Customer Reviews for

Home: A Memoir of My Early Years

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Julie Andrews is amazing

Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice...
Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice life except for the operation on her throat which destroyed her wonderful voice. This was a nice read about a nice lady.

Julie Andrews enjoyed acting as well as singing, and she starred in movies and on the broadway stage. One of her regrets was not being selected to star in My Fair Lady, which she starred in on Broadway. But she was given a real break to her movie career by being chosen to be Mary Poppins, where she totally endeared herself to all her fans.

posted by 3410929 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I am about 3/4 the way through this book, it is a very interesting story into the beginning life of Julie Andrewsl.

posted by CEisenTN on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    Julie Andrews is amazing

    Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice life except for the operation on her throat which destroyed her wonderful voice. This was a nice read about a nice lady.

    Julie Andrews enjoyed acting as well as singing, and she starred in movies and on the broadway stage. One of her regrets was not being selected to star in My Fair Lady, which she starred in on Broadway. But she was given a real break to her movie career by being chosen to be Mary Poppins, where she totally endeared herself to all her fans.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Julie Andrew's True song: Her Life

    You may think you know everything there is of note about Julie Andrews, 'til you pick up this obsorbing memoir. Candid & smart, this gem brings Julie's early beginnings to page perfect realism. Anyone lucky to pick it up, will hear the music in her written voice.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Loved it!

    I always loved Julie Andrews as a singer and actress, so I was already interested in reading the book. I loved every minute of it and could not put it down. Reading her story made me respect her so much more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Love the family stories

    Very nice read. She is such a class act in
    so many ways. I didn't understand why I couldn't see pictures on my nook. Was really looking forward to matching faces with her life events

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Julie tells us her story, warts and all

    In telling us about the first twenty-odd years of her life, Julie Andrews reveals that she led a fairly sheltered existence for most of it. But with the advantage of hindsight she freely admits this, and it lends a certain spice to the story of the woman who was, for all intents and purposes, synonymous with the notion of G-rated movies for several years.

    Of course, seeing that this is Julie Andrews, the term "spice" is somewhat relative as well. But there are still details of her life that I wasn't aware of - for one, the fact that she came from a broken home. For another, the fact that she started her career in vaudeville.

    All told, Andrews tells her story in a forthright and interesting way, and I'm only sorry that she cut it off just before she started her work on "Mary Poppins". I would have loved to hear her impressions of Dick Van Dyke and the rest of that cast.

    I hope she continues her story and that the next volume comes out soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Mya b.

    I was walking in a market place and walked into a particular place. I found this book lying on a table for dedoration. I pulled my notebook out of my bag and wrote the authors name and the name of the book. Im a book worm, so if i c a book i gotta check it out! I read a paragraph. I went home and got on my nook and searched for it. I found it. Sucessfuly. i cannot wait to read it. But depending on the age its appropriate for i must wait. I do not know what age its appropriate to read. Anyway. I bet its a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    The person two below me.

    The hardcover is 339 pages so the ebook is probably close

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Practically Perfect in Every Way

    This is the kind of book that, if you love Julie Andrews, you hear her voice narrating to you. It was wonderful! I only wish there was more about her life after Mary Poppins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read!

    Great book that brought back a lot of memories! Written simply and with feeling, Julie shares memories of childhood and the beginning of her stardom. Wonderful as a summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    A lovely look at her early life.

    I am very glad I read this book. It was wonderful to take a look at her life before the movies, and see her life in theather. It made me long even more for the chance to see her in these roles on stage. If you like Ms. Andrews I say buy this and enjoy the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I am about 3/4 the way through this book, it is a very interesting story into the beginning life of Julie Andrewsl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Read it and enjoy. Julie Andrews is and will always be awesome!

