BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hollywood High

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

this was a really good book because it made you feel like you we

this was a really good book because it made you feel like you were in the book. I would recommend this to anybody that likes a funny and realistic book. I would also recommend reading the other series.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I will definitely NOT be recommending this book for purchase in

I will definitely NOT be recommending this book for purchase in our school library! Wow-it's bad enough with all the reality shows misleading our young, impressionable girls. Books like these, that show to be popular you have to be mean, have sex at a very young age, ...
I will definitely NOT be recommending this book for purchase in our school library! Wow-it's bad enough with all the reality shows misleading our young, impressionable girls. Books like these, that show to be popular you have to be mean, have sex at a very young age, lie, and believe that rules do not apply to you, should be outlawed. The only positive feature of this book-the author finally allowed the girls to speak (and think) intelligently-I'm desperately hoping that girls down there in the posh neighborhoods and schools of Hollywood do not speak like that! Terrible book and writing.

posted by BulldogMom39 on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    I will definitely NOT be recommending this book for purchase in

    I will definitely NOT be recommending this book for purchase in our school library! Wow-it's bad enough with all the reality shows misleading our young, impressionable girls. Books like these, that show to be popular you have to be mean, have sex at a very young age, lie, and believe that rules do not apply to you, should be outlawed. The only positive feature of this book-the author finally allowed the girls to speak (and think) intelligently-I'm desperately hoping that girls down there in the posh neighborhoods and schools of Hollywood do not speak like that! Terrible book and writing.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    this was a really good book because it made you feel like you we

    this was a really good book because it made you feel like you were in the book. I would recommend this
    to anybody that likes a funny and realistic book. I would also recommend reading the other series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it

    I have the book is good and funny i like books with drama and funny stuff i let my friend borrow my book i kno she gonnia like it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Valerie Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Valerie
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Four girls, London, Rich, Spencer, and Heather, going to Hollywood High wearing their bling, roaring up in customized cars, and flashing their smiles…underneath all the glamour are four very selfish girls trying to outdo the other. London’s father is a high-profile lawyer and her mom a supermodel. Rich’s parents are a poor rapper turned business mogul and her mom a former groupie. Spencer’s parents are never around and her closest family is the housekeeper. Heather’s mom is a washed-up wannabe drunk and won’t tell her who her dad is…

    As you get to know the girls and all their drama, you find out that they are selfish because it’s all they know. There are no nice family vacations with loving parents and siblings. There are no memories of being tucked in at night after being read to. There are daily scale weigh-ins with sighs of disappointment from a mom, mother-daughter fights involving pills and booze, as well as lonely nights with no parents around.

    At school, it’s on! The girls are constantly watched and in the middle of all sorts of drama involving boys, cell phone pics, videos, and who is with who. As you read their stories, each chapter told by a different girl, you begin to care for them and hope that they can make it through the maze of their lives. At the end, a reference is made to watch out for more from Hollywood High which would be great as many questions are left unanswered.

    I did find that the story flowed and I enjoyed it but did feel a disconnect from the girls’ lavish lifestyles. Also, for mature teen readers 16+ due to sexual situations.


    Favorite Quote:  My life was nothing about me.
    It was all about them.
    Their money.
    Their image.
    Their dreams.
    Their wishes.
    Their plans for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Rich

    She call her self pretty please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Kate

    Ok i am there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    It's good.

    I give it a 4 because in the begining it was boring. But closer to the end it got really good. I would reccomend this book, if you got good patience.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1