BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hollow Kingdom (The Hollow Kingdom Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    This Novel never gets old. I have re-read it at least 7 times an

    This Novel never gets old. I have re-read it at least 7 times and I still love every bit of it. My favorite Character was,of course, Marak. His personality and how he speaks to Kate is so wonderful that I wish I was whisked away by him...I wouldn't even mind how he looks ;] The only probably I had with it was the ending. It seemed like it was too cut off...I would have love for more of a description but, I'm also glad she didn't really describe what happened at the end ...I am sure I would have cried.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Something Familiar

    I have not read this book yet, but I found it a year ago when I was first gettimg hooked on Labyrinth. I never truelly relised how similar the stories were until I read the decription here, and all the brief summaries in the book's reviews. As fars as fae stories go, this seems like one that is very authentic. No sweet smiles and gossamar wings, and the happily ever after (if there even is one) likely doesn't occure easily. To anyone who gave this book good reviews, you must see Labyrinth the movie, starring David Bowie, if you haven't already.
    - Mandalina Sanderson, Member of the Underground and Friend of the Goblin King

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!

    I admit, I was a little skeptical at first, this book starts at good and just gets better! I couldn't allow myself to put it down, I kept telling myself, "at the end of this chapter" and it just never happened. And when I did put it down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again! I reccomend it highly, especially if you're interested in the high art of fantasy, with the perfect ammount of romance. Clare B. Dunkle added just the right ammount of everything, it was so realistic, I felt like I was standing right next to Kate the entire time! It's a great book, I read it twice in a row!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: THE HOLLOW KINGDOM

    Kate and her younger sister Emily arrive at Hallow Hill in search of a new home. Recently orphaned, the two sisters have inherited the estate and come to live with their two muzzle-headed great aunts and their one creeperiffic guardian. The girls take to the new surroundings immediately, but soon after moving in Kate starts to feel like she's being watched. One night while out walking she is actually followed home by a mysterious hooded stranger on horseback. The stranger turns out to be the goblin king Marak. Every goblin king must steal a human bride and bring her home to the kingdom under the hill to live forever, never to see the sun or stars again. Once he sets his sights on Kate, Marak assures her it is only a matter of time til she is his. Kate manages to keep an admirably stiff upper lip, under the circumstances, and resolves to outwit the goblin king and remain above ground. Unfortunately, she is forced to reconsider when her sister is kidnapped and she is sure the Marak is behind it. In a wonderful reversal of expectations, Kate (of her own free will and choice) gains entrance to the goblin court and agrees to marry the king if he will release her sister. <BR/><BR/>THE HOLLOW KINGDOM is completely enchanting. It was the characters that won me over. Kate is a strong, thoughtful heroine and her sister Emily provides a good bit of comic relief as she is interested in absolutely everything. The prospect of spending the rest of her life among goblins strikes terror in Kate's heart, but sends Emily into raptures. What an adventure! But then it's not Emily who has to marry one of the ugly creatures. Which brings us to Marak. And Marak is an enigma. Crafty and cunning, he delights in attempting to capture his chosen bride and force her to do his will. Yet he is not without sympathy. He rushes to his wife's defense at any slight and, even as he laughs at her discomfort, he tries to make her more at home in his underground world. It's a surprising and lovely story and I recommend it for an evening autumn read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read this book several times over the years and no matter h

    I've read this book several times over the years and no matter how old I get, it's still one of my favorites! I mean, how can you not love Marak?! The characters are so believable and the writing style fits the story perfectly. I definitely highly recommend this book if you like the YA/fantasy genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    This book rocks!

    This book is spell-binding. It is engrossing and cant be missed. You should read the trilogy (this is the first book). I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Modern Fairy Tale Lovely book

    This is a fantastic example of classic Irish tales. I loved every one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    A Must Read!

    This book was a pure work of art! I loved every second of it, and couldn't put it down.

    I had never thought of Goblins in this sense before, and it opened my eyes to a whole new fantasy creature I had never truly considered. For any true fantasy fan, this is most definitely a must read! I give this a thumbs up, and a 5 star rating, easily. I would give it more if I could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Best book for teens who like fantasy

    Move aside Twilight, step back Eragon, make room-well, you get the point. The Hollow Kingdom books, especially the first novel, is by far the best in teen fiction. Dunkle's writing is supurb, all the characters are engaging and memorable, the sheer imagination put into it is fantastic. Adventure, animals, romance, dark turns, humor, there is something in it for all. I read this triology every year and love it all the more each time. The only disappointment in reading this book, is that it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Wonderful

    This story was beautifully written and captured the reader early. Kate is the clever, intuitive girl who will do anything to protect the ones she loves. While her sister, Emily, is overly optimistic and, even though she cares deeply for her sister, is more often or not in her own world. Decipt, betrayal, and love all have a powerful part in this story, I hope that you enjoy this story just as much as did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Like It, I Love It, I Want Some More Of It!!!

