Customer Reviews for

Holes

Average Rating 4.5
( 1879 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1421)

4 Star

(313)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Are you a bad boy?

If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible ...
If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible way. These boys have to survive digging seven holes, five feet deep, each and everyday! Go into the past with all these boys. Stanley is a boy that is sent to Camp Green Lake for a reason that he does not know. Zero is a little boy who does not know how to read or write. Mr.Sir and Mr.Pendaski are the owners of the camp, along with the Warden. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves adventure. I am like Stanley because we both love adventure. When Mr.Sir was hurt, it reminded of the time when Megan fell down off a mountain, I felt scared. When I heard the ending, I wanted to reread the book. This is a page turning story with adventures waiting on every page!¿

posted by Catmac on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

It got an award? Really?

This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent ...
This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent to a boys prison camp in the desert. Do they really have those? Come on! Really?

posted by wwillson on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    It got an award? Really?

    This book got an award? For what? Is it some sort of classic that people are afraid to say how bad it really is? I've read worse books but I've also read much, much better. It was sort of boring if you ask me. What did I learn? Don't get into trouble so you're not sent to a boys prison camp in the desert. Do they really have those? Come on! Really?

    9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    The mvie

    The movie sucks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    A

    She begin to get wet and stokes faster still moaning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    To titinam

    I think you should get a pink or like a terquose thats my personal opinoin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Jess

    Yay the name has been chosen *hugs carrie* congrats and imma go to bed now... night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Pickels

    I like pickles

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Ok....i guess

    this book was ok.... i guess it had a bad ending i mean the kid does all that work and get's less than a million dollars and the jewels were poor quality cmon it was bad :( T.T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Interesting but disturbing for younger readers

    I read this book because my 10 year old wanted to read it for a book report. I found the plot engaging and clever, but thought that some of the subject matter was disturbing for younger readers,i.e. the camp counselors torturing people with rattlesnake venom, etc. I also thought the 'social commentary' part of the plot from the 'Old West' was forced and seemed out of place. I do not recommend the book for kids under 12.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    Holes, What is the Big Deal About It?

    Holes, a very odd book, is liked by a lot of readers and reveiwers. But, personally, I did not like it. To me it seems a little weird. Just the topic is strange. It seems more like a boyish book, all because it is so different. Because it is a boyish book, it may affect why I dont like it, or it might be my taste or it just might be the odd topic. So, I don't get why Holes gets all this attention for being so good. It really isn't, it is just plain weird. I hope you get my point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Opinoin 'Holed'

    This book is sadly dissapointing because of the very slow excitement of it. Near the end, however, I must admit that it did peak my interest and I did enjoy it. I reccomend this book only to very fast readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    A DISAPPOINTMENT

    Hello, I thought this book was a major disappointment because all of my friends, teachers, libraians, and pretty much every body else that you can think of kept telling me to read this book and that it was 'all the rave'. So I decided to read this book for school and while reading it I kept saying to myself 'oh it'll get better'. It never did and my own personal opinion is that HOLES is the second book in a saga of three books. ///hint/hint/// I felt that this book wasn't very complete so I gave the book HOLES two stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    why was this a Newbery winner?

    My niece received this book for Christmas and really enjoyed it. So I decided to check it out. I can't believe that this was selected as the Newbery winner for 1999. The story was uninteresting and predictable. I think that the story was not enjoyable because I didn't feel connected to the main character, Stanley. I didn't care if he ever got out of that place. I had no sympathy for him. This is not to say that you can't have sympathy for a down-on-his luck character, but I didn't think he was very believable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1