BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Holidays Are Hell

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Sampling Dark Urban Fantasy Authors

    If you've read Kim's Harrison's Hollows series, this book is a great addition, and one you'll be glad you read later, as events that take place in this anthology are referred to in future novels.

    Lynsay Sands's story was laughable, but not her best.

    Marjorie Liu isn't someone I'd read before, and this short didn't leave me wanting for more.

    I absolutely loved the Vicki Pettersson short and couldn't wait to dive further into her Zodiac series. Her short was more of a spin-off, taking a turn from the original narration from the main character in her series and this gave readers a different insight. Brilliant.
    If you read her Zodiac series and were unfortunate enough to have missed this short, you wouldn't be lost without it.
    But you'd be missing out on some incredible back story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    'Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel' by Kim Harrison. Teenager Rachel recuperates from I.S. disease that killed her father and nearly killed her, but left her new powers as a witch in training however, she misuses her new skills with a resurrection that may prove lethal.--------------- 'Run, Run Rudolph¿ by Lynsay Sands. Nick and Jill are to play Mr. and Mrs. S. Claus, but instead shapeshift in a flight for their lives when John tries to shoot her with a destabilizing ray.------------- 'Six' by Marjorie M. Liu. Necromancer Joseph warns Six, a member of the Chinese Squad Twelve, of a deadly vampire plot.----------- 'The Harvest¿ by Vickie Pettersson. Retired Zodiac warrior Zoe Archer must return to the mortal realm to rescue her newborn granddaughter. ------------- These are well written thrilling fantasy novellas with the added bonus that Ms. Harrison¿s tale stars a younger Rachel Morgan.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Holidays may be Hell but this book is a slice of heaven

    Gotta love these ladies, every single story is fun and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    GREAT READ YOU WILL ENJOY

    ALL THE STORIES WERE GREAT FUN TO READ DIDN'T WANT THEM TO END

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    Enjoyable................

    Liked the 2 authors already, now I am ordering books written by the other 2. I enjoyed this anthonology. Of course, I wanted the stories to be longer. But, I really liked it, nonetheless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    How are holodays hell?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Link

    Just random acts of fighting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Really Enjoyed This

    The stories were a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Worth it for Kim Harrison

    While the other short stories in here are okay, the teenage Rachel Morgan story sets so much in motion and gives such a telling glimpse into why Rachel is who she is, the book is a treasure for fans of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Ah, so here you are...

    Old friend.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Blackstar

    Freeze, intruder.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Fine i will

    But i still have mine

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I got this book mainly for the Kim Harrison story but I really l

    I got this book mainly for the Kim Harrison story but I really liked all the other stories as well. Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel is the Kim Harrison story and is the introduction to Pierce. Its a great little story and because Im a fan of Pierce, it was nice to see in detail the story thats been referenced in the Hollows books about Rachel and Pierce's first meeting. I love the Hollows and this was a nice little side story! We get an early look at Rachel. At this point in her life, we get to see how she's still recovering from Rosewood Syndrome and her desire to join the IS. We also get to read her very first adventure as the precursor to the Hollows series. It was a really great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I would have to say that this book was a good one for sure. I liked it because it has different stories. I would recommend it to everyone!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Talk about some bad luck?

    It is also a good read....goes with the series. I enjoyed it and can't wait for the new one to be released!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed reading these short stories. I've only read Kim Harrison before, but I am looking for things by the other authors as well now because those stories were very good, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Great holiday read

    Stress relief for the holiday rush

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so Holidays

    The individual stories are easy reads. They are a great use of imagination, and a wonderful way to escape everyday through the paranormal. But due to the limited size of the stories, they are lacking in the essentials that most of these writers use to create a wonderful sense of drama, romance and overall movement to keep the pages turning. I was mildly disappointed with the grouping of these writers also. Yes they are all paranormal romance writers, but that is all they have in common. If someone is looking into buying this book they would do better to buy one of the individual stories from the authors and not this compilation of novelettes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5