Customer Reviews for

Hole in My Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hole in my life

In the book "A Hole in My Life" Jack Gantos shows his ability to cut right to the point. He has no fear of telling his tragic life story. He is honest with what he did and you have to respect him for that. His experiences made him a better writer and person. Obviously h...
In the book "A Hole in My Life" Jack Gantos shows his ability to cut right to the point. He has no fear of telling his tragic life story. He is honest with what he did and you have to respect him for that. His experiences made him a better writer and person. Obviously he regrets what he did, but in the end it helped his career. He shows his ability to make the most out of any situation in life. He persevered, worked hard, and learned from his mistakes. He shows great courage in coming out and telling his story. He turned it into a great book and gave a great example of what can happen to you when you get mixed up with the wrong people. He was just a kid, but he committed a major crime and had to pay the price.
The story of how a young man struggles with high school, moving around the country, avoiding drugs, and trying to become a writer will capture your attention and then leave you shocked. As Jack moved to Saint Croix with his family, he got mixed up with a couple wrong guys. He ends up taking a job sailing 2,000 pounds of hashish to New York. As he makes the journey with the insane naked British man, he is unaware of what is going on around him. The plan would have worked if not for one aspect. As they get to New York and he gets his money, Jack is soon arrested and sent to federal prison. It is there where he truly starts to become a writer. The book shows a period of time in his life where Jack went from good, to bad, to back on the right track. Readers of this book will not be able to put it down.
The honest memoir of Jack Gantos left me shocked but satisfied. His ability to add humor into the very real story makes it interesting and fun to read. Gantos is a great writer and I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a suspense filled true story. He puts his experiences on the line and turned his life around and made the most of it.

posted by cburn12 on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hi

Is this a kids book or not?

posted by crwella on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Hi

    Is this a kids book or not?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    do you have a hole in your life?

    Jack Gantos' Hole in My Life is a memoir that shows the experience of a troubled teen transforming into the successful children's writer he is today. After a childhood of moving around, causing mischief and getting in trouble with alcohol and drugs, Gantos decides to get his life back on track by going to college. His only problem is, he has no money. So, when Jack gets offered to assist in sailing a boat to New York from the Virgin Islands for $10,000 he jumps at the opportunity. However, he gets in trouble with the law when they found out that what he was taking to New York, 2,000 pounds of hash. Jack was sent to a federal pen for six years and in two years applied to a community college and got released to probation .Now, Jack Gantos is a professor at Emerson College in Boston, MA and a renowned children's author. Even though Jack has a great message and story in Hole in My Life I feel that his use of figurative language and vocabulary is below par in the world of modern day writers.

    Hole in My Life definitely has its moments and I would recommend to someone going through tough times. However, Gantos has the vocabulary of a nine year old and I would certainly never recommend this book to someone looking for an invigorating and intellectual novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    What is the hole your life?

    Jack Gantos, a federal ex-criminal is now an aspiring children and young adult book writer. Hole in My Life is an exclusive memoir of a young kid, Gantos, trying to find "easy" money by selling drugs. His life as a teenager in high school was a bit different. The thought about him selling drugs up the coast to New York was sparked, based on his rough teenage years in high school. He went from having a close knit relationship with his family to living on his own in a broke down motel, desperate for money. He began his career in writing, after going to college. Despite trying to get easy money for college, one obstacle harder than any other gets in his way, he gets caught and is sentenced to six long years in federal prison.

    This book is a prime example of how a good kid gone bad comes back from redemption. Gantos tells the adventures of his sporadic childhood life and his trip down the criminal lane, live in full color. Gantos's sense of humor has a dramatic effect of how the book keeps the reader always interested. The suspenseful events, incorporated into an epic short story, brought the book life, keeping any reader at the edge of their seat, eagerly waiting to read the next line.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Good Book

