Customer Reviews for

The Hollow (Hollow Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This Sleepy Hollow legend based book is not a sleeper!

This book kept me up all night reading. What else can I say? It is wonderful. The Sleepy Hollow legend and feeling of the town really come through. I felt like I had actually been to the cemetery myself after reading it.

The main character Abbey is dealing with...
This book kept me up all night reading. What else can I say? It is wonderful. The Sleepy Hollow legend and feeling of the town really come through. I felt like I had actually been to the cemetery myself after reading it.

The main character Abbey is dealing with the death of her best friend and meets an unusual boy at her funeral. They become involved and you can really feel the angst of their relationship. It reminded me strongly of Twilight in its intensity.

This is a must read. It is fresh and original. It made a classic American ghost story alive again and I can't wait for the second book.

posted by Dana_W on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

My review: If you've read the synopsis, you're probably thinking, "wow, this sounds really good". At least that's what I thought. It has all the makings to be really good. It's set in the town of Sleepy Hollow, made famous by Washington Irving. There is a mysterious dea...
My review: If you've read the synopsis, you're probably thinking, "wow, this sounds really good". At least that's what I thought. It has all the makings to be really good. It's set in the town of Sleepy Hollow, made famous by Washington Irving. There is a mysterious death, a mysterious boy, a cemetery, and a protagonist misunderstood by her peers. What more could you ask for?


However, the writing is a bit erratic, some parts interesting, some parts littered by terrible dialogue. I liked the main character, Abbey. Though she is of course captivated by Caspian, the mysterious boy, she still has interests, such as creating perfume and long-term plans of starting her own business. And I suppose the fact that she is alternating between missing her best friend and acting silly over a boy is part of being a teenager, so not problems with that part.


What really disappointed me was the story; or lack of story. The whole book felt like background, waiting for a big plot twist or finale. But there isn't one. Well, there is a minor one but it was quite obvious from early on, so no big surprise. Now of course there is going to be a follow up book as is the trend in YA these days. But there is a way to do that and still write a great book, ie; Shiver, Once a Witch, Prophecy of the Sisters. This felt like a rip-off, like a trick to lure people to buy the next one. Either that or the editor was horrendous. Maybe both. Despite it's 500+ pages, the book was a quick read. Mostly due to large print and spacing issue, sort of when I would pad my term papers in college.

A book that fails to live up to it's potential is more disappointing than a book that is just bad.


my rating 2/5
http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

posted by debbook on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not great

    It starts out as interesting. However, she introduces 5 or 6 supporting storylines and then never does anything with them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    must read

    this series is fast paced, i could not put this book down- either will you. if you think it is not your type of book take a chance and prove me wrong!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    This was, Quite honestly, one of the most bazaar books i have EV

    This was, Quite honestly, one of the most bazaar books i have EVER Read. and I have read some strange ones. I was constantly giving the book weird looks and i am sure half of the people in my math class were giving me strange looks, and i was constantly getting surprised, angry, annoyed. This is a strange book, but it was strange enough that it makes me want to read the other three.

    This book is a bit of a long read, and while it is strange it is somewhat enjoyable. the ending is very very bad though, but it is a trilogy I would recommend this book, but when looking at other reviews remember every ones taste is different..

    My rating 3/5 for her dangling a possible suicide/ murder in my face and not doing anything with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Amazing story BUT REALLY REALLY REALLY SLOW

    I would have definetly guven this book five stars if it wasnt so stinkin slow it really is a brilliant story but it isnt until the last 40 or so pages in the book that it starts picking up i loved the romance but everthing that didnt really matter in the story she put in detail and everything that did matter was the exact opposite that annoyed me so much its like we know ur trying to cope with losing with ur best friend being dead and all but seriously i litterally just started to read the first sentance of each paragraph and i understood everything perfectly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    The Hollow By Jessica Verday

    This is a good book so far, I've only gotten 100 pages into it but I'm loving how she is describing Abbey and Caspian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I'm Torn

    I'm a little divided about this book. "The Hollow" contained aspects that I really liked: the realistic way Verday built the relationship between Abbey and her mother, the details about Abbey's perfume making (I can picture her dream shop and want to shop there!), the touching, methodical description of Abbey's journey through her grief (have to admit I did tear up a bit).

    Here's what I didn't like: Caspian (go ahead send the hate mail now...).

    Okay, hear me out. I could've used a little more explanation early on about why Caspian was creepin' on Abbey so much. He peeks in from the edges of a funeral of a girl he doesn't know (creepy). He turns up in the basement (creepy) of the house of the same girl he doesn't know (creepy). He ?hangs out in the graveyard and won't give out his cell number, house phone number, email, Twitter or Facebook? info (quintuple creeper).

