BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hollowland

Average Rating 4.5
( 1870 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1114)

4 Star

(526)

3 Star

(157)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Hollowland is a must read

Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by th...
Another fantastic read by an amazing author Amanda Hocking. Couldn't stop reading from the very first page until the ending. Loved all of the wonderfully developed characters and the pace of this book was just perfect. Already eagerly awaiting the next publication by the super talented Ms. Hocking.

posted by KaterinaNYC on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library.

I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I fig...
I was surprised to actually find this book in my public library. I've heard about the A. Hocking phenomenon and though, "What the hey. I'll give her another try." I'd tried to read her Trille trilogy and had to give up. Ridiculous. Liking zombies better, I figured time for a second shot.

I hated it. OK, maybe hate is too strong. I finished this book at least, so two points to Hocking for that. But, really, a lion? I mean, a lion?!! I was so distracted by that that I couldn't even concentrate on the rest, not that I really cared by that point. The characters were as hollow as her title. The plot was ridiculously contrived and the action boring at best. The story left me feeling lost and adrift. There was nothing to it, despite a pormising beginning. But once she left her little safehouse, it was as if Hocking spliced together a dozen different plot pieces. She should've called this story Frankenstein, because that's what it felt like.

Will I read the rest? No.

I know Hocking has a trade contract and I'll give her another go then, because I think she can come up with some good stuff with a litle help behind her. But not this. That was a waste of time.

posted by CJMartin on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1883 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 95
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldnt put it down!

    This book did not hold one single boring moment. I needed to keep reading more and more, even when I took a break I was anxious to come back to it. You just cant go wrong with the book. It has alk the elements you need in so little time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome heroine

    Loved the badass heroine! Finally, not a complete love-sick bimbo. The story was great too. But what a major cliffhanger! I hope there's a sequel to this...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    This book is not worth the time it took to read it! If you want

    This book is not worth the time it took to read it!
    If you want a good book read ZOMBIE FALLOUT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The pace (even the zombies) move fast in this book. Fairly viole

    The pace (even the zombies) move fast in this book. Fairly violent since it's zombie apocalypse and the humans are few. I always hope the book with a female lead won't be a gooey romance...not to worry, just gooey zombies. Emotions do run high, but it's from terror and semi-drudgery and mistrust.
    Remy has a fairly steady cranium on her shoulders. She is on the hunt for her little brother who was taken away during the evac of their quarantined area. She picks up random strays along the way who insist on going with her. She feels she will work better alone, she also doesn't want to get attached to anyone.

    I've read and enjoyed Amanda Hocking's books in the past. She is a talented writer of varied genre. HOLLOWLAND was no exception. I look forward to the next in the series, HOLLOWMEN. Definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Love this book

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Great story telling. 

    Great story telling. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Just love it

    Just love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Loved it

    It was an amazing book i loved it good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Wow

    Wow! Great book! I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to read the next one! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Great story, excellent writing! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Great read

    Really enjoyed this story. Never a dull moment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves one with a true feeling of emptiness.

    Leaves one with a true feeling of emptiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great

    I love this book and its form of zombies i mean everyone has there on theory but i love this one and the journey that remy takes to find her brother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    this one is special

    I generally do not care for zombie stories, I dont know why i picked this one up. But it is exceptional, the story is well thought out, the characters are realistic, and I like the story very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    4 stars

    I would give this book 4 stars. It had me from the first sentence. It was a freebie and I bought the second book, Hollowmen. This is about a zombie takeover of the world and a girl's journey to find her brother. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Amazing

    Loved every minute, great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Eww hate zombie books

    Zombie books are horrible hate this series and love all of the other books by amsnda hocking..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    I love this book and the second book Hollowmen. I can read them

    I love this book and the second book Hollowmen. I can read them over and over again and never get tired of them. I don't normally like Zombie books but I love the way the author portrays the heroine and the other characters and their interactions with the zombies. This set of two books has become one of my favorites. I just wish it was in print form too. Amanda Hocking is a great writer and I love all of her books. Keep up the good work!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Amazing

    A must read! You will fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Love it

    I loved this book sooo much then i read the second on the end was really bad. She needs to make another one :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1883 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 95