Customer Reviews for

Holographic Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book will change your life

I have read The Holographic Universe from front to back 4 times and spot-read several times throughout the years. Each time awakens a new sense of wonder and excitement about what is going on 'around' us (though as you will read, the world 'out there' is really an illu...
I have read The Holographic Universe from front to back 4 times and spot-read several times throughout the years. Each time awakens a new sense of wonder and excitement about what is going on 'around' us (though as you will read, the world 'out there' is really an illusion). It reads as easily as fiction and is as informative as any non-fiction I've seen. Talbot is an expert at relating real-life experience to the physics and concrete research on which is book is based. It follows the studies of Bohm and Pribram, both formulators of the Holographic 'theory', though they arrived at the same conclusion through very different means (lending even more credibility to the idea). I cannot praise this book enough. Pick it up and discover the interconnectedness of all things!

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't expect anything scientific

The books starts out interestingly enough with 30 pages of about how holographs work and are formed. The rest of the book is just an overview of just about every type of what could be considered paranormal or new age phenomena, and how a holographic universe would make ...
The books starts out interestingly enough with 30 pages of about how holographs work and are formed. The rest of the book is just an overview of just about every type of what could be considered paranormal or new age phenomena, and how a holographic universe would make all these things possible. Not much science, and definitely not a critical or in depth review of paranormal experiences, which while some I beleive are valid, there is no objectivity at all in this book. I really want to like this book, but it just lacks depth.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    This book will change your life

    I have read The Holographic Universe from front to back 4 times and spot-read several times throughout the years. Each time awakens a new sense of wonder and excitement about what is going on 'around' us (though as you will read, the world 'out there' is really an illusion). It reads as easily as fiction and is as informative as any non-fiction I've seen. Talbot is an expert at relating real-life experience to the physics and concrete research on which is book is based. It follows the studies of Bohm and Pribram, both formulators of the Holographic 'theory', though they arrived at the same conclusion through very different means (lending even more credibility to the idea). I cannot praise this book enough. Pick it up and discover the interconnectedness of all things!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A terribly disappointing book

    Talbot peppers a little genuine science over massive amounts of pseudo-scientific mumbo jumbo, theories of mind over matter that would make Carl Sagan and Stephen Hawking blush. It belongs in the New Age section, not science. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    About science but not science

    Amalgam of events with little or no critical view. E.g.: a few paragraphs about the 'holy' man Sai Baba supposed miracles. These have been debunked since as hoaxes and magician tricks. The 'promotion' of this guru feels 'funny' in light of the many sexual mollestation charges and suspicious deaths around that guy. Ideas are interesting but that's about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    Don't expect anything scientific

    The books starts out interestingly enough with 30 pages of about how holographs work and are formed. The rest of the book is just an overview of just about every type of what could be considered paranormal or new age phenomena, and how a holographic universe would make all these things possible. Not much science, and definitely not a critical or in depth review of paranormal experiences, which while some I beleive are valid, there is no objectivity at all in this book. I really want to like this book, but it just lacks depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    one of the best books ever

    everyone whos interested in anything that tempts the mind to think, or steps outside the normal western pholosophy needs to check this book out. it is a must for anyone, and everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    are you sure your view of life is the only one for you?

    michael talbot's research for this book had to have taken the kind of passion i only dream of. his words are concise, but always offer the possibility what he researched could be untrue. after completing this book over 5 times, i find myself viewing life in a new light (even if it's the kind of light i find difficult believing).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    mind opening

    coming from a family that openly discussed seeing ghosts, i have always been open to new and unusual ideas about the world around me. in sixth grade i had my first and unfortunately only so called "deja-vu" experience in which i was saying what the teacher was lecturing an entire word or more ahead of her. i know of three OBE's(wish i could figure out how to do that agian) and heard a ghost or something that after reading this book can only be descibed as a 3D voice. dolby surround and THX could not touch this. this book explained how all these things and more is possible, do to the Whole of the universe being contained in every part. the inter-connectedness of things. if anything like this has ever happened to you or you ever wondered about them, this is with out a doubt a book that you must read. my view of the world has been solidified or in light of this view of things...NOT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    a must read

    a terrific book that opens your mind and gets you thinking out of the box

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All is not as it seems!

    Puts the life of humans into perspective. Without our 5 sense only bodies
    we are infinite, we are all one. This book explains this concept to the reader, in very easy to understand terms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Although I'm not 100% converted, I absolutely accept the logic and theory.

