Customer Reviews for

Holly's Inbox

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud funny!

I loved this book! It is light and hilarious! It doesn't take long to figure out that Holly is in over her head at her new job as a receptionist at a huge corporate bank. She is like a fish out of water! Reading her emails to her friends and family and fellow employees ...
I loved this book! It is light and hilarious! It doesn't take long to figure out that Holly is in over her head at her new job as a receptionist at a huge corporate bank. She is like a fish out of water! Reading her emails to her friends and family and fellow employees made me feel like a bit of a spy but it was so fun! Holly's sarcastic sense of humor is very similar to mine. I caught myself laughing hysterically out loud many times. The shocking part of the whole book is finding out that Holly Denham is actually a pen name for Bill Surie. He is not only the author of the book but the owner of a placement service for receptionists and secretaries in London. I wonder if any of these emails are based on true emails that he has come across in his work? Although this format is a bit different than most books, I found it easy to read and follow along. I highly recommend this book! I liked it so much that I am starting to read the sequel immediately! Trust me..you will enjoy Holly! She is an interesting character!

posted by retromom on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brainless but lots of fun.

This book may be the ultimate beach read. The entire story is told through the characters' email. Its a strangely addictive format. Several times I found myself up way past my bedtime. That said, expect brain candy. The plot is pretty much want you would expect fro...
This book may be the ultimate beach read. The entire story is told through the characters' email. Its a strangely addictive format. Several times I found myself up way past my bedtime. That said, expect brain candy. The plot is pretty much want you would expect from any standard "chick lit" book - hi jinks at work, misadventures in love, the power of friendship. I found even the big twists in the plot were predictable. If you are in the mood for light reading, its a fun read.

posted by PAreader on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny!

    I loved this book! It is light and hilarious! It doesn't take long to figure out that Holly is in over her head at her new job as a receptionist at a huge corporate bank. She is like a fish out of water! Reading her emails to her friends and family and fellow employees made me feel like a bit of a spy but it was so fun! Holly's sarcastic sense of humor is very similar to mine. I caught myself laughing hysterically out loud many times. The shocking part of the whole book is finding out that Holly Denham is actually a pen name for Bill Surie. He is not only the author of the book but the owner of a placement service for receptionists and secretaries in London. I wonder if any of these emails are based on true emails that he has come across in his work? Although this format is a bit different than most books, I found it easy to read and follow along. I highly recommend this book! I liked it so much that I am starting to read the sequel immediately! Trust me..you will enjoy Holly! She is an interesting character!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Brainless but lots of fun.

    This book may be the ultimate beach read. The entire story is told through the characters' email. Its a strangely addictive format. Several times I found myself up way past my bedtime. That said, expect brain candy. The plot is pretty much want you would expect from any standard "chick lit" book - hi jinks at work, misadventures in love, the power of friendship. I found even the big twists in the plot were predictable. If you are in the mood for light reading, its a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    LOVED this book! What a riot! Am going to order the 2nd one RI

    LOVED this book! What a riot! Am going to order the 2nd one RIGHT NOW! Can hardly wait to see what's next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Laugh!

    If you are looking for a quick read or a book to cheer you up, grab Holly's Inbox. 5 stars for creativity and originality. I hope to see more from this new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A fun, easy read.

    I flew through this book and laughed like crazy. The characters are quite a group, and the writer makes you need to keep reading. A fun, fun book. I have passed it on to a friend. If you like Bridget Jones Diary, you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Can't wait for the next one to come out!

    I loved this book. It reminded my of a mix between meg cabot, sophia kinsella, and bridget jones. It is over 650 pages, but it is a very quick read. I can't wait for the next book. I miss Holly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful day? Grab Holly's Inbox and head to the beach or park for a fun, satisfying escape!

    Synopsis:

    "Ever wanted a peek at someone else's emails?" That's one of the teasers for Holly Inbox, a 672 page novel, composed entirely of emails by, for or about Holly Dedham. Don't be put off by the book's length - the characters are engrossing and the book flies by!

    Young, vivacious, and relatively inexperienced, Holly has a new job as a receptionist at a busy corporate bank in London. We read about her ups and downs as she faces bullying co-workers, social mishaps, well meaning but socially aggressive parents, her flaky entrepreneur brother Charlie, an ex-boyfriend who joins the bank, and a gorgeous and flirtatious banker. Fortunately, Holly has her old friends Jason and Aisha to keep her grounded and amused plus her work friends Trish and Jennie to advise her.

