Customer Reviews for

Hollowland

Average Rating 4.5
( 1870 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1114)

4 Star

(526)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Hollowland is a must read

Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by th...
Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by the super talented Ms. Hocking.

posted by KaterinaNYC on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I fig...
I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I figured time for a second shot.

I hated it. OK, maybe hate is too strong. I finished this book at least, so two points to Hocking for that. But, really, a lion? I mean, a lion?!! I was so distracted by that that I couldn't even concentrate on the rest, not that I really cared by that point. The characters were as hollow as her title. The plot was ridiculously contrived and the action boring at best. The story left me feeling lost and adrift. There was nothing to it, despite a pormising beginning. But once she left her little safehouse, it was as if Hocking spliced together a dozen different plot pieces. She should've called this story Frankenstein, because that's what it felt like.

Will I read the rest? No.

I know Hocking has a trade contract and I'll give her another go then, because I think she can come up with some good stuff with a litle help behind her. But not this. That was a waste of time.

posted by CJMartin on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Hollowland was a good zombie book overall. There were a few thin

    Hollowland was a good zombie book overall. There were a few things I didn't care for, but most of the story and the supporting characters kept me reading. I did enjoy the book and will likely read the second installment of the series.




    If I had to sum up what I didn't care for, I would have to say that I didn't feel connected to some of the characters.




    Remy, the heroine of this story, isn't the most likable character in my opinion. I found her voice to be monotone. Everything was so matter-of-fact and she expressed little emotion. The fact that she always knew exactly what to do, or how to react to every situation at her young age didn't always sit well with me.




    I really enjoyed Blue's character. He was very intelligent, level-headed and brought a touch of reality to the story. Toward the end, Tatum became a favorite as well. I did not find Lazlo interesting, and I also didn't feel excited by his attraction to Remy. It was just like Tatum explained it in the book: he followed Remy around like a puppy. I wasn't feeling any compassion for Remy's brother, Max, as he wasn't really a character in the story. I had no reason to like him or feel an urgency for her to find him. I also found it strange that everyone around Remy questioned her loyalty to her brother. Several times she was asked why he was so important or why she would risk her life for him. In reality, everyone should understand her dedication to her little brother.. right?




    That may all sound negative, and I don't mean it to sound that way. There have been books that I have simply stopped reading because nothing about it jives. This wasn't the case with Hollowland. I really did enjoy the book. I love zombie books so it's really difficult for me not to like a book that is filled with nasty, decaying zombies striving to end the human race one bite at a time, not to mention an ass-kicking heroine and her gang of friends treking across the country and running into all sorts of trouble along the way! It was a fun read and the ending makes it impossible not to read the next installment!




    I would recommend this to anyone that loves the gruesomeness of the post-apocalyptic zombie genre.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I read it didn't like the swearing but otherwise a good story

    I read it didn't like the swearing but otherwise a good story

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Hollowland

    I didnt read da book yet. Dont know if i should cuz some people say its bad and a lot of people say its awesome.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Just an ok read

    I started reading this and felt like I missed a few chapters. There was no lead in explaining how they got to that point, until much later in the story. Also, what's up with the page numbers? It looked like this was a 1200+ page book but the page numbers would jump 2-3 times (or more). So actually it's more like 300 pages. I lost interest about halfway through and started skimming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Torn

    Okay so I hate this book but only because the ending was not to my liking. It was well written and I'd be willing to give the author another go, but really miss Hocking? This could have been a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All in all an enjoyable book.

    Hollowland was a very enjoyable book. Characters were developed well and believable. Something I really liked, the book started with action, no long boring build up. As the story went on, there were explanations about what caused the plague. So it wasn't like walking into the middle of a movie. And this moved the story along really well.
    There was a lot of action, and described well. Suspenseful parts were also well written.
    I am a stickler for details and there were a few inaccuracies that stood out. Like finding a fully functional new SUV in a neighborhood that had been previously ransacked. Ok, we get past that, there is no electricity anywhere. But they still manage to get gas. Although not to distracting from the story, it seemed like the author could find no other way to get out of the situation.
    Some of the fighting parts were a little hard to swallow. Hopelessly outnumbered by hordes of zombies, there were a few too many "miraculous" escapes.
    All in all an enjoyable book and I think I will read the sequel. The ending was really a well thought out cliff hanger and makes me want to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Trylle saga is better

    I was disappointed I liked her other books a lot, but this was not really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully action packed

    I absolutely loved this book. The author wrote with such intensity. The heroin kicked major zombie butt. Cant wait to read the next installment in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read but still...

