Customer Reviews for

Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Dixie Chicks album

    At first listen, you'll see how the chicks went back to their original country style.
    "Fly" was a step in a different direction with mixed results. It didn't sound as country as their first album "Wide Open Spaces." "Home" is a great return to country from them. There are no percussion through the entire album. It's a mix of contemporary country and old bluegrass music. The standout tracks are the remake of Stevie Nicks "Landslide", "More Love" and "Travelin Soldier."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great CD

    wonderful CD. You should buy it! Such soulful and happy music!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Chicks Rule!

    This texan trio have such great singing. What I love the most is their own version of Landslide. It sounds charming compared to the Smashing Pumpkins' version and the original which is Fleetwood Mac's. I always listen to it when I feel lonely. It's just the greatest from the three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best DCX album ever!!!

    This is by far the best album of the Dixie Chicks. The CD has a bunch of different songs that really made the Dixie Chicks hit the big time. Unfortuneatly, that wouldn't last too long because of what Natalie said, but I'll tell you what, this is still a great CD. BUY BUY BUY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming and Addictive

    Home is a charming and addictive album that has such great songs. I don't care about a comment that someone said, she still has talent and always will. This is definetely a good album to treasure forevu. A must listen to that will calm and relax you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disregarding all Politics...

    Home is a great country record. I had to go out on a limb here and go against everything I believe in to buy it, but at least I'll be the bigger person - separating politics and music - as it should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING TALENT

    THESE GIRLS ARE FABULOUS MUSICIANS AND TALENTED VOCALISTS. THEY MAKE COUNTRY MUSIC APPEAL TO PEOPLE OUTSIDE THE BOX OF COUNTRY'S NORMAL LISTENING AUDIENCE. yOU CAN'T SIT STILL WHEN YOU LISTEN TO THIS MUSIC!!! KEEP IT COMING, GIRLS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Our new Led Zeppilen

    I think Natilie is one of the best female singer our country has seen in a while. I think the chick's new album defined what the music industry needs to look at...talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way to go Chicks!!!!

    I bought the the CD the other by the Dixie Chicks called "Home", I have to say what a totally different sound to there first two albums. It is so great how they take the bluegrass sound, and take it to a whole new level. I have to say that the songs on the album is totally great. My favorite songs on the albums are "Travelin Soldier", Landslide, and Long Time Gone. This is a must have CD to your music collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HERE'S TO THE BEST COUNTRY HAS TO OFFER--EVER!!

    If you thought that Stevie Nicks' "Landslide" was a song that could NEVER be reinterperreted, oh ye of little faith!! Mix The Dixie Chick's rendition with the infectious, foot-stomping, sing out loud (really loudly!!) tune "Long Time Gone," the sweet, sad, time-warp masterpiece of "Travelin' Soldier," and the heartfelt sentimentality of a parent's deep love for their child in "Godspeed," and you have found the most perfect album of the last decade!! These Texas gals are RED HOT--and their music and voices deal with every spectrum of human emotion with equal precision. THIS IS A KEEPER CD THAT, ONEDAY, IN THE FARAWAY FUTURE, I KNOW I SHALL BE SHARING WITH MY GRANDCHILDREN!! ORDER IT TODAY---CHERISH IT FOREVER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Free Speech Rocks!

    I have no idea what they sound like, and I really can't stomach country music. But I'm going to go out and buy all their records anyhow, to show my support. I usually don't pay much heed to celebrity activists; the self-importance and self-righteousness is usually just too much to bear. However, there was something almost -- dare I say -- heroic about the way the Dixie Chicks made their impromptu anti-war statements. Let's hope they don't get cold feet and backpedal, as they now seem almost prepared to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sing-Out-Loud, Heart Happy Music

    Natalie Maines is incredible, this band is incredible. The writing is fabulous. I have never bought a country album before and just bought this CD after I saw them perform Landslide at the Grammy's. I am a marathoner and I listen to this CD over and over and over again, singing out loud on the city streets and feeling happy! I am going to buy their previous CDs too and I bought a copy of Home for my Dad. Dixie Chicks you are talented! Awesome stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DIXIE CHICKS RULE!!

    I heard them before on our Pop radio channel, but never before thought of buying their CD. I'm so very PROUD of them! I've ordered three, and am encouraging my friends to do the same. These women have guts, talent, beauty and intelligence. They're my idols! True Americans, they idealize what Southern women like me should be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really Good CD

    This is a very good album. I love all of the songs, especially Top of the World. I got this for my mother, and all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Dixie Chicks Did It Again.

    I think the dixie chicks are totally amazing with their music, how they can take bluegrass and blend it in with the country side and make this amazingly beautiful sounding music.I like country and bluegrass and to have them together is great. As I listen to these songs I can feel the real emotion and time that they put into it.These songs take me away to a place where all is pleasent. I have bought two copies of this CD. One for work and one for home.I believe it is most definately their best album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A "Home" Run!!!

    I have been a fan of the Dixie Chicks since the beginning and I eagerly awaited the release of their newest album. I was not disappointed. This CD is great. The first single "Long Time Gone" is classic Dixie Chicks with the tongue-in-cheek lyrics and Natalie Maines' awesome voice. And the remake of "Landslide" has been bringing the Chicks deserved crossover success. I never thought it would be possible for someone to remake the song because of Fleetwood Mac's original and Stevie Nicks' voice. But the Dixie Chicks more than do justice to this classic. But my favorite tracks on the CD are probably "Truth No. 2" and "Travelin' Soldier." I love the combination of all three voices on these songs. For sheer laughs "White Trash Wedding" is another great track among many. Their fans will definitely not be disappointed with the long wait for this CD and new fans will discover why they have been so popular after their first two albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Review

    I believe the price could be bettter its pretty expensive then again the prices never seem to stop growing on anything. I give it four stars because the music is good but the price kills it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    This was the best yet!!! I absolutley LOVE "LONG TIME GONE"!!!! I will definitly keep buying the dixie Chick' stuff!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They nailed it!

    Everything about this CD is great. Just when Country Music was getting that 'it all sounds alike' sound, the Dixie Chicks have gone HOME to their roots and latched on to the Blue Grass/New Grass sound. The quality of the music, production, -- even the packaging says they wanted to do this right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Home

    This is an excellent recording that I just can't take out of my CD player. Fans of acoustic music will want this CD full of talent intelligence and grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2