Customer Reviews for

Holiday in Stone Creek: A Stone Creek Christmas\At Home in Stone Creek

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Great read - all LLM fans - a must red

    Again Linda Lael Miller has written an extremely fun and warm book. I love the way she can bring all emotions into her books from laughter, tears, drama, exasperation with a character and you want to jump into the pages nd whack them up-side the head for being so dense or get an attitude adjustment etc. But again kudos for a fun and enjoyable read. Am loving this series of books immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Thoroughly enjoyed yet another of Linda Lael Miller's books. Read and enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Easy reading.

    I really enjoy this author for some light, enjoyable reading. This is not the best example of her work, but still work reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great

    Another great read from linda leal miller. Love her characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So glad I discovered this reissue...

    A Stone Creek Christmas
    My Rating for this book: B


    Story Overview:
    Stone Creek veterinarian Olivia O'Ballivan communicates easily with animals, but men are another story. Especially rugged architect-turned-rancher Tanner Quinn. Olivia's uncanny bond with his daughter Sophie's pony has him questioning her sanity, while she wonders if he's not just a drugstore cowboy. Then twelve-year-old Sophie conspires with Olivia to get Tanner into the spirit of Christmas. But will a holiday miracle transform the globe-trotting Tanner into a rancher¿and family man¿for all seasons?


    My Review:
    This was simply a sweet old-fashioned Christmas love story, featuring a broken-hearted widower (Tanner,) his 12 yo daughter (Sophie,) and the town veterinarian (Olivia.) There was a special sense of holiday magic in this book because Olivia can talk to animals which leads her to a lost reindeer at the start of the story. As a result, a character named Kris Kringle appears periodically and mysteriously throughout the novel. It adds a touch of whimsy to the novel, that at times, went a bit too far for me, but it was all for Christmas fun, I know.

    I really liked what Sophie added to the story, but there were times that Tanner's overprotectiveness just didn't seem to make sense. Tanner's over-the-top reaction to her supposed danger, just didn't ring true to the actual circumstances. I don't think that it would have been that hard to fix the issues within that story and made this a really superb book, but as it stands, it just seemed a little off to me.

    I did enjoy this book. There were little things that niggled at me, but overall it was a fun holiday read.

    At Home in Stone Creek
    My Rating for this book: A-
    Story Overview:

    Everyone in Ashley O'Ballivan's life is marrying and starting families¿except her. But why bother dating when no one can compare to Jack McCall, the man who left her heartbroken years ago? Now he's back in town ¿and maybe heisn't who she thinks he is.
    While recovering from a dangerous mission for the DEA, security expert Jack rents a room in Ashley's bed-and-breakfast. For both their sakes, he tries to keep his distance, though neither can deny the growing spark between them. But when his past catches up with him, he'll have to leave again¿just as he realizes where he's always belonged¿in Stone Creek.

    My Review:
    This is Jack and Ashley's story. Jack is a covert contractor whom Ashley has been involved with off and on since her freshman year in college. But he comes in and out of her erratically and usually breaks her heart when he leaves suddenly (many times without even a goodbye) because of the nature of his job. In this book, his last job went badly and he is suffering the life-threatening effects of a toxin that was injected into him as he escaped. Out of his mind with the accompanying fever, he shows up on Ashley's doorstep of her B&B.

    There is a lot of emotion in this book. Jack is more than likely dying from the toxin. As far as his family knows, he has been dead for many years (the military killed off his original identity so that he could work covert ops for them without endangering his family.) His illness makes him question his choices that he has made especially in regards to them.

    I really enjoyed this book. Because of the nature of Jack's job and his medical condition, it read a lot like a romantic suspense novel and I LOVE those. There were moments when the story turned a bit cheesy and unb

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Great Christmas book

    I love all The Series of Stone Creek. Linda Lael Miller is a great author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    This is a great Christmas book to read during the season especially.
    The book holds your interest, makes you smile, and gives you the warm fuzzy feeling you want during the holidays. A must read for anyone with a heart!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Highly recommended

    great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Most definitely recommend*****

    I have enjoyed reading just about everything Ms. Miller has written. This book follows the others in presenting likeable characters and a quick moving storyline. If you like Romance novels, you will love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    NURSERY

    Mountainstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zoey

    *tear falls outta her eye* so amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Guys

    What the crepp poop on it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KENS' STORY ~CHAPTER SIX~

    1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123473836542836544332223699328626832114883252561494144885268833298071358427043335780098898766598553213500974258288483098753218373744875189286909445946893672206640753083398325048892675732035927938516048942288278512687360931890521697438044308379460046095804228531794270746

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good Series

    Miss the westerns on TV so have taken up reading some of the newer ones. Good family construction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Featherpaw silverpelt

    I am Featherpaw Silverpelt and I am Queen of the Featherpaw Clan! Know you this, otherclans, I will one day rule you all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Can i be cherry kit

    Plz reply

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    To anna

    Um this is lillypaw. U posted to me at oceanclan. Doi kno u?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    To bravestar

    Help im a small gray and white kit named mousekit and i ned a clan i am a tom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Coralshrink

    Where is the oceanclan camp?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Rabbitkit

    Rabbitkit ran up a tree. From a branch she told her story. "My mother abandoned me when I was old enough to walk, talk, and see. I have be wandering since then. Now I have angeree this wolf, and it is trying to kill me!!!!! Help!!!!!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4