Customer Reviews for

Holes (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1404)

4 Star

(313)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Are you a bad boy?

If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible ...
If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible way. These boys have to survive digging seven holes, five feet deep, each and everyday! Go into the past with all these boys. Stanley is a boy that is sent to Camp Green Lake for a reason that he does not know. Zero is a little boy who does not know how to read or write. Mr.Sir and Mr.Pendaski are the owners of the camp, along with the Warden. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves adventure. I am like Stanley because we both love adventure. When Mr.Sir was hurt, it reminded of the time when Megan fell down off a mountain, I felt scared. When I heard the ending, I wanted to reread the book. This is a page turning story with adventures waiting on every page!¿

posted by Catmac on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

It got an award? Really?

This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent ...
This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent to a boys prison camp in the desert. Do they really have those? Come on! Really?

posted by wwillson on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1860 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    Are you a bad boy?

    If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible way. These boys have to survive digging seven holes, five feet deep, each and everyday! Go into the past with all these boys. Stanley is a boy that is sent to Camp Green Lake for a reason that he does not know. Zero is a little boy who does not know how to read or write. Mr.Sir and Mr.Pendaski are the owners of the camp, along with the Warden. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves adventure. I am like Stanley because we both love adventure. When Mr.Sir was hurt, it reminded of the time when Megan fell down off a mountain, I felt scared. When I heard the ending, I wanted to reread the book. This is a page turning story with adventures waiting on every page!¿

    79 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Book Review Outline Marissa Walton Book title and author: Holes by Louis Sachar Title of review: Holes Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    "Holes" is about a boy named Stanley Yelnats who was arrested and sent to Camp Green Lake, a camp for bad boys who committed crimes, after being accused of stealing a pair of shoes from an orphanage.
    Stanley's family believes that their bad luck is because of Stanley's no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather, who stole a pig from a one-legged Gypsy, and she put a spell on him and his family that would cause them bad luck. Stanley is caught with shoes that were stolen from an orphanage and is arrested and given the choice of going to jail or Camp Green Lake. Stanley chose the camp. In this camp, the bad boys have to dig seven holes, five feet deep, everyday. While at camp, Stanley meets Armpit, a big boy who doesn't bathe, X-Ray, a boy who says that he can see inside people, Zero, a very quiet boy who doesn't talk to anyone, and many others. Stanley learns the legend about Kissin' Kate Barlow, a woman who kisses each man that she kills, and about the treasure that is buried somewhere in the lake. Stanley and his new friend Zero make their way to "God's Thumb", a large mountain shaped as a thumb and soon learn the truth about the camp.
    I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure and surprise endings. This book is exciting and fun that will make you want to read it again and again.
    I really loved this book. It was a great adventure to read.
    I give this book 4 stars because it was exciting and great to read!

    66 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Very Wonderful book

    A great read. Trust me, YOU WON' T WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. You won't regret buying it.

    61 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read!!!

    The book was a hot fugde sundae on a sunny summer day. It was fantastic. Lol. One of my favorite reads ever!!!!!!!

    54 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    My opion

    I like this a lot it is so exciting to read it just grabs your atention and u never want to stop readin also if u liked this book u should try out the sexond book small steps and let me warn u the ending was so good i thought dhe could keep going but no so i hope a 3book comes out.

    36 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    I loved the book. I have read it many rimes and i have another book from Louis Sachar. It is called Small Steps annd i hope it is as good as Holes. I also love the movie of Holes. I will definitly watch the movie and read the book again.

    35 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Holes

    This book is a very intriging book. It is one of my favorite books of all time. Whoever reads it will definitly love this book.

    32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    extra spectacular

    Holes, by Louis Sachar , is a excellent book. It makes me want to read it over and over again. My opinion about the book Holes is that Louis Sachar wrote the book very well so the sentences flow very smoothly and it always leaves you in suspense and wanting more also leaves you on the edge of your seat. <BR/>This book takes place at camp green lake in the middle of a dusty desert. The major conflict in the story is that the camp councilors treat them horribly and the warden makes them dig holes in order to find the treasure of green. One major plot detail is after Stanley is sent to camp he is treated like dirt by all the kids there. Also the conditions the kids work in is blazing heat and barley any water. This book is written in the narrative point of view. He uses very vivid adjectives and all of the sentences flow smoothly.<BR/>I recommend this book to anyone who likes a great fiction book. You will have a great sense of satisfaction when you are done reading. Go out and read to find out the end!