    The book was well written and gave insight to Julie we might never have known. I learned that she is well worth the admiration I have for her with her blessed talent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Home by Julie Andrews Book Review

    Home by Julie Andrews is an interesting autobiography about Andrews and her life when she was young. Many people know Julie from her big appearances in Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music but this book really shows the reader her life before all of the fame. Julie was born on October 1, 1935 in England before World War 2. Her parents got divorced when she was very young. Her mother left her father for a Canadian singer named Ted Andrews. Julie¿s mother was an accomplished piano player and Ted and her mother traveled around performing. Their performances did not make a great deal of money so Julie¿s family was very poor. Ted Andrews then encourages Julie at an early age to pursue a singing career and trains Julie¿s voice between the ages of 8 to 12. Julie then performs in a Christmas play called ¿Cinderella¿ in London. Then she lands her first Broadway play in ¿The Boy Friend.¿ Andrews also recollects about her roles in ¿My Fair Lady¿ and ¿Camelot.¿ She shares her experiences in her different roles in the arts. She also shares about personal family experiences that many people have never heard about. One is about her marriage to her childhood sweetheart, Tony Walton and the birth of her daughter named Emma. The major messages/ themes in the book are to follow your dreams and do not let your doubts get in the way of that. There were many things that I liked about this book. One of them was that I liked hearing about her experiences in the arts and the roles that she played. I also liked how I got to see what Julie Andrews life was like in her early years. My dislikes were that sometimes she went on and on about a certain thing that I thought were not necessary for the book. People should read this book because it is inspiring to see how Julie never gives up on her dreams. Many people only know Julie Andrews from when she was older and the readers are able to learn about what life was like for Julie at a young age. I would overall rate this book an 8 out of 10 because I really learned a lot about Julie Andrews and her life in the arts, performing and singing. This is an amazing book and is very highly recommended to anyone who knows about Julie Andrews and is interested in the arts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Nice Read

    This book was enjoyable and one that I would happily continue reading. It ended at an appropriate time in her acting career & is written as easily as she speaks. Delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    Julie Andrews had a very difficult youth, but overcame it to become the wonderful lady we know and love. Book is very well written and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    meh

    while it is an intrresting story, it jumps around, as if from thought to thought without connection quite often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    This is such a wonderful book!! It is a must read!!

    This book is very amazing. I felt like I was right there with her. She is a very strong woman to have to endure what she did growing up. I am so glad that she has a wonderful career. She worked her but off to be where she is at now. No one will ever forget "The Sound of Music." Even if you are not a Julie Andrews fan, I think that you still will love this book. I have wished since I was little to get a chance to meet her and talk with her. I want that more than ever now. She is an inspiration!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Julie Andrews brings us back Home.

    Julie Andrews' autobiography allows the reader with a new insight to the performer's life. It is very thorough and really covers everything. This is, in my opinion, one of the best features of the book, but it can also be a downside, as at times it tends to focus on little things that don't matter to the entire story. However, each memory is extremely detailed, which makes them all more interesting. The book begins with Julie as a young child, in which she talks about her first performances with her step father and her mother. She takes the reader through all of the shows she was in, including the ones where she performed in front of the Queen and Royal Family. Then she takes us to the first time she travels to America, which happens to be to star in a Broadway show. We then continue to follow her life at home and her stage career for the rest of the book. The major theme becomes clear at the beginning of the book- find who you are. Once you find it, grab it and don't let go. Chase your dreams in order to become who you are. It's a great message anyone should hear! I would recommend this book to people who are love to perform onstage, love to watch performances, or are a fan of Julie Andrews, as it's a detailed and great autobiography.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Good book

    I love Julie Andrews and when I saw her book I thought I don't know as I hate to read books about people's lives. But to my surprise it was very good. It as interesting to see what she had to go through to get to where she is today and how different the time she grew up in was from my own. I was intrigued and very happy that I bought this and look forward to reading another book of hers someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    beautifully written memior about a beautiful woman

    i bought this book because i was doing my final project for my music appreciation class on julie andrews. i have always loved her for both her movies and music, and was thrilled that she was my subject.
    i was immediately sucked into her world. i identified with her in a lot of ways becausei too, have sang for many years. because i love musicals, i relished her backstage stories while working on "my fair lady", "cinderella" (which rodgers and hammerstein wrote specifically for her.), and "camelot". i laughed with her. i cried with her. i enjoyed every minute of it! this is one of those books you won't want to put down. because of incredibly well-crafted and interesting book, i aced my project. after reading it, i was so inspired that i wrote a poem about her. this book only added to my admiration for this amazing lady. run, do not walk, to go buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6