Customer Reviews for

The Hollow (Hollow Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This Sleepy Hollow legend based book is not a sleeper!

This book kept me up all night reading. What else can I say? It is wonderful. The Sleepy Hollow legend and feeling of the town really come through. I felt like I had actually been to the cemetery myself after reading it.

The main character Abbey is dealing with...
This book kept me up all night reading. What else can I say? It is wonderful. The Sleepy Hollow legend and feeling of the town really come through. I felt like I had actually been to the cemetery myself after reading it.

The main character Abbey is dealing with the death of her best friend and meets an unusual boy at her funeral. They become involved and you can really feel the angst of their relationship. It reminded me strongly of Twilight in its intensity.

This is a must read. It is fresh and original. It made a classic American ghost story alive again and I can't wait for the second book.

posted by Dana_W on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

My review: If you've read the synopsis, you're probably thinking, "wow, this sounds really good". At least that's what I thought. It has all the makings to be really good. It's set in the town of Sleepy Hollow, made famous by Washington Irving. There is a mysterious dea...
My review: If you've read the synopsis, you're probably thinking, "wow, this sounds really good". At least that's what I thought. It has all the makings to be really good. It's set in the town of Sleepy Hollow, made famous by Washington Irving. There is a mysterious death, a mysterious boy, a cemetery, and a protagonist misunderstood by her peers. What more could you ask for?


However, the writing is a bit erratic, some parts interesting, some parts littered by terrible dialogue. I liked the main character, Abbey. Though she is of course captivated by Caspian, the mysterious boy, she still has interests, such as creating perfume and long-term plans of starting her own business. And I suppose the fact that she is alternating between missing her best friend and acting silly over a boy is part of being a teenager, so not problems with that part.


What really disappointed me was the story; or lack of story. The whole book felt like background, waiting for a big plot twist or finale. But there isn't one. Well, there is a minor one but it was quite obvious from early on, so no big surprise. Now of course there is going to be a follow up book as is the trend in YA these days. But there is a way to do that and still write a great book, ie; Shiver, Once a Witch, Prophecy of the Sisters. This felt like a rip-off, like a trick to lure people to buy the next one. Either that or the editor was horrendous. Maybe both. Despite it's 500+ pages, the book was a quick read. Mostly due to large print and spacing issue, sort of when I would pad my term papers in college.

A book that fails to live up to it's potential is more disappointing than a book that is just bad.


my rating 2/5
http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

posted by debbook on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book! at the start I thought it was going

    I really enjoyed this book! at the start I thought it was going to be yet another book about vampires but the mystery and suspense kept me reading through out! Yes, some bits where a bit strange but I cannot wait to read the sequel

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the conclusion.

    When I started (and finished reading) this, I had no idea there was a book 2 & 3. I was thinking, how can this story end with so many open endings? I was briefly disappointed because didn't understand why there was no closure to our "couple". It left me very confused and thinking "that's it?" I get how certain things had to "end" the way they did. My only problem was, was that I didn't get the feeling of "cliffhanger" "wait til the next book". It was more like, why bring up everything and not explain it all. But now, knowing that there will be a continuation, I can't wait for the conclusion. How each detail ties into each other in the end.
    So yea...that's my cluttered review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Liked it!

    The Hollow is a good book! When I first saw it at the book store I was not sure if I wanted to get it, but then my friend said she was going to buy it so I did too. I am so glad I did! The book starts out slow, but just keep reading it gets better towards the middle. By the end, I could not put it down and rushed to Barnes and noble to get the 2nd book in the Trilogy called The Haunted!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it and I cant wait for "The Haunted"

    My one complaint is that I feel like we are left with too many questions. I know there is a second and third book coming (can't wait) but it just kind of ends. I thought the plot was good and Abby was easy to relate to. I hope that the next books explains more about what happened to her best friend, what is the deal with Caspian, and why she is important. I know the series as a hole will be good but this book on its own left me saying "that's it?" Don't let that discourage you from reading it through because the writer is good and I am confident she will deliver a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Good Book

    This book wasnt one of the best, but it was definetly a good book. I love the way the author described the connection between the two characters: Abbey And Caspian. He wanted her and she wanted him as well. The day they finally touched was wonderful. Alltogether this book was a good book, peculiar in its plot and very real. The author did a great job! Cant wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hollow

    I loved it,it was slow the first two chapters but after that you cant put it down you want more and thats how it leaves you wanting more. cant wait for the next one ,too see what jessica has in store for us readers in the haunting yet love drivin story "The Hollow"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Read it

    I read the free short story of it and i loved it i thought it was great but only gave it 4 stars because i havent read the entire thing and dont know how the middle and the end of the book are but the beggining was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Sci fi fan

    Good book not my fav because it would get a little boring but it is a debut novel i read the other books too and the hidden was probably my fav. Honestly this author needs to write more this series was a cliffhanger and i really wanna read them again. Plz write more books like this espeacially like the hollow because it was very beautifuly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    REALLY good but .....