    For the record, I loved this book and it complements my own theories of how things really work in this universe of ours. This book presented a concept that explains many unresolved mysteries of science. Even when it begins to get technical and ventures into some quantum physics, I found myself still nodding my head in agreement with the theories. That said, some of the assumptions where a little much for me, but at the same time I had no way to disprove them. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to expand their view of how the world around us really works. I personally enjoyed it and utilize these concepts when writing my fantasy adventure novels as well as in understanding the real world around me. Put your nerd hat on and read this book! You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    does anyone know how he died?

    I'm re-reading this for the second time. First time around was about 15 years ago. I'm older, and am more into research then I was back then.
    I still can't grasp the scientific stuff, but the rest is as logical as any other unprovable theory.
    I believe he died at age 39, not long after the book was published. Even on-line, I am not having any luck finding out how.
    Please let me know if you do. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I loved it, probably my favorite book, it does have outdated information but minimal, the research this book touches bases with is extensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    A thought-provoking book

    My favorite Talbot book! I was so sad to hear he'd passed, and I miss him greatly. Granted, for someone of a sceptical bent, several parts of this book read like a hodgepodge of fantasy mixed with a layman's physics science (my favorite was the noodles falling out of mid-air into his lap), but it still contains a great deal of engaging ideas even for those who don't necessarily believe everything they read, but enjoy being entertained by an author's style. Open-minded only need apply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    just like everyone else said

    This book really got my interest in the brain going. I have been searching awhile for something real, and after reading this and putting this together with many other things going on... it really makes sense. The biggest thing I liked about this book was that it went to PROVE everything it said, either through experiences or data obtained through research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    An eye opener for the half open eyes

    I am 23, and for the past 4 years, I have been looking for something bigger and deeper than what I have been taught so far in my short existence. This book was recommended by my idol, (bass player from 311, 'P-NUT'). It is definately the most intriguing, factual, and knowledgeable book I've ever read. After reading this book, I'm now on a hunt for knowledge. Hopefully I won't let this materialistic, choaotic existence (at the moment) get in my way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Great Book!

    This book has got to be one of the best books I have ever read. The material represented in such a way that it makes it easier to understand. The theory is profound but it could be possible. The stories and true accounts of phenomenon are amazing and will amaze any reader. The quotes throughout the book are awesome and keep you thinking the whole time. It is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Typical of the Talbot Clarity

    This is probably the best book Michael Talbot has ever written, well.. at least in my opinion. Talbot's clarity in his description of extremely complicated and sensitive topics such as the one presented in this book is nothing short of remarkable. Although I personally have doubts about the holographic universe at the non-quantum level, I recommend this book to the curious-minded. However I should note that the user exercises a great amount of leniency in applying the quantum-findings to subjects like NDE and OBE, and fails to mention the scores of opposing views in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2001

    The best book I have ever read.

    This book inspired me to have a greater intrest in quantum physics. And it is explained in a way that is very easy to comprehend with the average thinking mind. It has inspired me to grow an intrest in whats beyond the quantum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    One of the best books ever written!

    I've read The Holographic Universe often, and have gained new insights into the nature of consciousness and reality from its riches every time. I consider it to be author Michael Talbot's most important work, as well as one of the best books ever written on the subject of so-called paranormal phenomenon. Talbot's fascination for finding scientific explanations for psychic and paranormal activity began when he noticed objects moving inexplicably around him, regardless where he lived. He would sometimes awaken to find socks draped on his houseplants, and occasionally found objects in his apartment that he knew for a fact had been hundreds of miles away. His real-life experiences with such shifts in reality combined with his training in physics led him to explore possible reasons for these and other mysterious happenings. Talbot begins his book with an excellent introduction to physicist David Bohm's concept of the holographic model of the universe, and combines the physics model with Karl Pribram's work on the holographic model of the brain. The result is a marvelous description of a non-local, interconnected and alive universe that moves in response to our every thought and feeling. I am very impressed with the clarity with which Talbot presents the concept of a holographic universe and how various paranormal phenomenon can be explained within that model. Talbot's discussion is comprehensive, fascinating, clear, and packed with relevant and intriguing stories of paranormal phenomenon. Out of body experiences (OBEs), near death experiences (NDEs), auric readings, psychokinesis, acupuncture, X-ray vision, healing, and psychic readings are all described and considered for placement into the holographic model. Talbot presents a wealth of relevant research studies and scientific theories from David Bohm, Helmut Schmidt, Marilyn Schlitz, Robert Monroe, Charles Tart, Larry Dossey, Paul Davies, PMH Atwater, Ian Stevenson, Fred Alan Wolf, Harold Puthoff, Russell Targ, Lyall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Extremely Unique

    This book was truly unique. It definately gets you to look at the bigger picture of the world we live in, or the Universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2