Customer Reviews for

Hollowland

Average Rating 4.5
( 1867 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1114)

4 Star

(525)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Hollowland is a must read

Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by th...
Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by the super talented Ms. Hocking.

posted by KaterinaNYC on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I fig...
I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I figured time for a second shot.

I hated it. OK, maybe hate is too strong. I finished this book at least, so two points to Hocking for that. But, really, a lion? I mean, a lion?!! I was so distracted by that that I couldn't even concentrate on the rest, not that I really cared by that point. The characters were as hollow as her title. The plot was ridiculously contrived and the action boring at best. The story left me feeling lost and adrift. There was nothing to it, despite a pormising beginning. But once she left her little safehouse, it was as if Hocking spliced together a dozen different plot pieces. She should've called this story Frankenstein, because that's what it felt like.

Will I read the rest? No.

I know Hocking has a trade contract and I'll give her another go then, because I think she can come up with some good stuff with a litle help behind her. But not this. That was a waste of time.

posted by CJMartin on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I found this an entertaining book. While it might not be one of

    I found this an entertaining book. While it might not be one of those books that is passed down through the ages as a great literary work, it is a good rainy day read. There were some B-movie elements and some slightly campy moments... but I personally enjoy the B movies for the entertainment value they offer. Everything doesn't have to be taken so seriously to be appreciated. I loved the zombie killing lion that was picked up along the way. I also found Remy being so concerned with her brother to the point of following him across the country in hopes of finding him something that made up for her lack of caring in other situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    very good

    if your having walking dead withdrawls you'll love this series so good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves one with a true feeling of emptiness.

    Leaves one with a true feeling of emptiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    4 stars

    I would give this book 4 stars. It had me from the first sentence. It was a freebie and I bought the second book, Hollowmen. This is about a zombie takeover of the world and a girl's journey to find her brother. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!

    It was a really good book. I recommend this to fans of the movie Zombieland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    it was a good read

    I didn't think I would like it , but was surprised that I did . I love Amanda Hocking's books .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recomended

    If you love Zombie movies, comics, or books you will love this!!! You will be pleasantly surprised!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Really great book

    I had never read a zombie apocalipse
    I really enjoyed this book. I love zombie stories remy is a great character cant wait to read the second book





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    First things first: Yes it is a zombie novel. Yes it has some cliche zombie moments in it. That being said, this is a fantastic read. The lead character is a female who is strong but hurting. We don't see a lot of tears, we don't see a lot of woe is me. This book is very down to earth and very engaging.

    A fast paced novel it was a very quick and fulfilling read. I enjoyed this book greatly! I'd recomend this book to anyone who enjoys zombies, post apocalyptic worlds, and thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Very good book! Reminded me a little of Resident Evil, but it wa

    Very good book! Reminded me a little of Resident Evil, but it was good. Totally worth the time reading, and I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I enjoyed this story. I found it inventive and filled with compa

    I enjoyed this story. I found it inventive and filled with compassion—something you don’t typically find in the zombie genre. For me, Remy is a classical hero—brave and full of faults. Those are the best kind. The ones who are real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Wow

    Great book had me interested the entire time. Whenever things seemed to be calming down BAM! Something else would pick up... CANT WAIT FOR PART 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great dystopian fiction

    This was a pretty god book. My only real issue was the grammar and spelling issues. I liked the plot and the characrers. Its a lot better than the sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Must check this book out!!

    I really like these types of books. I dont know how I would survive in a world where everyone is preety much infected, well a zombie. The main character is very brave and knows how to kick butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good reads. I enjoyed them all and I like that the weren't

    Very good reads. I enjoyed them all and I like that the weren't short books. I was very entertained and on edge through out the hole read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Loving it so far!!!

    I read this on 'Nook for Andriod' while i am at the gym and it helps the time fly! I really love the plot line, so far, and i would recomend it to my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Liked It

    It was wasn't my favorite book and I don't think I will read the second one but I did enjoy the read. It was a fast pace book that was easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Awsome

    Yes yes yes!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I have to admit, I am a big fan of Amanda Hocking's Trylle Tril

    I have to admit, I am a big fan of Amanda Hocking's Trylle Trilogy -
    I read them as ebooks and just loved everything about the whole trilogy.
    When I saw Hollowland, I had some high expectations, even with the zombies in it.

    Hocking did not disappoint me!
    First, you got one kick ass main character, Remy King.
    No matter what happens, this girl manages to keep herself together and not break down in any way. I know that some people had issues with this, but no one really knows how you will react if you were in the same situation as Remy - wouldn't you do almost anything for the ones that you love? Remy is trekking across America while killing off zombies to find her brother, the only person left of her family.
    Along the way she gains a few friends who help her. And towards the last quarter of the book, we finally start to see a bit more of Remy's personality - a softer side where she slowly lets her guard down and we finally start to understand how strong she really is.

    There is a tiny bit of romance going on, not a lot, but enough to remind you that even though there are zombies lurking in every corner, we always find time to be human and live life as normal as possible.

    As for the zombies... I guess it's just a personal preference. I don't like gore and slimey things... when I first started reading the book, it didn't bother me. It starts out slow, but as the story moved along and the zombies got older and more started to pop up all over the place - it got weirder and gross!
    Definitely not my thing. It's going to be a while before I read another zombie book, lol!

    I give it 3 1/2 stars.
    And I do hope to read the second book to the series (The Hollows), Hollowmen, later... this year ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27