Customer Reviews for

Hollowmen (The Hollows #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Hollowland but still a great read

Ok,wow, I'm not sure where to start, to be honest. I have been waiting since February, when I finished Hollowland, for this book to be out. I've been very busy with my review blog and life so I hadn't been stalking Amanda's blog for information like usual. I was surpris...
Ok,wow, I'm not sure where to start, to be honest. I have been waiting since February, when I finished Hollowland, for this book to be out. I've been very busy with my review blog and life so I hadn't been stalking Amanda's blog for information like usual. I was surprised when I saw a Facebook post that it was available. It was an easy read, I breezed right through it. When I got to the end I thought "Wait..What? That's it?" It seemed like such a short read. This book picks up with Remy at the quarantine and what she had been through to get to the quarantine seemed like a walk in the park compared to what she is and has been going through. Because she is immune to the virus, the doctors have been using her as their lab rat to find out why and more about the virus. I have a pretty strong stomach but I even cringed a little at parts. One minute she is laying on a cold steel table being cut open and the next the alarms are blaring and she is left alone. After finding her way out of her predictable, as only Remy can, she meets up with others that were left behind and they all start off to the north, where it is colder and hopefully zombie-less. Remy is also hoping to find her brother along the way. During their travels and struggle for survival, their group gains some members...and looses some members. Overall I enjoyed this sequal, it was fast paced kept me wanting to read more. I enjoyed the ending (which I'm not going to discuss as don't spoil it for those who haven't read it yet). BUT, I could not give it 5 stars for the fact that by now, as popular and "big" as Amanda Hocking has become, I would of expected one, maybe two, grammatical errors. Things like pick tables instead of picnic tables or words missing to make a complete sentence (usually of or an) meant the difference between that last star to me, as I take grammar and spelling into consideration when writing my reviews. I know no one is perfect but the errors were little ones that should of been caught. I'm not sure if there will be another book in the series or not and I'm not sure where it would go after the ending of Hollowmen. All that said, I would recommend Hollowmen, or any of Amanda's books for that matter, and would like to read both books in this series again!

posted by jgoehl on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed... so disappointed

The FIRST book was just so simply amazing. Action packed, and intense, and light when needed, and romantic, and just so badass, and LONG, like 600 pages long. It was written well and the details during the fights, evrything was so vivid and clear, and the plot overall w...
The FIRST book was just so simply amazing. Action packed, and intense, and light when needed, and romantic, and just so badass, and LONG, like 600 pages long. It was written well and the details during the fights, evrything was so vivid and clear, and the plot overall was so INTENSE!

But THIS BOOK. Ugh.

I feel like Ms. Hocking was trying to hard to out do herself, or possibly recreate her magic like the first time around. This book was so short... On my color it said over 1400 pages, and I freaked oit, but really, its barely 200 proably less. Too fast of a read, I finished it in an afternoon. And the plot was kinda all over the place, like she couldn't figure out what she wanted to happen, and so many good characters got killed off.... ugh I do like Boden though, but Remy and his romance just was thrown together, they did it and thats it. BOOM! Love outta nowhere. Just like what happened with Lazlo, hope this one doesnt end up the same way.

I was just looking forward to this for months, and it just left me cold, cold as the Canada snow. But don't get me wrong, I love all of Hockings other books. I just hope the third book will be more like the first one.

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Horrible formatting

    Is there some reason her books are never formatted well? No chapter index. Pages never numbered correctly. Spelling errors...no cover image?? Should be free.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    I wasn┬┐t even five pages into the story yet, and already I had a

    I wasn’t even five pages into the story yet, and already I had a gazillion questions. In the first chapter they operated on Remy, sliced her open and left her that way when an alarm went off signaling the compound is being attacked by zombies. My first question was: if Remy and her little brother, Max, are the only ones resistant to the virus, why would the scientists treat her like “just” a specimen (and not a “valuable” specimen), and why would the surgeons leave her abdomen cut open when they flee the operating room and not take their valuable specimen with them? Why would they perform surgeries on her without giving her an anesthetic if there’s a possibility their only specimen can die during the operation? How does she manage to not pass out while freeing herself from her constraints and with blood gushing from an abdominal incision? And guess what she’s worried about? Attracting zombies; not dying from the blood loss. This is where I realized that in order to enjoy this story by one of my favorite authors, I’ll have to throw all logic out the window and just try and enjoy it for what it is. Disappointingly, it wasn’t nearly as terrific as the previous book, Hollowland.  

