Customer Reviews for

Hollowmen (The Hollows #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Hollowland but still a great read

Ok,wow, I'm not sure where to start, to be honest. I have been waiting since February, when I finished Hollowland, for this book to be out. I've been very busy with my review blog and life so I hadn't been stalking Amanda's blog for information like usual. I was surpris...
Ok,wow, I'm not sure where to start, to be honest. I have been waiting since February, when I finished Hollowland, for this book to be out. I've been very busy with my review blog and life so I hadn't been stalking Amanda's blog for information like usual. I was surprised when I saw a Facebook post that it was available. It was an easy read, I breezed right through it. When I got to the end I thought "Wait..What? That's it?" It seemed like such a short read. This book picks up with Remy at the quarantine and what she had been through to get to the quarantine seemed like a walk in the park compared to what she is and has been going through. Because she is immune to the virus, the doctors have been using her as their lab rat to find out why and more about the virus. I have a pretty strong stomach but I even cringed a little at parts. One minute she is laying on a cold steel table being cut open and the next the alarms are blaring and she is left alone. After finding her way out of her predictable, as only Remy can, she meets up with others that were left behind and they all start off to the north, where it is colder and hopefully zombie-less. Remy is also hoping to find her brother along the way. During their travels and struggle for survival, their group gains some members...and looses some members. Overall I enjoyed this sequal, it was fast paced kept me wanting to read more. I enjoyed the ending (which I'm not going to discuss as don't spoil it for those who haven't read it yet). BUT, I could not give it 5 stars for the fact that by now, as popular and "big" as Amanda Hocking has become, I would of expected one, maybe two, grammatical errors. Things like pick tables instead of picnic tables or words missing to make a complete sentence (usually of or an) meant the difference between that last star to me, as I take grammar and spelling into consideration when writing my reviews. I know no one is perfect but the errors were little ones that should of been caught. I'm not sure if there will be another book in the series or not and I'm not sure where it would go after the ending of Hollowmen. All that said, I would recommend Hollowmen, or any of Amanda's books for that matter, and would like to read both books in this series again!

posted by jgoehl on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed... so disappointed

The FIRST book was just so simply amazing. Action packed, and intense, and light when needed, and romantic, and just so badass, and LONG, like 600 pages long. It was written well and the details during the fights, evrything was so vivid and clear, and the plot overall w...
The FIRST book was just so simply amazing. Action packed, and intense, and light when needed, and romantic, and just so badass, and LONG, like 600 pages long. It was written well and the details during the fights, evrything was so vivid and clear, and the plot overall was so INTENSE!

But THIS BOOK. Ugh.

I feel like Ms. Hocking was trying to hard to out do herself, or possibly recreate her magic like the first time around. This book was so short... On my color it said over 1400 pages, and I freaked oit, but really, its barely 200 proably less. Too fast of a read, I finished it in an afternoon. And the plot was kinda all over the place, like she couldn't figure out what she wanted to happen, and so many good characters got killed off.... ugh I do like Boden though, but Remy and his romance just was thrown together, they did it and thats it. BOOM! Love outta nowhere. Just like what happened with Lazlo, hope this one doesnt end up the same way.

I was just looking forward to this for months, and it just left me cold, cold as the Canada snow. But don't get me wrong, I love all of Hockings other books. I just hope the third book will be more like the first one.

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as Hollowland but still a great read

    Ok,wow, I'm not sure where to start, to be honest. I have been waiting since February, when I finished Hollowland, for this book to be out. I've been very busy with my review blog and life so I hadn't been stalking Amanda's blog for information like usual. I was surprised when I saw a Facebook post that it was available. It was an easy read, I breezed right through it. When I got to the end I thought "Wait..What? That's it?" It seemed like such a short read. This book picks up with Remy at the quarantine and what she had been through to get to the quarantine seemed like a walk in the park compared to what she is and has been going through. Because she is immune to the virus, the doctors have been using her as their lab rat to find out why and more about the virus. I have a pretty strong stomach but I even cringed a little at parts. One minute she is laying on a cold steel table being cut open and the next the alarms are blaring and she is left alone. After finding her way out of her predictable, as only Remy can, she meets up with others that were left behind and they all start off to the north, where it is colder and hopefully zombie-less. Remy is also hoping to find her brother along the way. During their travels and struggle for survival, their group gains some members...and looses some members. Overall I enjoyed this sequal, it was fast paced kept me wanting to read more. I enjoyed the ending (which I'm not going to discuss as don't spoil it for those who haven't read it yet). BUT, I could not give it 5 stars for the fact that by now, as popular and "big" as Amanda Hocking has become, I would of expected one, maybe two, grammatical errors. Things like pick tables instead of picnic tables or words missing to make a complete sentence (usually of or an) meant the difference between that last star to me, as I take grammar and spelling into consideration when writing my reviews. I know no one is perfect but the errors were little ones that should of been caught. I'm not sure if there will be another book in the series or not and I'm not sure where it would go after the ending of Hollowmen. All that said, I would recommend Hollowmen, or any of Amanda's books for that matter, and would like to read both books in this series again!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A good book two

    This was a good easy read and I did like it. However I felt the ending was rushed a bit. I REALLY wish Lazlo had been brought back into it for more than one page but I like Boden as well. I just wanted to see her and Lazlo end up together.