    Rhis was a really good book but i wanted.to cry the whole time. Its the saddest book i ever read. If u like sad and ghosts books ull like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Good but not so good ending ):

    I fell in love with this book the minute I started. But when I got towards the end....I hated it. I cried!!!!! It totally forgets the whole *Possible Spoiler*** Kristen Diary part!! I wanted to know!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book BLog

    I really enjoyed the setting for The Hollow, and I think it is a very unique taking an existing story like Sleepy Hollow and throwing those elements in the story. Verday seems very knowledgeable on her subject and the vivid descriptions are awesome.
    I enjoy Abbey's character, how she is quirky and has an authentic voice. Her emotions are understandably all over the place, and I feel right with her. I also appreciate that she has a different interest- the perfumes. It is something I haven't seen explored, and I am glad to see a character with a clear idea of her future and her plans.
    I tore through this book and was left with some questions, and I was very glad that I had the next one and could start it right away.
    I like how the memories of Kristen slowly pieces together who she was, and I really feel for her. The friendship between Abbey and Kristen makes me smile.
    Caspian is very mysterious and I really am drawn to his character. I wanted to know what was going on and why he did the things he did.
    I also like Ben- he is funny and easygoing. I would love to be his girlfriend, so I am torn between his team and Caspian's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    What a great twist on such a great classic story! I had no idea what to expect other than I bought the book for the cover! (I know) After a few pages in, I just loved it. Abbey has lost her best friend and now has no one. Lost in her depression Abbey meet a cute boy who captivated her heart the moment she met him. He brings her hope and now she is falling in love. The only problem is the boy is hiding a something.

    I love The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. So with this story and the perspective on it really took me for a ride. I mourned with Abbey in losing her best friend. I like how she honored her and stood up for for friend with all of those nasty rumors. Abbey remained strong and move on with her life without completely eliminating her best friend.

    The love interest was an obvious but surprising one. I had no idea what the boy was hiding but when all was revealed I was heart broken. Just to fall in love and them BAM! So not fair... My only gripe about the book was that there was a lot of unnecessary parts and it did slow down the book a bit. I honestly got bored with these parts and just read fast just to get to the next interesting section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Long and drawn out, but beautifully written

    I will warn you all ahead of time: be prepared for a VERY LONG novel. Although 544 pages may not seem big, the book is filled with endless descriptions of sounds, sights, and smells. The plot is quite slow moving. In fact, it's very slow moving. I was about halfway through the novel and I was still wondering where this was going. I don't really recommend this to people who just want a fast moving plot to read through in one sitting. It's just not done with this book. This book was meant to be slowly read, taking in the setting, and the descriptions but at the same time reading a slowly evolving plot.

    So then we ask; did I enjoy this book or not? I'd have to say despite the slow moving plot and there were a few times here and there where I almost gave up reading it. However I really did like how the scenes were described, the smells were so well written I could almost literally smell them myself. It felt as if you were there, as the descriptions were rich and filled with the Legend of Sleepy Hollow references. I thought Sleepy Hollow was a nice quaint little place to live in and just the way it was described really took me there. (I wouldn't mind living there myself!)

    There is a sense of mystery throughout the novel, regarding Kristen's death and it still remains unsolved. I thought Abbey was a likable character although she did not stand out as much and could be considered "normal" (as opposed to characters we are used to reading). I did like reading about her hobby on making perfumes. I thought that was interesting and haven't read a character that's set in present day who is into that sort of thing. It's definitely different. Abbey's relationship with Caspian is nice to read, although I wish more was added to it. The story behind Caspian is a bit obvious and easy to guess but it was still an interesting read. I wanted to know more about Kristen and her secrets. There was so much more to go into but not much has been revealed.The mystery surrounding Caspian, Nikolas, and Katy was interesting, however it was a little predictable. It was well thought out though, and it ties nicely with the Sleepy Hollow legend.

    I think this is a perfect novel to read around Autumn/Halloween. The setting is perfect and suits the season, and although the plot was slow moving, and reading the book felt like a very slow walk in the park, I suggest to stick with it and read it through. It's a beautifully written book and certainly deserves to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark tale

    Abbey loves her life in Sleepy Hollow until something happens to her best friend Kristen. One day she vanishes from their spot by the bridge close to the cemetery. Abbey refuses to believe that she's dead, even throughout the funeral.

    It's hard moving on without her BFF. School drags on. Life drags on. It all seems meaningless without Kristen. She wanders towards the cemetery again - the place where they used to hang out.

    There, Abbey meets a boy. He's mysterious, hard to read, very cute, and they can talk for hours. She finds herself waiting until they meet again.

    She's beginning to feel alive again, beginning to live through the pain. Abbey finally visits her friend's grave. She talks to the grave as she's talking to her BFF - as they once talked to Washington Irving. Abbey can't think of anything to reach out to her friend - she decides to make Kristen her signature perfume.

