Customer Reviews for

Home: A Memoir of My Early Years

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Julie Andrews is amazing

Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice...
Julie Andrews has written a very interesting autobiography of her life. She started singing at a very young age on stage. She kept going because of her phenomenal voice and beauty. She had a great many leading men that were truly interesting. She's had a really nice life except for the operation on her throat which destroyed her wonderful voice. This was a nice read about a nice lady.

Julie Andrews enjoyed acting as well as singing, and she starred in movies and on the broadway stage. One of her regrets was not being selected to star in My Fair Lady, which she starred in on Broadway. But she was given a real break to her movie career by being chosen to be Mary Poppins, where she totally endeared herself to all her fans.

posted by 3410929 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I am about 3/4 the way through this book, it is a very interesting story into the beginning life of Julie Andrewsl.

posted by CEisenTN on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    AWESOME...Most candid account of Julie's life ever!

    I could not put this book down...it was a very easy read and a lot of great history behind the stories. Julie Andrews is admittingly a very private person and I was so happy to see her open up and be so candid in this book. It was very nice to see that she was a real young woman with the same issues that young women face today such as abuse, family issues, young love...ect. She is truely and inspiration for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Great read

    Couldn't put it down. Julie's writing was wonderful. Her life story is amazing. She is an amazing woman. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. Her details were so vivid I felt like I was there with her at every moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    Miss Andrews as always does everything extraordinary and again has a best seller.Her compassion to acting transends into her writing,you will not be disappointed, only more intrigued by this timeless woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    Inspiring

    Miss Andrews gives hope and encouragement in the writings of her memoir. Never once does she convey self pity when writing of her unhappy childhood. 'Home', is very worthy of it's #1 placing (in it's second week of publication) on the New York's Non-Fiction Best Seller's List!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    A Real Experience!

    As a teenager growing up in an extremely modern age, Julie's book has taught me a lot. I learned so much from her experiences and how she delt with things. I reccomend this book for anyone who wants a good read! 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    A Wonderful Read

    I have admired Julie Andrews for many, many years, and looked forward to her book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed. What a wonderful, poignant, book. Ms. Andrews tells her story in such a touching and classy way, reinforcing why she has been, and always will be, loved by so many. Thank you, Julie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    A lovely delight!

    What a delightful surprise this is.It's the best memoir I've ever read.Julie tells her story in a clear,honest,no-nonsense manner. Her prose is lovely,and the photos are excellent.And boy,does she dish the dirt! But most of all,Julie comes off here exactly as she does onscreen-intelligent,warm,witty, and very charming.Reading this wonderful book is like having a long and very personal conversation with her.Sit back and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Wonderful

    this is one of the best books, especially biography, i have ever read. i could not put it down. it is so beautifully written and very witty. when reading this it feels like your having a conversation with an old friend. i can't wait for her to write the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    a memoir as amazing as, well, Julie.....

    Gorgeously written, heartfelt, honest, telling, surprisingly funny and witty. I've been wild for Julie Andrews forever, but I was astonished by the depth and complexity within HOME (and I've read MANDY many, many times). Usually in celebrity biographies you skim through the childhood pages, anxious for the star's adult life, but here, the reader likely will (as I did) cherish every evocative story of Julie's childhood. And a rough one it was, yet Andrews still and has always maintained that remarkable (and yes, inspiring) 'well, that was a rotten go, now let's get on with the show' approach to every aspect of her life. There's so much more to Andrews than simply springing out of the sky with an umbrella, fully formed, as most of us likely thought -- the wild self-doubt, the fractious family, and yes, the chin-up optimism -- it's all here. There's never a moment of typical self-pity that gets so grating with celebrity biographies and Andrews is generous to a fault to all who have helped her (and to many who have faulted her). Highly recommended, and well deserving of all of the accolades (and sales) HOME is receiving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Best Julie Andrews book ever!!!!!!

    I've loved her since i was a toddler. shes been like a mother in some ways, the perfect mother a child could want. I would love to meet her someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Practically Perfect in Every Way

    I have wanted to be Julie Andrews since I was about 4 and watched Mary Poppins every day. This book only made me admire her more. I read the book in one day because I could not put it down. Her descriptions of her life and of the stage are revealing and beautiful. She writes almost as beautifully as she once could sing. Anyone who has even a passing interest in Julie Andrews will love this book. She certainly is a marvelous person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Classc

    What a great role model for our youth today! And it brings back great memories for me. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    what an awesome book

    What a great book I could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3