Customer Reviews for

Holy Bible Text Edition NLT

Average Rating 4
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Clear and literate modern translation

I am impressed by the quality of this translation. It is clear and gives the meaning of the text in good, flowing modern English. I plan to use it to read through various passages to see if I get any new insights into the text. I used the NLT version of the 23rd Psalm a...
I am impressed by the quality of this translation. It is clear and gives the meaning of the text in good, flowing modern English. I plan to use it to read through various passages to see if I get any new insights into the text. I used the NLT version of the 23rd Psalm at a funeral service and was a bit concerned that it would not have the impact of the KJV translation, buy in fact it made the Psalm more understandable to many listeners because of its "fresh" yet accurate language.

posted by 665617 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy

As others have said the navigation does not work properly. Chapters don't load, and pages take forever to render at times.

posted by TheGoodDoctorD on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    Clear and literate modern translation

    I am impressed by the quality of this translation. It is clear and gives the meaning of the text in good, flowing modern English. I plan to use it to read through various passages to see if I get any new insights into the text. I used the NLT version of the 23rd Psalm at a funeral service and was a bit concerned that it would not have the impact of the KJV translation, buy in fact it made the Psalm more understandable to many listeners because of its "fresh" yet accurate language.

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    Like this version

    Once you get the hang of finding the books it's easy to find chapters in this bible. You'll have to get beyond the Table of Contents in order to get to the book you want and remember to type the exact book title, i.e. "The Book of John" when searching. The thing to remember is that "search" will only look forward. So if you are in the new testament don't try to find the book of Exocus.

    I haven't had any success at all finding specific verses though. But that's okay. I read this bible because it's easy to understand and is written in everyday language so you can get a little Word in you anywhere you go :-) Although I do use underlining and notes, I still prefer to do my personal bible study and devotions with a bible I can write in and more easily use the concordance to look up verses I want to find.

    Blessings!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    It worked for me!

    I purchased this from my nook and for my nook. It did take a while to download and the trick was leaving it open for downloading. I let it go to sleep mode so it stopped downloading but later I opened it and started looking through it and it finished up while I did that. The GO TO > Chapter works for looking for books of the Bible (Psalms, Matthew, etc.) and the Find works for looking up particular Chapters (Revelation 3) but to find a verse you will just have to turn pages. I like the translation too. It's a good read aloud version (which is why I bought it). I normally read New King James. I'm very happy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Takes a while to initially Load but Worth buying.

    This version take a while to load but it is quick and easy to find scriptures once it does.

    To find a verse you are looking for:
    1. Press "Go To"
    2. Press "Chapter" the screen will say loading chapters - this will take a bit but once they are loaded you can go to any chapter very quickly as long as you do not leave it to read something else.
    3. Scroll with you finger and Press "Galatians" for example - you get a list of the chapter numbers in this book.
    4. Arrow down to the chapter number click it will take you to the chapter then just press the forward button to find the verse you are looking for. (you can also use the find to type in th verse number but I find it easier to just forward through.

    I use this in church without any problems.

    If you want something that is quicker, buy the King James version for $2.99 where you can just type in the Chapter and verse it loads quickly and takes you right there but most folks do not like the KJV any more.

    Happy Reading!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Good translation, fairly easy to navigate

    This is my favorite Bible on the Nook. The translation is a good balance between literalism and readability, without the quirks and individualistic interpretations associated with its spiritual parent, The Living Bible. I would prefer the NIV slightly, but the Nook version of that book has a huge, hard-to-navigate index with EVERY CHAPTER listed separately. The NLT is better thought out, with the main index linking to a page of chapter links for each book. A minor glitch is that it always goes back to the first page of the main index, so if you're in Matthew and want to look at something in Acts, you have to start from Genesis. For that reason, I prefer the Holman Christian Standard Bible in situations where I want to navigate quickly, like looking up passages during a sermon. But for daily reading, this NLT is the best around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    To eexpensive

    Igot all my bibles for free from ather versions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Nlt

    One of my favorite translations, easy to read and reliably translated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Accurate, Reads Great

    Probably the best modern version out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    No problems here!

    Downloaded quickly, easy to navigate. It's my daily Bible now and I love it. I have a Nook Color, so maybe that helps? Like the easy to read and understand language, and Christ's words are in red too. A good value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Looks really nice on the Nook Color!

    Very easy to navigate and it even has red lettering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    GREAT for Nook Color

    On the old Nook, I was able to read this...laboriously. On the NEW Nook, the ability to move about chapters and verses is MUCH easier/quickly. LOVE IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4