    Working on the project makes her feel closer to her BFF until she uncovers a secret diary. As she reads about the secret her BFF was hiding from her, she begins to question their relationship. She grieves again.

    Abbey turns to Caspian, the new boy, for comfort. Is he everything she hopes? Can she rely on him? She shares her hopes and dreams for the future with him, but he's still very vague and mysterious. Is there something he's not sharing?


    I really loved the bits about making the perfume. I loved untangling the relationships between the characters and discovering their secrets. I grieved along with Abbey - she goes through so much emotionally that it was hard not to be draw in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it.

    I really liked this book. It had a great story line and kept me on edge. Also it wasn't terrifying and had romance in it for us romantics. The only thing I didn't like was that the word Abbey was in every other sentence. Let's use some pronouns next time, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wasn't sure at first

    Ok so I've read the negative reviews of this story after I had already read it. Seen how it ends and stuff like that. (knowing the ending doesn't really ruin it for me) After reading them I thought maybe this book wasn't going to be so great after all, but the more I'm getting into it the more I like it and then I read that this is a Trilogy and then I was all for finishing it and can't wait for the next two to come out. So this is either a book that you will like or that you don't like, but if you mainly don't like it for the ending then just wait b/c there is more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Good but could of been better

    Just the thought of losing my best friend gets me sad. Ending was a disappointing because I thought that was the End of the whole thing but I now see that there is a sequel coming out later in the year! So I am excited :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hollow

    The Hollow is a story about Abbey, a girl who just lost her best, and only, friend in the entire world, Kristen to a mysterious death. Noone is truley sure of what happened to Kristen, and they don't even have a body to bury. Abbey holds onto the hope of finding her best friend.. in the meantime she meets Caspian, a peculiar, yet gorgeous boy down by the old bridge where they say Kristen went missing. Caspian fills Abbey's time and allows her to temporarily escape from the sadness that haunts her. But who is he? Where did he come from? And why was he at Kristen's funeral?

    The Hollow is a decent book. It was pretty slow to get into, the plot began to unfold towards the very end and at that point I realized there would be at least one more book. Verday took a lot of time developing the story and the setting.. there seemed to be some useless parts of it. I can understand other readers' concern about how selfish Abbey is being by forgetting about her friend's death and focusing on this shiney new boy, but she never forgets about Kristen.. she spends time (little time in my opinion, but time nontheless) on trying to figure out exaclty what happened to her. I predict, and hope, that we'll find more about what actually happened to Kristen in the next book. The book is loosely based around the legendary tale of 'Sleepy Hollow' by Washington Irving and has an enormous amount of references to the tale, but little similarities in my opinion. It was a good tale and I really like Abbey as a main character.. if you've ever lost anyone close to you, you may be able to relate to her. In my case, I can relate to her distracting herself from the sadness inside over her friends death.

    If you looking for a book jam-packed full of action and adventure, The Hollow isn't it. But I am eager to read the next book and find out what happens to Abbey and hopefully to Kristen and Caspian too. The story may take time to develop, but if you can stick it out through the first book the second looks more promising. This book can be slow at times, but there's an air of mystery and teen angst and romance to get you through the dull areas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    This book was good

    I liked this book. Hope theres a second book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Intruiging reworking of a classic ghost story

    An intriguing reworking of a classic ghost story.
    The plot was built up very slowly, and seemed to hold a story within a story. On one hand you had the story of Abbey's friends mysterious death and hidden secrets. On the other you have the mysterious boy (Caspian) and old couple (Nikolas & Katy) Abbey meets in a Graveyard. The plot twists are well written and believable.
    The descriptions are wonderful, I especially liked the references to the aromatherapy oils (being a trained aromatherapist as one of my myriad of jobs) I could almost smell the scents in the air.
    The characters were well rounded and their personalities and actions were believable, even with the twists to the tale. However, I did find that I could not completely relate to the female protagonist (Abbey) mainly due to the fact that I cannot possibly think of wandering around a cemetery as something to do for fun! I also felt that the schools reaction to the death of one of its pupils was rather odd.
    There are quotes for Washington Irving's The Legend of Sleepy Hollow at the start of the chapters, although they do reinforce the storyline I couldn't help but picture the gore-fest that was the movie Sleepy Hollow starring Johnny Depp (remember I do not like gore being of the squeamish variety) so these did nothing to enhance the story for me, in fact I think it detracted from the actual beauty of the story with these vivid gory pictures popping into my technicolour imagination. Not that the author would be aware of my linking the 2 things together in my head!
    Although I did enjoy the story as a whole, the plot has left me with a lot of unanswered questions on both of the intertwining story-lines. I was slightly disappointed with the ending as I felt I was left hanging with all of these questions and no way of reconciling them. I am hoping the next book The Haunted will tie up some of these points for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5