    Maybe because "The Hollow" is told from Abbey's POV, I relate to her and understand why she develops a crush on Caspian (he's dreamy: with a black streak in his blond hair and piercing green eyes), but after a while I really don't see the attraction because he is just too quickly enamoured of her from the first scene. Maybe this has something to do with their destiny that I might find out in Book 2, but I really think Abbey would have been done with this guy after about two creepy graveyard meetings.

    Overall, I would recommend "The Hollow" for YA fans because I think the series holds promise. Also, the aspects that I liked, I really liked and I think more will be revealed in Book 2 that might make me like Caspian a little more. Maybe.

    Steph

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointed

    This book was a big let down for me. I though the book would explain the details in her best friends death, but it did not. It left me very confused because there was no closure about anything! Not with Caspian or with Kristen or Katy and Nikolas. It kept repeating the same things over and over and when it got to the interesting and intriging parts of the book it was over. Just left open on every aspect. It was a great idea for a novel but needed to have more closure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Depressing

    Half way through this book I told my daughter if this book doesn't get out of this depressing funk I might have to stop reading it. To say the least I paid for it so I better finish it. It pretty much stayed depressing right to the end. The story was good, it just was very (I hate to say it again) depressing. I'm going to have to read some light hearted paranormal after this book just to lighten my mood

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    It was fine not a book i like

    It was fine not a book i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I had always tried to start this book but, I had never made it p

    I had always tried to start this book but, I had never made it past the third chapter. It had honestly never really held my intrests. ABout two days ago I was bored to tears adn decided to read it. To say I had missed out would be a understatement. I loved the book. Though a bit slow at times and my dislike for Caspians character left it a lot less than perfect, I still recomend the book. The characters grief I believed. After much personal experience I defiently could believe what she felt. Specfically the prom night on the river. When the dam burst, it really came down. This chapter pratically had me in awe. I felt every emotion and heartache she had. I pratically forgot to breathe for a moment. I recomend this book and suggest that you troop through the slow parts because you will miss out on a lot of good if you give up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Its okay

    I thought the Hollow was very slow moving and not quite what I was hoping when reading it. I'm sure it picks up more in the second book, but I have to say its okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    GOOD BUT SLOW

    THE PLOT IS GOOD, GOOD DETAIL BUT EXTREMELY SLOW. A BOOK SERIES YOU CAN PUT DOW AT PRETTY MUCH ANY TIME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wasn't...

    What I expected. The author didn't seem to enthused about her own story. No feeling or "oomph" to the setting's surroundings, stories, and flavours. I ddn't finish the book becausr I didn't have the motivation to continue. There were no "pull me in" points. I did, however, manage to skim the last few pages of the book. The ending was unexpected and different but I felt there could have been more to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    A very easy read!!

    Even though there was not a whole lot going on, this book was an easy read and I LOVED the story. I recommend this if you want something with a little bit of romance with a twist! Looking forward to the third one coming out in September!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Okay

    It took me awhile to get into the book, kinda slow and just hard to get into, the plot was kinda silly. Hopefully the sequals are better because this one was not to great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Mixed feelings

    Now, to start out, I dont want to act like i didnt enjoy this book. There were some really good parts that kept me on my feet and iiked the characters. Plus the storyline was pretty unique. But there were also some flaws to the book. Abby, for some reason, is OBSESSED with Washington Irvin and his Leegend of Sleepy Hollow. This got annoying and hard to believe at times. Also, i felt like the twist ending was a bit too much... it made me a bit sad.. haha. Anyway, read the sample, i have different feelings for it so i cannot decide if i would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    ehhhhh

    it was good i guess but not awsome. people made it out to be this great book but it wasnt. it had potential but it wasnt used

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    Picked up this book at random.I thought the book was pretty good; it got slow at times but towards the end you find out something shocking and confusing and unbelievable :0 that made me want to get the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Story Wonderful, Writing Style a little to be desired

    The cover of this book is very striking. I wanted it the first time I saw it. Then add to it the coolness that the author wrote the first draft by hand in 13 notebooks is pretty cool. However, the writing style is a little lacking. She jumped all over the place a few times, got ahead or behind herself, and dragged things out that didn't need to be. The story itself was awesome though! I wish she would have explained more in this book, but I guess that is what authors do to get you to buy the next one. Two things I had trouble with was the relationship Abbey had with her parents, and her trusting of Caspian right away. I could tell things were shady the first time he was introduced. Overall it is a great story, but the writing could have been better. I will definitely be reading the next two books in the trilogy though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    It was okay

    This book was okay, it will probably not be as amazing as you think it will be. I feel like the writer had a lot of good storylines going but failed to develop them. The book was at times boring but got good near the end, I think this book was just a setup for the next one, which is not a bad thing except a book should be able to stand on its own. All in all the book was not amazing but it was not bad either. I'm not going to ruin the ending but it's not how normal fantasy romances go...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4