Customer Reviews for

The Hollow Bettle (The Poisons of Caux Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Magic at its best!

    When I read The Poisons of Caux with my 12 year old daughter, it took me back to the knotty tree trunks and emerald hills of the English countryside (as well as its cozy pubs...) and brought back the best of children's adventure literature. Appelbaum is not only a witty writer with a knack for coming up with the perfect name for things (the evil King Nightshade and the River Marcel are just two examples), but her writing absolutely jumps off the page in a swirl of sensual detail, so that you can almost smell the wood panels that line the rooms where her characters play out the engrossing plot, touch the heavy cloth of the taster's robes, and taste the bubbly potions her main character Ivy conjures up. This is a book for both kids and adults and is suspensefully written but also has lots to teach about the power of herbs -- both good and bad -- and the resources within each one of us to both harm and heal. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Fascinating and Fun

    Gave this book to my niece and she absolutely loved it! Can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Could not put it down!

    I rarely write reviews for books I have read, but this has to be the exception to the rule. the character development is brilliant, the storyline really compelling and overall I would highly recommend this for children aged 9 and above

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Fantastic fantasy appeals to both boys and girls

    Step inside the world of the Hollow Bettle and be transported to a world of peril, adventure, valor and magic. The world of Caux is rich, sumptuous and very, very dangerous. A wonderful book for both adults and their young adult readers it has so many levels that one can return for a second or third read and always find new elements to mine. Ivy Manx is an strong character who will appeal to both girls and boys - girls will love her for her spirit and strength and boys for the daring adventure she embarks on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting world building.

    What I really liked was the world building. The journey Rowan and Ivy go through was well described and their encounters with different characters was well done. I loved the different settings and their adventure seemed to get even more exciting as the book was nearing to a close. How the setting came about, and the introduction to this story was well done. I liked how the setting was established, with a nice concise history on how King Nightshade came about. It¿s almost told in a fairy tale narrative - which was well done, and there were plenty of witty phrases to enjoy (all throughout the novel as well). The idea of the bettles are interesting, but what I really liked was that the use of poison was all over the place in this land. It was different and I thought it was rather clever, definitely something you don¿t see in a lot of fantasy middle grade fiction out there.

    The characters in this book were also well done. Ivy and Rowan do make an interesting team. The plot was good, although a little slow moving at first. However once Ivy and Rowan teamed up on their journey, it got more interesting thanks to the different settings described, and the various memorable characters they encounter on their journey (Poppy really stood out! I thought it was cute).

    The idea of this book is a creative one. It¿s told with a nice whimsical flair to it, but it took a while to get used to this style of writing. I¿m not sure why, but the pace seemed slower and with the writing style (perhaps it was a little too whimsical) the book just seemed to go at a snail¿s pace. That being said though, I still thought it was an enjoyable book and it does pick up the pace after a third of the story. I¿ll probably continue this series, I¿d like to know what happens next, yet I¿m not really in a rush to read it. I¿d say take it or leave it with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    BRILLIANT!

    Mark my word, this book will soon be a classic! I bought it for my niece and thought I'd check it out a little and before I new it I was compelled, the writing is clever and the imagery is amazing the story is so incredibly full of creative action. Right away, I was in love with the characters. The last time I read a children's novel was Harry Potter and I must say this one was way more appealing to me. Im hooked, I kept that copy for myself! (I got her another one). I cant wait for 2 and three. Beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1