Customer Reviews for

Holy Cow: An Indian Adventure

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Everyone has a story to tell

More a book about the author's self indulgent search for herself than about India itself. Still worth reading if you are as interested in everything about India that is out there.

posted by sarafenix on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Holy Cow: An Indian Adventure

I have to agree with the others. It was so offensive and degrading - I don't know how they published this.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone has a story to tell

    More a book about the author's self indulgent search for herself than about India itself. Still worth reading if you are as interested in everything about India that is out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    So true and crazy

    Sarah, much unlike most Indians, had the finances and luxury of wide travel in exploring every religion under the sun in the short 3 years in India. Yes, indeed, India is the endless cacophony she describes or, as someone described, one huge circus. India, the country of my birth, can instantly absorb anyone. Sarah's writing is catching and entertaining, but I am yet to figure out her fascination with flatulence. Did she grow her hair back? On my reading this absorbing book, I have asked my 13 year old daughter to read it, too, so she may , despite growing up in the west, get one wide swath of her ancestors' homeland. I strongly recommend the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    At first I didn't know if she loved India or hated it

    Well written and filled with love hate experiences of her time in India but the author uses these to share the contradiction that India is. when she decides to take on an experience she does it fully and with an openness that is charming and educational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    India- a bundle of contradictions- hilarious

    I found Sarah Macdonald's adventures hilarious and I highly recommend the book to anyone planning a trip or who wants to learn more. I spent the first half of my life in India and know exactly what she's talking about. I disagree with those who find Sarah's tone condescending and disrespectful. We Indians must learn to laugh at ourselves and recognize that India is truly a paradox. Being an ancient culture doesn't necessrily mean that it doesn't have any faults. The caste system for e.g. is a scourge and so are the various cruelties and stupidities Indians commit in the name of religion. Having said that, India is also famous for adapting to, and adopting from, various cultures and religions. The book demonstrates that India is a true melting pot. I think Sarah matures tremendously as the book progresses. She learns to love India, its myriad contradictions not withstanding, and comes out of her experiences deeper and more humble than when her journey began. I related easily to her references to 'Eve teasing' which was very common during my youth. It was difficult for me to use public transportaton without being gratuitously groped. I used to travel in buses catering only to women to avoid that humiliation. Men flashing me was not uncommon either. My husband who is American, also enjoyed the book and found it valuable, especially since we are planning a trip to India soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Its almost as if I were there

    While reading the first few pages of this book, I was intsantly reminded of my trip to India. Mrs. McDonald did an amazing job with describing every little detail of India. It was almost as if I were there experiencing everything with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A Great book that taught me a lot

    I picked up this book because of the entertaining cover and because of the back synopsis. I don't know if it was exactly what I expected, but I really liked it for what it was. I learned a lot about India - I thought she presented the good with the bad and made it real. I also learned a lot about different religions. I could relate to the author and how she didn't have a religion, but she could certainly recognize the good parts in many religions, even if one in particular didn't fit her. I really liked her move from one to another, thinking she had found the best religion, only to have her eyes opened to another one she liked better, to find in the end that none of them were perfect. I also found her non-American view on September 11th very interesting. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and family, and thus, I recommend it here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1