    Fast paced, lots of action. However the abruptness of the ending was irritating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good zombie story

    I'm not sure if it was the author's intention, but it seems as if it was written by a kid. However, it had a good plot, and I'm a sucker for zombie apocalypse stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Hard to say....

    Not sure yet how I felt about this one. There was absolutely no resolution - it was like the author got tired of writing and so just stopped. It's a little different than leaving it wide open for a sequel.....this book just stopped. On the other hand, the story was much better written, the characters better developed and the grammar and sentence structure was leaps and bounds above what I have seen from Hocking in the past. If there is a sequel that continues on in the same vein as this book, this has potential to be a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Read

    Book was a fast-read and well-paced. However, the ending seemed lacking. It definately seems there will be a sequel, otherwise you are left with everything just hanging in the air.

    Scenes can be pretty gory, but it is a zombie book. Also, I try to avoid books with sex scenes in it, and this one has a moderately graphic one in it.

    Other than that I enjoyed for what it was. A quick zombie read, full of all the B-rated plot stuff I have loved from the movies I have watched since I was a kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    good read but.....

    the story was interesting but there were to many grammatical errors which became annoying. Also, page 455 was missing I hope the author has a follow up to this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Good story if you can look past all the type-o's.

    I really liked this story but I would have preferred better character development for the supporting characters. Also it seemed like no one had ever proof read this book so the mistakes kept pulling me out if the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read/I Really Liked It

    I've not read zombie books before, because I prefer the visual over-stimulation of the movies making the living dead creatures scary and/or funny. However, I really liked this book. Amanda Hocking did a fantastic job as a writer to give my imagination what the movies deliver. And now that I've discovered that it's going to be a series, I'm looking forward to book 2 coming out. If this is what Amanda Hocking does with zombies, I'm eager to read what she does with vampires and trolls in her other two series. I was pleasantly surprised with this book, and I believe I've found myself a new supernatural author to read. She begins the book with explaining how the planet's human population was turned into zombies by a mutation of the rabies virus, and in Remy's search for her brother Max there may be the cure to the living dead hell on earth. Amanda Hocking continues the suspense, mystery, and action of Remy's, "journey across the country, rescuing a lion, escaping a cult, killing marauders, and fighting dozens of zombies with her bare hands", throughout the entire book. I recommend that supernatural/action fans give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Needs sequel

    I would give it 4 1/2 stars but the ending just left me hanging. It did take some time to read just not my type of book but good overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    I think this was written for teens however,

    this tween mom loved it! I think any twighlight moms will love this book. The ending sort of leaves you hanging, I hope there is a sequel coming quickly! Definitely a fun read! I am going to check out her other books as well since I enjoyed this one so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    hmm.........

    geat begining and middle but the end was extreamly dissapointing if not for the end i would,ve given it 5 stars instead of 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Just OK

    When I first started reading this book I thought the writing style was very simplistic and not well written. As I kept reading I started getting more into the story and characters. I eventually found myself wanting to keep reading until I finished the book. I started to change my opinion and was really enjoying the book when it abruptly ends in the stupidest way possible. What a HUGE disappointment. I won't be spending money on her other books that is for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie Good

    "This is the way the world ends - not with a bang or a whimper, but with zombies breaking down the back door."

    Nineteen-year-old Remy King is on a mission to get across the wasteland left of America, and nothing will stand in her...more"This is the way the world ends - not with a bang or a whimper, but with zombies breaking down the back door."

    Nineteen-year-old Remy King is on a mission to get across the wasteland left of America, and nothing will stand in her way - not violent marauders, a spoiled rock star, or an army of flesh-eating zombies.

    My Review - So this is my first "zombie" book. And my verdict is that I liked it! I liked Amanda Hocking from her other books I read so I decided to borrow this from someone on my Nook. It was pretty good. I liked how it wasn't JUST about zombies but it was also about people working together and love. Although I did dream that someone was chasing me a few times while I was reading this book it was still good. I liked Remy and the way she acted while going through all this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8