, oh yes, there is an elephant. Actually it is the story of two Doms and a Sub; but you have to read in order to discover the complete connection.

posted by 3657670 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book as are all in series but wrong description

    The description currently associated with this title actually is for "Natural Law," which is the 2nd book in the Nature of Desire Series and is defininately worth reading after Holding the Cards. Briefly, "Holding the Cards" is about Lauren, an MD who needs to get away after a disasterous relationship. Lauren, a Domme, meets reclusive sculptor Josh, a sub, and his friend Marcus during her planned "escape" to a private tropical island. This is a story of Lauren and Josh and how they heal each other. (I apologize for such a general overview of the plot but I don't care for reviews that read like the Cliff Notes version of the book.)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    *wolf whistles*

    Joey W. Hill is the most fabulous writer in BDSM fiction today. i get pulled into the submissive's head, and i can't escape. i feel almost as emotional with both Mac and Vi's predicament as i do with my own wonderful Dom. The erotic element is secondary to the emotional connection between the characters, but not by much. This is such an intense, gripping book, i reread it more often than any other, which is saying something for this bookworm. Spectacular i don't have enough good things to say about both this book and this author in particular.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great Read

    This was a great story of heartache and healing and the love of friends..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Fantastic story

    Ms. Hill is a terrific writer. All of her books are worth reading. My copies are on my keeper shelf. She has a neat Website also where you can get an excerpt of her work in progress.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A beautiful epic

    The author finds a way to dig into the core of two people almost destroyed by love to forge a path of healing and acceptance. The sexual nature simmers under every word but there is actually very little in explicit interaction. I got this book after a blog interviewing several top BDSM authors listed Joey Hill as one of their favorite authors. I figured if my favorites liked it, try it. I intend to read them all now. I felt as if I travelled the emotional path with Josh, Marcus, and Lauren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    surprising depth for the subject matter

    I didn't expect to find a redemption story buried in an erotica, but I enjoyed the interplay between the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    OMG!! This is probably the most emotionally written/driven BDSM

    OMG!! This is probably the most emotionally written/driven BDSM that I have read yet. 
    It was simply amazing to watch Lauren heal Josh and, in return, herself. 
    Was there HOT sex in it, yes! However, I feel the main idea behind this was 2 people meeting, both damaged from their past relationships, getting to know each other with an enormous amount of sexual tension! I can't wait to read the next one! I also hope that Marcus either has his own book or she writes one because I would for him to get his HEA or happy for now. :D
    This was also my first book by this author and my first female Dom (I think). Truly wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    In this story, Lauren meets Josh and Marcus while on vacation. T

    In this story, Lauren meets Josh and Marcus while on vacation. The three spend their time together getting to know one another but the love interest in this story lies between Lauren and Josh. This book is very tantalizing and it builds throughout the story. Lauren is a Domme, and she has set her sights on Josh, she not only wants his body but his heart also. Marcus plays into the scenes beautifully throughout the book, and there is one "hot" scene between he, Lauren and Josh that is guaranteed to make you need a glass of ice water to cool you down. All in all it is a very good read, buy it, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one book by Ms. Hill that I absolutely Love and have rer

    This is one book by Ms. Hill that I absolutely Love and have reread it many times. It has become my go to book when I'm upset or distressed. Also it is a great book to cook and bake to. Except have to remember that something is in the oven. In other words a very excellent book that makes the outside world disappear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect beginning to a wonderful series. Not to be missed.

    The perfect beginning to a wonderful series. Not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Very hot

    Unforgettable!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    The first BDSM book I've ever read and it certainly didn't let me down. It was intriguing and heartfelt. A book about overcoming past demons and creating new and stronger bonds. From the 1st page I couldn't put it down. Like a previous reviewer stated, the description posted for this book is actually for the second book in this series. Here's a description I found for this title: Lauren is a successful doctor with a healthy attitude toward sex, unashamed of her proclivities as a sexual dominant. She wants love and a family, but she's beginning to believe there is no Mr. Right willing to stand by her in sickness and health...and be cuffed, stripped, and smacked with a riding crop. Then her friend Lisette invites her to spend a long weekend on a private island. It turns out Lisette can't come with her, but Lauren opts to go anyway, with no one for company but Joshua, the island caretaker, and his visiting friend, Marcus. Though both men are beautiful, it is Joshua that catches Lauren's attention, and not just because Marcus prefers men. Something in Josh's stormy eyes calls to her. When Marcus facilitates a game of submission and control between the three of them that will last throughout the weekend, Lauren embraces the opportunity. Josh overwhelms her with his willingness to submit to her body's desires, but her heart wants to get to the secrets behind those eyes. She is going to have to tear down his defenses and make him give her everything. And this is one Mistress who doesn't take no for an answer...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2