    29 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was so amazing and inpirering i cried at the end it was so good!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    28 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Good book

    Who ever reads this book awsome

    25 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Holes

    The title of this book is Holes. It is the story of a boy who had to go to a camp because the police thought he stole an important pair of shoes. The book tells about days in his life and the author probably wrote this story for everyone to read. When you make new friends you usually stay good friends. You stick with each other and never leave each other behind and you help each other out. The author wrote this to entertain us but also to teach us never to steal.
    The time period of the book is the present day. While you are reading this book they will take you back to his great grandpa. The story was at Camp Green Lake in Texas. The book is mostly to make us laugh and enjoy the book. The words in the book like Texas words made me laugh and some of the characters were funny. I would rate this book five stars. It was really good and I would read it over and over again. This book has a little bit of a twist to it. It is like a mystery. You have to piece puzzle pieces together to get the book. That was the fun of it.
    The most important thing about this book is the policemen thinking the boy stole the shoes, having to go to Camp Green Lake, and the friends he made. One of my favorite quotes is ¿There is no lake at Camp Green Lake.¿ It¿s funny because he expected a whole different thing, but when he gets there its just dust. Another quote was, ¿ It was all because of his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great-great ¿grandfather!¿ This was important to the story because the family was under a curse because of their no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great- great ¿grandfather!
    When you make friends you stick with each other, help each other no matter what. This book is about helping each other and sometimes having a good adventure. I would advise you to get this book and read it because there might be a surprise at the end
    If you want to laugh and smile you should get the book Holes. This book is right for you. It also has mysteries and might be surprised to see what happens at the end.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Digging them holes

    A wonderful story that i will always remember

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Spectacular book

    If you've ever met or read about someone who always has bad luck, if you haven't then you don't know about Stanley Yelnats whose whole family is under a curse. A curse that his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great great-grandfather began. In Holes by Louis Sachar and published by Yearling in 1998, Stanley gets convicted of a crime of stealing a pair of owned by the famous ballplayer, Clyde Livingston, and then gets sent to Camp Green Lake, a place for delinquent teen boys. Once there he must dig holes, something that is supposed to promote good behavior, but is really a search of the legendary treasure of the outlaw Kissin' Kate Barlow. While at camp Stanley befriends many of the camp's other inhabitants, one such delinquent being a young boy nicknamed Zero. He makes a deal with Zero. He'll teach Zero how to read if Zero digs his holes for him. This deal seals their friendship and leads them on a journey that will enable them both to hopefully gain better luck. The entire story is filled with distinctive characters and has an imaginative plot. Sachar has woven together two intertwining stories and highlights the difficulties of two unfortunate boys in a tale that brings the characters to life.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Love it

    I wm a ten year old girl and I never stoped reading it. My mom would yell at me because it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo good if u r my age and what to read a really cool book then pick this book I dare u

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    One of the best books i've read

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    It got an award? Really?

    This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent to a boys prison camp in the desert. Do they really have those? Come on! Really?

    8 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    holes

    Book title and author: Holes by Louis Sachar
    Title of review: holes
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4.5

    Holes is a book about a boy getting sent away for stealing something he didn't do. Stanley Yelnats was the boy who got sent to Camp Green Lake. After he was accused of stealing a pair of shoes he had a choice of jail or Camp Green Lake. The family thinks why this happens is because they think there is a curse on them.

    This camp is for the juvenile kids to dig a hole each day and if u find something special you get off for that day. The ominous part behind the juvenile digs holes at the camp is because the Warden is searching for something. The warden wants to something because is has something to do with the curse on Stanley's family. The curse is all over Stanley's great-grand father forgetting to bring Madame Zeroni up the mountain. When his great grand father gets to America and has a child they think she set a curse on there family until they find something. So when Stanley finds the treasure the curse was broken and it rained at Camp Green Lake and Stanley became rich.

    As I read the book Holes I found it to be very amusing. Some parts we a little slow but it was still very interesting. I really advocate this book. The parts were very interesting. It is not a very educational book but more for the entertainment. The goals were practically to work and dig holes and then they ran away and survived in the dessert. It shows not to back down to anyone and you can get in trouble really quick. All it takes it to be in the right spot at the right time.


    I highly recommend this book. The book was very interesting with the juvenile kids digging holes. I thought that about the curse. It makes me think more and more about how weird it was. I mean for you to have a curse and to get sent away to break the curse practically. When Stanley ran away he ate onions on the mountain which had water to survive. Also when Stanley found the treasure that got dug up there were poisonous lizards covering it but never ate them when they picked it up.
    I really liked this book was because of how Stanley stood up to the warden and never backed down. Also how they survived in the dessert. They never gave up and when they found the treasure he found

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Really Great Book!!

    This book was very suspenseful. We read a few chapters a night and it was hard to put the book down. We especially liked how everything connected in the end and how Stanley and Zero helped each other out again and again.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    AWESOME!!!

    I loved the structure of the book. Iti, is very, very good. I hope he writes mire of the kinds of books.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Holes

    I LOVE HOLES I LOVE HOLES I LOVE HOLES

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1860 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93