    Another one of my most favorite trilogies!!! This book takes on the dark and largely biased world of goblins. Literature has always portrayed them as evil, ugly, stupid creatures but obviously Clare B. Dunkle thinks otherwise. The Hollow Kingdom goblins are intelligent and friendly creatures that are ruled by a Goblin King (Marak) who possesses incredible magic. The goblins once lived in a a world of elves but this race was eradicated by war and now all they have is the dwarves. You'll fall in love with Marak, the goblin king, Kate, a human/elf, who is soon to be the goblin queen (she just doesn't know it), Emily, Kate's spunky, curious, and fun-loving little sister, Seylin, a magical goblin/elf cross boy with a tendency to turn into a cat, and countless other creatures. The romance in this book is surprising but one of the main reasons the book is so good! It's a must read.... Again and again and again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Hollow Kingdom

    43. The Hollow Kingdom by Clare B. Dunkle
    Two young sisters, Kate and Emily, have recently moved back to be raised at the family estate by their new guardian. They don't realize that their new home is near the goblin lands and soon the goblin king takes a special interest in Kate and Emily. The two girls use all their wits try and escape from the clutched, succeeding time and time again. But a strange twist of events, that the goblins weren't even part of, eventually lures the girls back into the reach of the goblin king.

    I really enjoyed both Kate and Emily. There were smart and inventive in their ways to avoid the king. They learn to trust and rely on each other. The king himself, Marak, is quite a character. While he is supposed to be evil and mean...the bad guy.. I couldn't help but like him. The king's subjects are quite the variety and are fascinating to read about as well.

    4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Reviewed for "Unicorns, I Love Them!"

    I had huge expectations for this book. It sounds awesome, doesn't it? Sadly, I was disappointed. First of all, the writing was very good. It made you think that this book was written in the 19th century rather than 2003. The characters were all very well-drawn, I especially liked Snake Charm and his dry sense of humor. This book really could have been amazing. So here's what disappointed me the most: I expected this book to be about how Emily and Kate have a grand adventure while searching for a way to get Kate out of marrying Marak or something like that. But Kate just gives in. I was like, "What?" when she agreed to marry Marak. Also, if Marak really loved Kate like he said he did, I think he would have given her a choice instead of having a "romance" based on Stockholm Syndrome. Their relationship was generally disturbing, and Marak's excuses for kidnap and rape were just pathetic. The world that Dunkle created was interesting, but overall dry and a little dull. And the pace of this book was uneven and irregular. Dunkle spent so much time building up the story that by the time action comes in, it feels rushed and unsatisfying. If you want good YA fantasy, read Poison Study, Eragon or Graceling, all of which were better than the waste of time known as The Hollow Kingdom.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Amazing!!!

    I read this book last year, so I am not entirely familiar with all the details! However, this book was one of the best gothic-like romances and fantasy romances I have ever read. I was constantly kept on the edge of my seat and couldn't put it down once I picked it up! Clare B. Dunkle made the characters and the whole essence of the book so real that I felt like I was really in the book and experiencing what they were. I still haven't been able to read or find the second and third book, but I am sure that they are just as good as the first! I hope everyone who reads this will enjoy it as much as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    This is an excellent book. I have read it many times and enjoyed it every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant.

    This may be the best series on the planet.<BR/>My mom likes it, my friends like it, and it shines like a diamond in the dirt. The whole world that Dunkle creates draws you in and you just can't put it down. I find myself feeling like the goblins and elves are my best friends. I wish I could live under Hollow Hill.<BR/>Clare Dunkle is definitely a writer to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    This book is so awesome !I enjoy every moment I spend reading the series!

    This story is an amazing story. It is about two recently orpanded sisters. They are around 12-16 years old and they move into thier new home with distant relatives. The story is adventerous and suspenseful.It is not a mystery, but is extremly well written. I loved the way the series ended! It was such a great resolution! Thie series is my #1 favorite! I felt so close to the characters after reading these books. They satisfy me in the way that the author expressed and/or describes certain characters. I enjoyed every moment I spent reading these books!Every girl in my 7th + 8th grade class loved these books!They are amazing and we constantly re-read them, even though even though we find it tough to get together after school now that we are freshmen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    The Hollow Kingdom!!!

    I love this book. It was very good. This book was well written and gave alot of detail. Can't wait to read the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    One Of Those Books That Proves You Wrong...

    Have you ever read a summary of a book and thought 'hah.. that's bound to be weird and probably stupid'? Well, that's what i thought of this one, but obviously it proved me wrong. I'm not sure if any author has ever attempted to write a novel where the reader ends up rooting for the goblins, but here it is. And you know what? There's even romance, which one would think might be twisted, but ends up being perfectly fine in the end. The other two books in this trilogy are just as good. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Wonderful Read

    The Hollow Kingdom is a very quick paced and original story. The idea of being kidnapped by choice is one I had never read about or even thought about until I read this book. The vivid descriptions pull the reader into the novel and the new ideas about freedom and twists on magic make this book hard to stop thinking about. Kate (the main character) has a strong will and thinks up ingenious solutions to her problems making her one of my favorite characters in any book I've read. No matter how impossible the odds seem Kate always ends up on top of the situation in one way or the other. Her sister Emily is happy and naive and protecting Emily adds yet anther layer of conflict to the novel. I would recommend this novel to anyone who has even the slightest liking for fantasy. It works on so many levels that it could be enjoyed by almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4