Customer Reviews for

Hollywood Crows (Hollywood Station Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Joseph Wambaugh is an excellent writer.

Joseph Wambaugh's books based on his experience are thrilling and suspenseful from the beginning to the end he continually holds your interest. If it's a Wambaugh book you know it's a good one.

posted by Lauraley on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

VERY DISAPPOINTING

I was very disappointed with this book, I bought it the first week it was out and then put it on my favorites shelf I was waiting to reading it because I thought it would be so good that like other of his books I would be sad when I read the last page, but I was so v...
I was very disappointed with this book, I bought it the first week it was out and then put it on my favorites shelf I was waiting to reading it because I thought it would be so good that like other of his books I would be sad when I read the last page, but I was so very sad this book was so weak that there are better police stories on television --- I hope new readers don't let this book turn them from his other books, they are really great

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Joseph Wambaugh is an excellent writer.

    Joseph Wambaugh's books based on his experience are thrilling and suspenseful from the beginning to the end he continually holds your interest. If it's a Wambaugh book you know it's a good one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    VERY DISAPPOINTING

    I was very disappointed with this book, I bought it the first week it was out and then put it on my favorites shelf I was waiting to reading it because I thought it would be so good that like other of his books I would be sad when I read the last page, but I was so very sad this book was so weak that there are better police stories on television --- I hope new readers don't let this book turn them from his other books, they are really great

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Crackheads, tweakers, murder and mayhem

    Another great Hollywood novel from Joseph Wambaugh. Hollywood Crows is full of lovable miscreants, street people, flawed cops, and despicable villains all roaming the streets of the city of magic and lights. As Wambaugh would put it: F###ing Hollywood! He keeps you coming back and this one is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great read and entertaining

    Different look at what the cops go through as Community Resource Officers.(CROWS) Wambaugh takes you through a good story, with great characters, who will make you laugh and make you mad, and make you cry. Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Hollywood

    I love the Hollywood Station series. It's gritty and real. Always wanted to visit, but Wambaugh is the next best thing! (And safer!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Nook prison work yard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Good series from good storyteller

    Rediscovering Wambaugh. Great storyteller. He uses his personal connections with LA and San Diego police to gather great stories that. Ust be stra ge but true, and he obviously listens well. I like the anecdotes woven into the storyline. I am anxious to read #3 in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Luv the 'Oracle' and all the acronyms! by sandy

    Cops really like inside jokes it seems. You may like them too! Like the Community Relations Officers called Crows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i enjoyed it

    I always enjoyed reading Joseph Wambaugh's books (The Choirboys, The Onion Field, Blue Knight). I love the characters he creates. Yes, the plot wasn't that great in this book, but I just like the little scenarios he puts the characters in. I laughed out loud! Very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Like the Little Ol' Lady, Wambaugh's plot is forgiven because you are enjoying the characters so much. But finally like what happens to the Little Ol' Lady, the plot of "Hollywood Crows" dies, of course.

    I went back to this second in the "Hollywood Station" trilogy to see if I was being unfair in my earlier reading. Since I liked its successor from Joseph Wambaugh so much (see my review of "Hollywood Moon" last December 28th), I was wondering if I sold "Hollywood Crows" short. Nope.

    The strong attraction to Wambaugh's tragic-comic characters from a precinct house was there. Perhaps not as fully realized as in "Moon" but certainly compelling. The big difference is that Wambaugh's weakness for plotting, though a distraction in "Moon" is very disconcerting in "Crows." His plot devise toolkit has always been to rely on a heavy component of suspension of belief, but in "Crows" it is almost blatantly a rip-off of the nursery school rhyme: The Little Ol' Lady Who Swallowed the Fly. You remember; it starts out in small steps -- "she swallowed the spider to catch the fly" - allowing you to move along with incremental suspensions of belief until she swallows a horse!

    Like the Little Ol' Lady, Wambaugh's plot is forgiven because you are enjoying the characters so much. But finally like what happens to the Little Ol' Lady, the plot of "Hollywood Crows" dies, of course.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Aged to Perfection!

    I think this is Wambaugh's best read to date. A lot of his earlier work was a little verbose. This had great characters, great story, and keeps you guessing. I did not find anything 'sitcom-like' about any of the characters or storylines. You will enjoy this one, don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crows Feet

    Joseph Wambaugh has been telling good stories for a long time now and I wouldn't suggest that he is getting tired because his latest is still an interesting read. But his characters are a little too sit-com in this one, and he is rehashing the same story he has told before. But it's fun reading it, even if you think you know where it is all headed. My guess is that he still has a few good stories to tell, but I would like him to try something new the next time. Even so, there's no doubt that I will gladly pick up his next title, even if it's a nostalgic trip through Hollywood Station.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    LAPD cops Nathan ¿Hollywood Nate¿ Weiss and Bix Ramstead are assigned as the newest ¿Crows¿ to the department¿s Community Relations Office. Weiss stops beautiful Margot Aziz, who ran a stop sign without slowing down. Although he tries to remain impartial officer, she hooks his libido as she explains she is in the throes of an ugly divorce from Ali.---------- Margot seeks to trump her spouse, who owns a nightclub that is allowed to operate freely because of his financial donations to various police activities. Meanwhile Margot believes she has a cop in her corner in the gullible Hollywood Nate and his naive partner Bix. Her plan is simple use these morons to kill her husband in order to gain his wealth but she is unaware of a just as lethal counter operation.---------- The suspense subplot as described above offers no surprises as it goes just the way the audience expects. Thus the interest in HOLLYWOOD CROWS lies with the various police officers trying to do their job under federal monitoring of LAPD. The cops seem genuine with their frustrations and wary of the various social experiments to help the force overcome the scandal that led to oversight. Fans of Joseph Wambaugh will enjoy the latest police procedural at the HOLLYWOOD STATION in spite of the prime suspense element is weak.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2