Customer Reviews for

Home: A Memoir of My Early Years

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Julie Andrews is amazing

Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice...
Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice life except for the operation on her throat which destroyed her wonderful voice. This was a nice read about a nice lady.

Julie Andrews enjoyed acting as well as singing, and she starred in movies and on the broadway stage. One of her regrets was not being selected to star in My Fair Lady, which she starred in on Broadway. But she was given a real break to her movie career by being chosen to be Mary Poppins, where she totally endeared herself to all her fans.

posted by 3410929 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I am about 3/4 the way through this book, it is a very interesting story into the beginning life of Julie Andrewsl.

posted by CEisenTN on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Loved it!

    I always loved Julie Andrews as a singer and actress, so I was already interested in reading the book. I loved every minute of it and could not put it down. Reading her story made me respect her so much more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Mya b.

    I was walking in a market place and walked into a particular place. I found this book lying on a table for dedoration. I pulled my notebook out of my bag and wrote the authors name and the name of the book. Im a book worm, so if i c a book i gotta check it out! I read a paragraph. I went home and got on my nook and searched for it. I found it. Sucessfuly. i cannot wait to read it. But depending on the age its appropriate for i must wait. I do not know what age its appropriate to read. Anyway. I bet its a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    The person two below me.

    The hardcover is 339 pages so the ebook is probably close

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    A lovely look at her early life.

    I am very glad I read this book. It was wonderful to take a look at her life before the movies, and see her life in theather. It made me long even more for the chance to see her in these roles on stage. If you like Ms. Andrews I say buy this and enjoy the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    Julie Andrews had a very difficult youth, but overcame it to become the wonderful lady we know and love. Book is very well written and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    This is such a wonderful book!! It is a must read!!

    This book is very amazing. I felt like I was right there with her. She is a very strong woman to have to endure what she did growing up. I am so glad that she has a wonderful career. She worked her but off to be where she is at now. No one will ever forget "The Sound of Music." Even if you are not a Julie Andrews fan, I think that you still will love this book. I have wished since I was little to get a chance to meet her and talk with her. I want that more than ever now. She is an inspiration!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Good book

    I love Julie Andrews and when I saw her book I thought I don't know as I hate to read books about people's lives. But to my surprise it was very good. It as interesting to see what she had to go through to get to where she is today and how different the time she grew up in was from my own. I was intrigued and very happy that I bought this and look forward to reading another book of hers someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    beautifully written memior about a beautiful woman

    i bought this book because i was doing my final project for my music appreciation class on julie andrews. i have always loved her for both her movies and music, and was thrilled that she was my subject.
    i was immediately sucked into her world. i identified with her in a lot of ways becausei too, have sang for many years. because i love musicals, i relished her backstage stories while working on "my fair lady", "cinderella" (which rodgers and hammerstein wrote specifically for her.), and "camelot". i laughed with her. i cried with her. i enjoyed every minute of it! this is one of those books you won't want to put down. because of incredibly well-crafted and interesting book, i aced my project. after reading it, i was so inspired that i wrote a poem about her. this book only added to my admiration for this amazing lady. run, do not walk, to go buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A favorite performer begins to tell her story

    Although this story ends too soon (at the birth of Julie's first child), I was excited to learn more about her growing up years and the hardships she endured. I'd always thought of her as so privileged and genteel, it was amazing to learn all the difficult times she had. She has emerged a true lady and an inspiration to singers and actors as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Great Insight into the Actress

    After learning how Julie Andrews was brought up and her life experiences, tells the reader why and how this wonderful actress thinks and how she became who she became. It is remarkable that she went through all the hardship and misunderstandings and became this wonderful person that she is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    well the only reason for me to write today is to let her know that she is the most elegant, classiest lady i have ever seen..i saw her in the princess diaries and have admired her since then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    I am currently reading the book

    Good for Julie for what she believes in. She has good values, and is a great person. Now, she is 78, and is still alive. I can't imagine the world without her, and am going to be shell-shocked when she dies, no matter how old she is. I love you, Julie Andrews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    To mya b.

    It is appropriate for most mature kids over 10, just talksabiut divorce and stuff like that plusbit says s*** and f*** and a**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    I have a question

    How many pages is it??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Enjoyable.

    Great read for Julie Andrews fans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Outstanding!

    For someone who loves "Mary Poppins" and "The Sound of Music", this book is a great read. I could not put this book down and I was drawn in with her remarkable attention to detail. I only hope she writes another book continuing her story through her years of film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    A Great Book and Must Read

    Many details but well written. Also there is a set of CD's with Julie reading the book. She did a great job and made me feel I was there with her as she faced a difficult childhood. She is my favorite, so to me this book is more than just interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Two Words: Stunning, Inspiring

    I bought this book out of a mere curiosity, and after the first paragraph was absolutely hooked. You couldn't pry it out of my hands. It was fun, real, and warm hearted. I loved it! And when I finished, I was wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    A Great Read!!

    Julie Andrews did a remarkable job in writing of her early years--a real insight into her early days & how much she was depended on to support her family. I can't wait for the next installment!! She is truly a remarkable woman!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    This is a very wonderful book that Julie Andrews wrote for her fellow audience. This book is touching and not only is the author an inspiration, the book is an inspiration too. Everyone should read this book!!! It taught me so many things I never knew about Julie Andrews. Who knew that a little ordinary girl born in Walton-on-Thames would grow up to be such a successful women!!! Julie Andrews truly is an inspiration!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3