Customer Reviews for

Holler If You Hear Me (2006)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Awesome book!

    This book is about the search for Tupac Shakur and how people felt about him, before he died and after. It shows how people adored him, and his music. When Dyson interviewed "Big Tray Dee" another rap artist, he started crying.That really showed how much people loved tupac and how he effected a lot of peoples lives. I loved this book, it wasn't only about "searching for Tupac", but also was about his life and where he grew up. It talked about all his struggles in life and how close he was with his mom. I learned so much about Tupac from this book. I would definetely recommend this book to people who like to read about people because I now have a whole different perspective on him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    I Thought The Book Was Suppose To Be About 2PAC

    The book was very well written and informative but trails off when he gets into 2Pac's adult/performing life. Chapter's 1 through 4 went into 2Pac's character, his passions, and convictions. Then Dyson, in chapters 5 through 7 which take up more of the book then chapters 1 through 4, starts debating and analysing the Hip Hop culture, Black America, and Inner City life and goes into these theme's leaving the subject of 2PAC in the beginning of the chapter and coming back to him on the last page with some stupid line like 'And that's one of the elements that define 2PAC'. As if in justification for trailing off. I would only recommend this book to add to your 2Pac collection of books, music, and posters. As for me, I was very dissapointed by the book. I haven't even read the last chapter because I haven't gotten around to it. I will but being that I haven't read the last chapter and I've had the book for 8 months already tells you that I'm not compelled to finish it. He should've called the book '2Pac and the Structure of Hip Hop Culture', then people could know what the book is really about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    I was an English major and now an English Teacher

    Although I have not read the book, I am going to start this weekend. What I think the author is trying to do with this particular work is to put Tupac's genius in the category with a Shakespeare. He is trying to raise the rapper's level of social, political, and literary acceptance by analyzing what made him so popular and so complex. Good writers have the ability to take us on a very ambiguous journey that often leaves us floating without a raft. That is what makes Toni Morrision one of the greatest writers of all time. She makes us think! And that is what Tupac did with his lyrics--he made a young generation think about the world in which they live. He really was the Richard Wright of our time. He was filled with anger and rage, as was Richard--and both chose to vent their rage through writing. Yes, we know that Tupac had a rough life and often times, chose to vent that injustice upon the very people who loved him most. But it was not his fault that his mother could not provide for him and he had to leave the only school that he truly loved, The Baltimore School of the Arts. He admitted that leaving that school and moving to California was detrimental to his psychological and emotional health. I have lived in LA for ten years and I unfortunately had to raise my son there for the first 13 years of his life. I can tell you firsthand that LA is no place for young black people. There is no room for growth or opportunity for the young who do not have the proper family guidance. Tupac was victimized by his disadvantages.I do not believe in the victimization mentality, but it does give us some understanding into his mind and his perspective on life. If his mother had been a strong and committed black woman, then her son could have leaned on her and turned to her when the business of music got to be too vendictive. Sometimes, young men are angry at their mothers and they have a tendency to take it out on all women. Tupac did not grow up hating, it was through ugly and painful life experiences that he was socialized into this mentality. Any mother who brings a child in this world is to some extent accountable for how they turn out( not to leave out fathers either). That is when he made the mistake of falling into the hands of the devil, better known as Shug Knight. Tupac had a lot of envious enemies who did not want to see this young black man rise. But in spite of the evil that pemeated his life and to some degree he invited evil in, we cannot and should not dimiss his genius, and the words that touched us so.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Dyson is a racist,,,,don't buy racist material

    Dyson is a racist,,,,don't buy racist material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Excellent

    I just got done reading this book. I am writing my summer reading project on it for school. I have so much to say about the book in the essay but, I can't put it all in there because you have to have certain things. Like the day that I got the book I started to read it later on that night I was on chapter four or five and I still didn't want to put it down cause I just wanted to see what came next. It has a lot of quotes from his friends and family. Almost everything in the book is positive about him. It just makes you want to know what always went on in his head and why he did some of the things he did but, was as I think one of the greatest singers in the world along with Selena. I think if them two had done a duet it would have been one of the greatest songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    YOU HAVE TO BE A ENGLISH MAJOR

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK IF YOU CAN UNDERSTAND THE TEXT. THE AUTHOR FORGOT ABOUT THE GENERATION THAT WOULD BE READING THIS BOOK. IT'S LANGUAGE IS VERY HARD TO UNDERSTAND UNLESS YOU ARE AN ENGLISH MAJOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2001

    Pac fan

    I have never read this book, but i would like to, so someone who has read it please write a review so i can see what its about! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    A lot of conjuncture

    I read the book and although it's well written and somewhat informative about the trouble life of Tupac Shakur, however Dyson's second hand treatment of Shakur's destructive tendencies, sexist and misogynist behavior towards women doesn't sound plausible. Dyson's symbolic defintion of Shakur's tattos seem far fetched. He is exploring a theodicy explanation for Shakur's incorrigble irresponsible behavior. Yes there were some social messages in Shakur's music but he mislead himself into embracing and perpetuating self-hatred. This must not be hiphop glamorized and dressed in intellectual rhetoric. Creativity doesn't not exempt one from morality. It is obvious to some degree Shakur was a product of his environment. He was a troubled young man with potentiality and filled with rage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1