Customer Reviews for

The Hollow (Sign of Seven Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Storm

    Lllllllllluuuuuuuunnnnnnna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Continued excitement in the quest...

    I enjoyed THE HOLLOW by Nora Roberts. It is the 2nd book in the Sign of Seven series. It focuses a lot on the relationship building of Fox and Layla. But the demon hunt continues and the quest to the Pagan Stone erupts into a dramatic pause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Sign of seven series

    Page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well developed triology

    The author developes this story further by bringing the necessary people to the table. The characters dig deeper to uncover the secrets of an ancient curse that will either save or destory the 3 boys childhood home. Romantic, suspensful and enticing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Second in the ┬┐Sign of 7┬┐ trilogy.

    21 years ago three 10 year olds who were born on the same day, and are best friends, celebrate their birthday by sneaking into the woods to go camping & eat junk food. While there, they cut their wrists to merge their blood & become ¿Blood Brothers¿. But their childish ritual unleashes an ancient monster. Now every 7 years at their birthday the town goes crazy; murders, beatings, suicides, etc. This year it started months earlier and they know this will be the final showdown. <BR/><BR/>The basic plot of the series is good and I don¿t have a problem with the paranormal aspect as I expected it going into the first book<BR/><BR/>Why not a five? First, while I read the first book in the trilogy I`ve read a lot of books in between so it would have helped if there had been a review about the previous book in the beginning of this one. <BR/><BR/>Second, I could not tolerate the thing with Fox, Sage and Paula. I don¿t want to give it away to anyone, so I won¿t. <BR/>I found it downright creepy, slightly nauseating and, at best, borderline incest. That none of the other characters, including Layla, had a problem with it was bizarre. Maybe this somehow factors into the next book but I¿m not sure I have the stomach for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Better than the first one

    Good book. Fast paced, never gets boring. Humor, romance, drama, evil, friendship and suspense all wrapped up in a tidy package. Gets a little confusing at times, but I credit to that to poor editing. Fox and Layla are HOT together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Engrossing and very readable

    As a fan of her books I'd say this is on par with many of the trilogies she's put out (although I am still partial to the series set in Ireland- Born in Fire, Born in Ice and Born in Shame). Anyway- these first two books have been a breeze to read- I'm glad I waited to read the first so I didn't need to wait too long for this book. I've enjoyed the men characters more than the women but it is to be expected since the story begins with them. But Nora- I agree with the other reader review- it is ridiculous to wait until Decmember for the final book. This should come out this summer so I can take it to the beach and settle in for a good one-day read. Please don't keep spreading these things out. It really loses the appeal. Keep writing and please keep going with the JD Robb books- love Eve and Roarke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    LOVE NORA ROBERTS

    I am new to the current vampire craze but I love all of Nora's and JD Robbs books so I gave this a try. So glad I did! can not wait for the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    get this

    i really liked this book and am surprised some people disliked it so much. i thought it was better than the first one, because i liked the characters a lot more. i can't wait for the third one though....i'm dying to read it now. i love nora roberts trilogys, i'd rather read them over a single book. i also love the mystical themed ones, so this is my favorite type of writing by her. hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting urban romantic fantasy

    Twenty-one years ago three boys (Caleb, Fox and Gage) camped at the Pagan Stone, a place of great power in the woods of Hawkins Hollow, Illinois. They shared a blood rite that made them blood brothers, but when that serum hit the ground a black evil mass appeared followed by a blinding light that sent the demon back to its dimension. Three centuries ago, the guardian Trent after hundreds of years of battle with the demon Lazarus took an unprecedented step to stop the malevolent one. --- In the present, the three blood brothers descendents of Trent have faced the demon who has influence over the townsfolk especially on the seventh day of the seventh month every seven years. Now they have three female allies (Layla, Cybil and Quinn) who are descended from the demon¿s rape of Hestern three centuries ago. They must fight as one the evil this time hoping to dispatch him to hell forever. While the sextet research what to do, Layla and Fox are attracted to one another feelings that frighten both of them especially her as she fears she will lose her beloved in the next battle. --- The demonic powers are stronger than they were in the first Sign of the Seven tale (see BLOOD BROTHERS) as he is able to influence many more people however, his opponents have also grown. Though it has the Hollow feel of the middle book of an urban romantic fantasy trilogy, Nora Roberts affirms her talent as she has written an exciting and entertaining thriller starring the magnificent six who will earn reader admiration and respect for their courage. Well written, fans of Ms. Roberts will look forward to the final war THE PAGAN STONE. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4