    The best part of the story was meeting up again with Ripley, Remy’s lion, but the rest of it was anticlimactic and a letdown from the book-high on which Hollowland had left me. It wasn’t nearly as suspenseful or exciting as the first book. Remy came across as cold, distant and selfish and felt like a separate character from the one she was in Hollowland. The rest of the characters had small parts and none of them had any impact on me. The story moves slowly, emotional scenes are drawn out and the action scenes were few and far apart. Overall it was an okay-ish story and I’m happy the author ended the story with this book and didn’t drag it out into a third book. Of course, Hocking is still my favorite author as she made a magnificent impact on me with Hollowland and I’m looking forward to reading more of her books, but she should’ve written Hollowland as a stand-alone. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Good but way too fast.

    I enjoyed the first book and I was eagerly awaiting the second installment. The story had lots of action and moved ar a quick pace but almost too quickly and right when the story was getting really good....it was over! Also the story was kind of all over the place. Characters got killed off very quickly and new characters were introduced and killed off before you knew it. I wish that the book had a little less action and a little more room to delve into Remy's state of mind and the lives of the other survivors. Needless to say I do hope ther will be another book...I want to find out if she ever meets up with Lazlo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Okay read...

    Although this book may not have outdone the first, it is entertaining and action-packed with dashes of brewing friendship and romance.
    However there were some setbacks; like how Lazlo suddenly fades into the background, and her relationship with Boden progresses a little quickly also. I feel like it would flow more evenly if the author included more background info on everything. I feel like the characters were incomplete and I really didn't understand the reasoning they followed at all. Overall, I liked it; but I think readers will find themselves slightly confused at some inconsistencies with characters and the slightly broken plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Really Good

    While the first book was better, this was a pretty good sequel. I enjoyed both books and would recommend them for Zombie fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Third book?????

    Totally leaves you hanging at the end! I loved it but would have liked it t be longer, andhere should be a third bbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    "draw-you-in-plot" but not tons to back it up

    the writing itself is not great. there are grammer problems, mispellings, and other issues like that. i feel like it was written by a teenager who wants to be remy herself, since remy is kind of a unrealistically awesome zombie killer haha...

    that being said, the plot will draw you in. if you start you wont be able to stop until you finished, its the same with the first book. i feel like they would both make great movies since they have everything americans want in a movie: action, fighting, a love story, and a hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Weird ending

    Good book, but ending was not great. Liked all the rest of her books though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Pretty good read

    This book was a pretty good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Was good, but I still like the first better.

    The book was very well written (aside from the many typos) but I felt the main character didn't stay true to her ideals. The first book was superb and the characters had a lot of depth to them. I was just a bit disappointed with the way things ended up. I would say more, but I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    if you liked book one, you definitely need to read this one!

    Unique characters, similar storyline to book one, enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Good series.

    I've enjoyed this series from the very beginning and did enjoy this book. However, it's quite short and I felt that there was no clear direction to where the story was leading. The plot seemed very random and the book ended abruptly. It is also poorly written with misspellings everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Not as good as the first and it says 1400 pages but its about half of that.

    I love Amanda Hocking's books but this wasn't my favorite. One, beacause the first book was better written and two, because it says the book is 1400 pages long but in reality it will jump 5 to 30 pages at a time. I feel some what ripped off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    Sounds like a goos story but i doint if im gong to read itare not if you gave send me some feedback thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2