    Review:

    Holly's Inbox has all the likability, humor, plot twists and romance that exemplify good chicklit. The book reminded me of Marian Keyes's Watermelon and Sophie Kinsella's Undomestic Goddess. Although I had to adjust to the "all email" format, this was easy enough once I became familiar with each of the characters. From Holly's grandmother to her frenemy from boarding school to her crazy single woman friend Aisha to her accident prone brother Charlie, her cheery gay friend Granger and her office mate Trish, each of the characters are carefully crafted and fun companions. Holly herself may seem a bit flaky, especially when she's getting her bearings, but you'll find yourself rooting for her soon enough. The ups and downs of an office romance were fun, but like in real life, it's banter and the friendships that made the book come alive so vividly. At close to 700 pages, Holly's Inbox is bulky but you won't want to put it down. I took it with me everywhere - even on the crowded NYC subway during rush hour. A fun summer read!

    Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (June 1, 2009), 672 pages.
    Review copy courtesy of the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Quick Read

    I took this 668 page book to the beach and finished it in a day. The e-mail format is really easy and quick to read. It's a funny book and the characters are interesting. I'd like to see a sequel to it. I like British chick-lit and this is as good as Sophie Kinsella!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!!!

    This was a wonderful book. It's an easy read, so don't let the 600 pages scare you. It was so interesting, I finished it in 2 days. It's about romance, the workplace and friendship all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshingly different

    Never thought I would like a book written in all e-mails, but this one works. Characters are fully developed and original, plot moves quickly, and it a fun read from start to finish. Perfect book for a summer afternoon or a plane flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Summer Read!

    The style of this book is what makes it a hit. The plot and characters are not that original - but the way the author writes makes it great! It's an easy read and kept me engaged. For anyone who's not used to reading 100's of emails a day, it make time minimal time to get adjusted to the style. But once you do, you'll really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Holly's Inbox

    This book was really cute. It does what it sets out to do. It is an updated Bridget Jones. It is a very quick read. The big problem is that it has a loose end at the end, which would be fine for the main character, but not for a secondiary character. If I hadn't liked the book, this cliffhanger would not be enough to bring me back, and I would consider it more of an annoyance than anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    The best book I've read in ages - it made me laugh and cry and even dance!

    I can not put into words how happy this book made me feel, I sat reading it on the bus and everyone was watching me because I couldn't stop laughing. It is not only very very funny, but is also gripping, romantic and touching...
    read it - or just read everyone else's reviews in Google, they all say the same
    x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Really Goes On At Work. . .

    When I discovered this book at Barnes & Noble, I immediately added it to my TBR List. I was quite surprised to learn my library owned a copy and was first on the wait list. I couldn't wait to begin reading Holly's e-mails.

    I was looking forward to reading this as I read so many glowing reviews. I have to admit, around page 200 or so, I lost interest in Holly and her friends. I really wanted to know Holly's back-story with Toby. It took awhile for Holly to disclose to Trisha, her co-worker.

    I do have to say, the secondary characters were quite interesting and added to the story. Around page 415 (the reader was able to peek inside Trisha's inbox), I found myself glued to the story and couldn't put it down.

    Yes, it's a long book (665 pages of e-mails), but worth reading on a lazy afternoon. Even though I thought it was sluggish in the middle, I do hope there's a sequel in the works. I would like an update on Holly and her friends.

    3.5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    Oh boy, what a disappointment

    If you want to read over 650 pages of emails between basically boring people and situations, be my guest. I made myself read 200 pages before I couldn't take it anymore. The ending is said to be a "surprise" so I looked at the ending and...who cares? The action is painfully slow, the characters boring...if I had an email life like in this book I'd jump off the top of a high building.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Add this one to your summer chick lit list!

    Okay, get out your pen out and add Holly's Inbox to your must read chick lit list!

    Holly Denham begins work as a receptionist at the banking firm of Huerst and Wright. It's a busy place, requiring two receptionists. Policy also forbids conversation unless it is business related. The next best thing? E-mail! The entire book is a series of emails from Holly's Inbox! We meet Holly's two best friends who both work at her last job - reception at a large hotel. Jason is incredibly funny, Aisha is a bit of a runaround. We get to live Holly's life vicariously through the corresponcence of these three. And really, doesn't everyone have a bit of peeping tom in them? We meet her meddling mother, her siblings (one who wants her to deliver some frozen rats to Spain) and her gran, who has just discovered the world wide web. She helps Holly out by signing her up for cheap flights and dating services.

    But Holly doesn't seem to need the dating services. She begins to date one of the traders from the bank. But then.....

    And that's where I'm going to stop. I don't want to spoil the story. And I could go on and on, as I couldn't put the book down. Devoured in two days! Reading it was like eating a bag of candy, one more piece, one more page until sadly the whole thing was done. Mind you, at almost 700 pages, it was satisfying!

    This is an charming, amusing, entertaining read. One of the best chick lit books of the year for me. Holly's Inbox covers the first five months at her new job. I can only hope that it continues! If you'd like to check out Holly's Inbox online you can - at http://www.hollysinbox.com/. Really - it's her email account.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2