    The book Hole In My Life is about Jack Gantos a young inspired writer who needs money for college, wants an adventure and is trying to find a way out of his dead-end job. Jack makes a deal for ten thousand dollars to help load a boat with drugs. To finish his deal he sails it from the Virgin Islands to NYC, the trip ended up landing Mr. Gantos in jail. I believe that the author does a very good job engaging the the reader because of the language and the way he explains stuff about his life in detail and doesn't hold much back. Something I liked about this book is that Jack Gantos goes in detail about his experiences, but I wonder whether all the stuff he says is true. I think someone who is into a book where peoples lives can change from bad to good if they put effort into it. I think that a person who might enjoy this book, is a person who enjoys reading about a life that has been changed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    unknown

    i think this is a good book and any who is into action and adventure then they should read this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    READ but don't skip the last chapters

    Holes in My Life by Jack Gantos is a must read high intrest young adult novel. I gave this book three stars because it was good over all but towards the end of the novel it started to lack detail. A young high school student of Florda is doing fine in school and wants to go on to college but there is two things stopping Jack. Number one, his faimly is moving in the middle of his senior year of high school. Number two, Jack nor his family has the money that it will take to send Jack to college. So Jack started to hang around a new group at school. They drink, smoke cigs, and smoke pot. After a few months, Jack is invited to a group get together, were he gets adicted to pot himself. Jack was offered a way to pay for his collage by sailing a boat with one other guy from Florda to New York,loaded down with two thousand pounds of pot. Jack would recive fifteen thousand grand if this is completed and they don't get cought. Jack takes the deal. The easy part was to get the boat to New York, the hard part was to sell two thousand pounds of pot without the cops finding out about it. They knew it was too easy. Do they get caught or do they make it away with more than one hundred grand? Sounds hard. Can they pull it off? You will have to read the book to find out what happens. I enjoyed it. So will you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A Hole in my Life Review

    The book I read, A Hole in my Life, by Jack Gantos is a self-written biography by Jack Gantos of his life when he was in jail and he tell the story how he got in there. Jack smuggles in thousands of pounds of Hash all the way form St.Croix to New York City just so he can get money for college to become a writer and get of the St.Croix island where there is a lot of dangerous things are happening. I would say this is a good book for the teenage kids. The reader should expect a lot of criminal activity happening in this book. The length of the book is 200 pages exactly, and I would say that it is a fast read if you read about 12 to 20 pages a night. I liked how the author used his style of writing by expressing how he exactly felt in every situation in the book. I felt like I could connect to the character by knowing how he felt . Out of five stars I rate this book 3 stars. -MaryJude Sanchez

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    a good book

    what i learned from gantos is that he wrote alot of books and his first book was bsck in 1976 and he wrote alot of other great books including hole in my life and that is a very good book thats why i liked to read that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    why i liked this book

    The book was ok it wasent bad.i enjoied reading this book becase it wa interestin case it talked about criminals and what the do. Alsp they alomst explain all of jack gontos live in detalis.also because he tells his story of how he got cought and what happened while he was in jail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Jack Gantos Review

    I recommend this book to all young adults and gave it a three because it tells about the real world and about what can happen to you if your not prepared. I think that it tells not only the truth, but what happens to people in or out of jail or anywhere else that they might be in danger. Jack Gantos a normal kid like no other,until he ran into two guys that weren't up to no good. He took a job that pays big money.He had to smuggle drugs until he ends up in a place that your dont want to be in. Now he has to suffer the consequences! He eithir has to turn his slife around and make good decisions or suffer pain in his cell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Hole in My Life is great

    I read Hole in My life, and I thought it was a great book. This book has suspense, surprise, and action and adventure. I recomend it to everyone who enjoys reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Hole in my Life is a alright Book!

    Hole in my LIfe is an all right book. It is really good for mature people who have a lot of sense,because it has some language in this book that some immature people can't handle and make a big deal out of nothing.I think that if people are going to be immature, then they should read it by themselves to make them understand it better,because if you keep laughing then you won't get the idea of the whole language and you'll have other people miss the point along with you. This book is good for people who like to know the real deal about an author and how they are really living. Jack doesn't sugar coat anything. He tells you everything about himself and friends that he was around when he got into all of this trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Would not read this if I was not forced to

    I think my title does the talking for this review. I did not enjoy this book, although if you are looking to read about everything that is wrong with todays high school students and their rebelious choices (or know someone who is going down a similar path) then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1