Customer Reviews for

The Hole

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Strange but good.

I absolutely LOVED the book, my favorite character would be Alex. It is strange, sexy, thrilling and fabulous!!! The movie was great too.I first read it a few months ago and I read it again last night. In the meantime I saw 'The Hole' the film and I came to appreciate ...
I absolutely LOVED the book, my favorite character would be Alex. It is strange, sexy, thrilling and fabulous!!! The movie was great too.I first read it a few months ago and I read it again last night. In the meantime I saw 'The Hole' the film and I came to appreciate this book a little more. 'After the Hole' is definitely a major improvement over the movie though. While it is true that the book will not win any big awards we should not forget that this is a horror book and as a horror book it's supposed to give you the chills not to find what the meaning of life is. In the movie, Liz(played by the beautiful Thora Birch who delivers a subtle performance as the teenage girl who is obsessed with the boy) find it a World War II bunker. The story starts to get interesting when strange things start to happen in the hole. I wouldn't really want to give anything away so I'll stop here with the spoilers, but the book does succeed in being scary without becoming a gore-fest.First of all I want to make clear that even people sometimes don't like something you should see what the fuss is about to see if youre into it or not,now, if you are a true HORROR fan or buff or you just happen to like scary books you have to read this one, this movie is easily the best horror book I have read in at least two yeard,so then today I read the book and just loved it...as a matter of fact I just finished reading it for the 5th time and loved it so much I just had to be here reviewing it....it's scary, Frankie dying, the people getting trapped,I liked it a lot, its easily into my top 20 on horror books. See it and you'll like it..I know at least you won't be expecting the end and everything that happens in it.SCARY. One of the problems with the book is that all the dialogue is in english but if you overlook that you will enjoy the book and it's rather surprising ending.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGG!

Not only did I find this book boring, but it jumped around so much that it was confusing. Even after reading the book, I still don't know if all of the teenagers survived The Hole, or if only the main character did! I certainly will not be like the other reveiwer and re...
Not only did I find this book boring, but it jumped around so much that it was confusing. Even after reading the book, I still don't know if all of the teenagers survived The Hole, or if only the main character did! I certainly will not be like the other reveiwer and read this book 5 more times ! No thanks !

posted by NookGirlPA on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    Strange but good.

    I absolutely LOVED the book, my favorite character would be Alex. It is strange, sexy, thrilling and fabulous!!! The movie was great too.I first read it a few months ago and I read it again last night. In the meantime I saw 'The Hole' the film and I came to appreciate this book a little more. 'After the Hole' is definitely a major improvement over the movie though. While it is true that the book will not win any big awards we should not forget that this is a horror book and as a horror book it's supposed to give you the chills not to find what the meaning of life is. In the movie, Liz(played by the beautiful Thora Birch who delivers a subtle performance as the teenage girl who is obsessed with the boy) find it a World War II bunker. The story starts to get interesting when strange things start to happen in the hole. I wouldn't really want to give anything away so I'll stop here with the spoilers, but the book does succeed in being scary without becoming a gore-fest.First of all I want to make clear that even people sometimes don't like something you should see what the fuss is about to see if youre into it or not,now, if you are a true HORROR fan or buff or you just happen to like scary books you have to read this one, this movie is easily the best horror book I have read in at least two yeard,so then today I read the book and just loved it...as a matter of fact I just finished reading it for the 5th time and loved it so much I just had to be here reviewing it....it's scary, Frankie dying, the people getting trapped,I liked it a lot, its easily into my top 20 on horror books. See it and you'll like it..I know at least you won't be expecting the end and everything that happens in it.SCARY. One of the problems with the book is that all the dialogue is in english but if you overlook that you will enjoy the book and it's rather surprising ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Disappointing

    I read through the whole book thinking crazy stuff was going to happen and nothing did. Very disappointed.. it was boring i spent money on this and it was aweful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGG!

    Not only did I find this book boring, but it jumped around so much that it was confusing. Even after reading the book, I still don't know if all of the teenagers survived The Hole, or if only the main character did! I certainly will not be like the other reveiwer and read this book 5 more times ! No thanks !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    St Borrrrrrrrrring

    This a confuseing book






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    One word

    HORRIBLE. MOVIE WAY BETTER :- (@#$%&)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Movie was better

    I think the writing was too confusing. Jumped around too much !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Hlckjzz crgvbkpuyg fgdh Angry birds

    Its awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Be aware that this is the same book as "After the Hole"

    Based upon what I have seen at this site, and some others, "After the Hole" is the same book as "The Hole" Do a Google Search on "After the Hole" and you'll see that it is the same book as "The Hole" I just wanted people to be aware of this and not buy both thinking that "After the Hole" is a sequel to "The Hole." I found "The Hole" to be well written and the story quite good. It is a remarkable first novel for an eighteen year old author. Given that it is only 152 or 153 pages long (don't have it with me right now) it is easy to read in one "sitting" and it definitely falls within the "couldn't put it down" category. It does take a while to get used to the format - flashbacks interspersed with "present" material but once you do, it works well. I found "After The Hole" while searching to see if Burt had written a sequel - don't want to spoil the story but you will very likely also want to find a sequel once you read to the last page of the book. You'll find yourself with questions when you finish the book. A movie was made of "The Hole" in 2001, directed by Nick Hamm, and I am going to watch it as soon as I can get a copy. It is available at Netflix Don't be confused by another movie with the same name which was made in 2010 and directed by Joe Dante - it is in no way related to Guy Burt's book. From reviews of the movie, I suspect that some of the loose ends in the book are tied up in the movie. First read the book and then see the movie. Again, "After the Hole" is the same book as "The Hole" - it simply has a different name and cover. BobNL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    A Psycological Thrill Ride...

    I have read this book fifteen times from the moment I bought it. Beautiful piece of writing. The best part was when everyone was practically dieing and all the thoughts. The psychological suspence in this book left me at the end of my chair, always wanting more. I would, well I have, recommended this book to many of my friends and members of my family. Most have recently finished it, and love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Hole

    This was a great thriller! The book leaves you to think. Think about what realy happend in the hole.Read it, and I guarantee It will leave you thinking!!! P.S. Oh yes read the epilogue!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Hole

    This was a good book. It's kind of hard to understand. If you've seen the movie and you think the book will be just like it you're wrong. The book doesn't tell about anyone dieing! Make sure you read the Epilogue! You will understand the ending and book a lot BETTER!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    one word

    amazing just amazing, you'll read as many times as you can! a true display of teenage life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    GOOD......BUT....................

    I would have thaught that after the 3 days in the hole, they would be looking and spending time trying to find a way out. BUT NOOOOOOO. Other then the HOO HUM ending, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Too dull bad ending

    The story was never ending,nothing exciting hard to understand and a very bad ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    What a weird book

    I thought that this book, over all, was very clever and ORIGINAL. I have to admit though, that it wasn't until chapter 5 that I finally started getting into it, but when I did, I DID! If you'r a fan of weird, psychological stuff, this is a read for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    A thrilling book!

    Wonderful book! I loved it! I got lost at some parts, but caught on quickly again. I recomend this book to anyone who likes to be sitting on the edges of their seats!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

    this book was absolutely amazing. i was surprised at fiirst but towards the end it really caught my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Slow read

    I feel this book was a slow read and hard to keep up with as far as the characters especially the main character. and the end was dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2002

    Deceptive, Simple, Great

    I thought that this was going to be a very simple three hour read. In a way it was-until I read it again and saw all the twists and turns that you don't know to look for in the first read. Wasn't interested in the price though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2