Customer Reviews for

Holy Bible Text Edition NLT

Average Rating 4
( 476 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Clear and literate modern translation

I am impressed by the quality of this translation. It is clear and gives the meaning of the text in good, flowing modern English. I plan to use it to read through various passages to see if I get any new insights into the text. I used the NLT version of the 23rd Psalm a...
I am impressed by the quality of this translation. It is clear and gives the meaning of the text in good, flowing modern English. I plan to use it to read through various passages to see if I get any new insights into the text. I used the NLT version of the 23rd Psalm at a funeral service and was a bit concerned that it would not have the impact of the KJV translation, buy in fact it made the Psalm more understandable to many listeners because of its "fresh" yet accurate language.

posted by 665617 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy

As others have said the navigation does not work properly. Chapters don't load, and pages take forever to render at times.

posted by TheGoodDoctorD on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Easy to understand and Easy to Navigate!

    This translation is wonderful. Because of a negitive review on this site, I bought a NIV version first and found it to be hard to navigate. I archived it and bought this one. I don't understand why the negitive reviewer found this one hard to navigate. There is simply nothing difficult about it. The footnotes are even easy to get to and then return to your reading place. I highly recomend this version!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    I love this bible!!!

    I almost did not get this ebook because of the negative reviews about how it does not download on the nook. I don't think those people have the nookcolor because it works great on mine. It downloaded fast (like within a minute or so) and it is easy to navigate through. I totally recommend this bible if you have the nookcolor!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    The Bible

    This book is the book of life it will help you with your everyday life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Excellent Bible!!!

    I purchased this bible even after reading the negative reviews. It froze on me also. I called customer service & was told to POWER OFF nook & power back on. IT WORKED!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Efficient & Functioning Properly!

    After reading ALL the reviews for this bible I decided to go with my gut and purchase this version. I am thrilled with the text and the navigation is working perfectly. I appreciate that I can reference supporting verses with one touch. After comparing versions and prices in book stores, I believe that this bible's price is amazingly low! Highly recommend this purchase!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I LOVE MINE!!!!

    Because bible is so big when you first open it seems to freeze up, but if you wait a minute it works great. Love that it has Jesus' words in red, you can navigate easily through the scriptures and I love that I can highlight and write notes. For the price I am very happy. I suggest you give it a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Great readability

    As a relatvely newly saved Christian, I have attempted to read through the Scriptures on many occasions. I have attempted King James, NIV, and Revised, but the New Living Testament really works for me. It is translated in easily readable material - while, in my optinion, not changing God's Word.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Version-understandable and readable

    I live the NLT translation. I find it one of the best for understandability and readability and isn't that what's most important.

    Also has a basic Verse search and can use Nook's built in word search.

    Recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Great study bible

    A great Bible for reading, even if you use a different Bible to study-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Christan

    Best book you could have the bible is the holy sword jesus died on the cross just for you and me hes (god the father god the son god the spirit 3 in 1) sing the song in parenthaseas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Love it

    Works like a charm on the touch. Loads about average, but once it loads is fairly quick. Love the translation. The content page actually loads what book you are on unlike the NIV. Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    At last!!!

    I was impressed by the quick download and did not have any of the problems the previous reviewers had. I purchased, downloaded, and had access to it in 60 seconds

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Love it

    I boughtthe nook for my elderly Aunt. I thought it would be convient for her then i got nook color and i love the nlt enjoy i hope this helps

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Great for Reading

    This version is so easy to read. The words are written in easy to understand sentences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Highly recommend for those having problems understanding bible

    Finally found a bible that I can understand. The language is more of today's understanding. I love reading this bible. It was also very affordable and a good print size.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Nlt

    I really like how this reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Great to have the Bible near.

    Easy to read and understand. Features available make it a mini study Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great

    Greaf
    Mp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Must check it out!

    One of the best versions of the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13