    Like a few others mentioned there were spelling and grammar errors sprinkled throughout that were a bit distracting but not enough for me to stop reading.

    I am not sure if there is going to be a third book but I hope there is. I would love to know what happens to Remy and Max as well as her relationship with both Boden and Lazlo. Also what happens to America and the zombie population.

    Overall I would recommend Hollowmen and the preceding book Hollowland. :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Good book

    I loved the book but the end was really bad she should make a 3rd one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Hopeful

    I just finished the book and i am so mad! The book was good but the ending i really hated total cliffhanger! I really hope amanda hawkins makes a third one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Recommend

    Its a great book. Have to say a little disappointed, I love romantic action books. This had it but, I was rooting the previous guy( Lazlo). Overall it was GREAT! Can't wait for the third book Thank you Amanda Hocking for your amazing books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I loved it!

    I loved this book but it ended so suddenly... I hope there's another one! I wanted it to get into remys and bodens relationship more but don't get me wrong I loved lazlo too. A few grammar mistakes but overall a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed finding out the rest of the story. As usual Amanda Hocking doesnt take it easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I just got the book, and my favorite character was Ripley. So to

    I just got the book, and my favorite character was Ripley. So to those of you that have read this book, can you tell me if Ripley makes a come-back??? Please!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    good story

    I throughly enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good second book the Hollowland. I hope there is a third, becaus

    Good second book the Hollowland. I hope there is a third, because there are so many questions I want answered! It was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I know its not the bests book shes written... but i still want t

    I know its not the bests book shes written... but i still want to hear
    more. I do wish she hadn't cast Lazlo away like that but the book must
    go on. But its still an OK read ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    This series is great.... but then i love all of amanda hocking's

    This series is great.... but then i love all of amanda hocking's books. The first book "Hollowland" was amazing, I gave that one 5 stars. This one had the potential to be 5 stars but really felt like it was too short, the ending was rushed and kind of random to me. She's just like "I finally have a home and I'm going to fight for it" which is all well and good but I was just shocked when I realized that was the parting line, with NO indication or hint that there was another book to come, or was this the final book? I really think that a cure is a long shot but her and max's blood could have been injected into another person to see if that would spread immunity to the rest of the survivors (It worked in I Am Legend!!!!)

    I hope there will be a 3rd book, I don't expect a happily ever after but maybe giving the humans something to give them a leg up would be nice, at this rate it seems like the zombies will win and there's no hope. They are getting smarter and harder to kill, while humans are becomming morally disgusting and are running out of food, weapons, and even places to go that aren't over-run by zombies.

    COME ON AMANDA!!! I KNOW YOU GOT SOMETHING UP YOUR SLEEVE, LETS SEE IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    another great book by Amanda Hocking

    I love her her stories just pull you right in. Her characters and settings are built strong, and it gives you a sense that you are right there in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Great zombie story

    I really enjoy a good zombie story now and then, and Amanda Hocking has done an excellent job here. Enjoyable and memorable characters, engaging adventure. A fun read. In my opinion, this is her best series to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great book

    Its just as good as the first book! I enjoyed the way the characters were built up and the storyline hooked me from the beginning..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reader

    WOW This was a really great read i loved the first one but this one out did the first i loved all the action drama and though it was great i was a little disapointed with the ending it wadnt that bad but could be better i WOULD recemend this book and any of her other series to any one who likes action suspence syfy CANT WATE TILL THE THIRD i hope there is one :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    great book

    very detailed, great read, would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Liked the 1st one better

    This book surprised me. I guess i was expecting it to be more like the 1st one and i guess i had higher hopes for it and expectations. Also there are quite a few grammar errors, no cover page and the format looks a little funny. But im not too concered at those little problems. I wish it didn't end where it did and the series would continue. Overall i liked the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!!

    This is the second book in this series and I just can not put it down after starting it. This has become one of my favorite series and hope to have another book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Midiocre

    I loved Hollowland, even though it gave me nightmares. This was a great book too, but it seemed more rushed. Each page was like 5 pages. But I'm excited for them to be turned into graphic novels this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7