Customer Reviews for

Holy Cow: An Indian Adventure

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So true and crazy

Sarah, much unlike most Indians, had the finances and luxury of wide travel in exploring every religion under the sun in the short 3 years in India. Yes, indeed, India is the endless cacophony she describes or, as someone described, one huge circus. India, the country...
Sarah, much unlike most Indians, had the finances and luxury of wide travel in exploring every religion under the sun in the short 3 years in India. Yes, indeed, India is the endless cacophony she describes or, as someone described, one huge circus. India, the country of my birth, can instantly absorb anyone. Sarah's writing is catching and entertaining, but I am yet to figure out her fascination with flatulence. Did she grow her hair back? On my reading this absorbing book, I have asked my 13 year old daughter to read it, too, so she may , despite growing up in the west, get one wide swath of her ancestors' homeland. I strongly recommend the book.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Holy Cow: An Indian Adventure

The cover of the book is so degrading and insulting - I don't know what possessed me to buy it - but curiosity won. Let's read all about her 'spiritual journey'. Whatever!! The author goes into a long diatribe of her experience - that frankly sounds so generic and ma...
The cover of the book is so degrading and insulting - I don't know what possessed me to buy it - but curiosity won. Let's read all about her 'spiritual journey'. Whatever!! The author goes into a long diatribe of her experience - that frankly sounds so generic and made up. Don't bother!! If you want to be inspired read any books about His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A Great Cultural and Religious Trek

    This was a thoroughly interesting book for those who enjoy reading about what people believe and why they believe it. People who are also interested in other cultures will find this book of interest. Since I enjoy both, this book was pretty great in my esitmation. It is a memoir- a fictionilized autobiography that also intertwines Australian points of view and cultural biases. A good way to explain the story (without giving anything away) is 'a devotee of Western culture finds out who she really is via a life's trek through the labyrinth of India's cultures and religion.' It's truly a unique and interesting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Its almost as if I were there

    While reading the first few pages of this book, I was intsantly reminded of my trip to India. Mrs. McDonald did an amazing job with describing every little detail of India. It was almost as if I were there experiencing everything with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Love it!

    As an American married to an Indian, I can tell you her account of India is dead-on correct. I have travelled all over India and her experiences were, in many cases, almost word for word the same as mine. I question those who think this is not an accurate account. Afterall, she is telling HER experiences and coming from a developed nation she invariably will notice and comment on things that perhaps an Indian would not. Even my husband who was born and raised in Hyderabad agreed it was a true (and often funny) description of his beloved country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A Great Read for people who LOVE travelling!

    I first saw this book in a little book shop in Victoria Australia, I became curious and finally bought the thing when I returned to the US. It was a great read cause it was something I could relate too...travelling! This book shows how India became lovely and charming to Sarah once she peeled away her ethnocentric attitude and selfishness. The process is very ammusing!! Read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A Great book that taught me a lot

    I picked up this book because of the entertaining cover and because of the back synopsis. I don't know if it was exactly what I expected, but I really liked it for what it was. I learned a lot about India - I thought she presented the good with the bad and made it real. I also learned a lot about different religions. I could relate to the author and how she didn't have a religion, but she could certainly recognize the good parts in many religions, even if one in particular didn't fit her. I really liked her move from one to another, thinking she had found the best religion, only to have her eyes opened to another one she liked better, to find in the end that none of them were perfect. I also found her non-American view on September 11th very interesting. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and family, and thus, I recommend it here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Accurate

    Holy Cow gives India justice. After living here for two years, I know very well just how true Sarah Macdonald's account of her life in India is true. It was nice to hear some familiar names, like 'Modern Bazaar,' a market who gets its name from a grocery store which has recently burned down. She also lived in my same neighborhood, Vasant Vihar. Her descriptions of everywhere are excellent and true, and the story line is funny to boot. Good on you, Mrs. Macdonald.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Not Bad But Not Great

    In the book the author kept looking at different religions. One moment she had faith but a second later it was gone. It was not really an enjoyable read. I did really love reading about India and the people there but I think her story was really one sided, of course it is about her anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    I feel like I took another trip back to India

    If you have ever been to a real foreign destination like India and tried to absorb the culture instead of hiding from it, you may understand what Sarah is writing about. I feel exhausted and elated after finishing the book, just like I do when I visit the real place. And I saved a lot of money on airfare too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3