Customer Reviews for

Home

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Masterful storytelling in a compact novel...

Toni Morrison's latest novel (or novella) is a compact tale tackling the broad subject of "home". Frank Money is a veteran returns to the US after serving in the Korean War. Like most Black soldiers of that time, he's returning to a country that could care less about h...
Toni Morrison's latest novel (or novella) is a compact tale tackling the broad subject of "home". Frank Money is a veteran returns to the US after serving in the Korean War. Like most Black soldiers of that time, he's returning to a country that could care less about his service and the trauma that he's experienced. Frank works hard at trying to achieve some level of normalcy and overcome the memories that he can't escape. He receives news that his younger sister, Cee, is in trouble and must pull himself together enough to come to her aid.

As usual, Morrison's writing is beautiful and descriptive, making even the smallest detail appear paramount to the story. It's hard to believe that a book that is only about 160 pages long could contain a wealth of storytelling. The plight of Black people in the 1950's is fully explored here: returning soldiers, travelling the country under Jim Crow laws, medical research exploitation, and much more. Morrison's incredible talent assures that no matter how many physical pages there are, her stories are always fully told.

posted by mshoni on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Difficult to follow

I was excited to read this book because I had heard of Toni Morrison but had never read any of her books. While the story was good, I found it at times hard to follow. The character's names changed, as well as the setting, without me being aware. It wasn't until I re...
I was excited to read this book because I had heard of Toni Morrison but had never read any of her books. While the story was good, I found it at times hard to follow. The character's names changed, as well as the setting, without me being aware. It wasn't until I read the summary at the end that I understood that. Maybe upon reading again, I would enjoy it more, but I was disappointed.

posted by Nlen110 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Masterful storytelling in a compact novel...

    Toni Morrison's latest novel (or novella) is a compact tale tackling the broad subject of "home". Frank Money is a veteran returns to the US after serving in the Korean War. Like most Black soldiers of that time, he's returning to a country that could care less about his service and the trauma that he's experienced. Frank works hard at trying to achieve some level of normalcy and overcome the memories that he can't escape. He receives news that his younger sister, Cee, is in trouble and must pull himself together enough to come to her aid.

    As usual, Morrison's writing is beautiful and descriptive, making even the smallest detail appear paramount to the story. It's hard to believe that a book that is only about 160 pages long could contain a wealth of storytelling. The plight of Black people in the 1950's is fully explored here: returning soldiers, travelling the country under Jim Crow laws, medical research exploitation, and much more. Morrison's incredible talent assures that no matter how many physical pages there are, her stories are always fully told.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    A Web Spun with Words

    As usual, Toni Morrison does not disappoint in this her latest novel. I was pulled in immediately and unable to put the book down. So engrossed I was that I actually finished it in one sitting. It is not a long novel but it backs a great deal in its pages. Absolutely loved it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Home by Toni Morrison

    I had finished reading the latest novella by Toni Morrison titled "Home".
    Short reading but she tells a good story. An interesting and engaging plot that provides an exciting description of the main characters. Toni Morrison's stories are getting shorter but quality of writing still exists in her fiction. The plot engaged me from the start. I had finished reading this novella in three sessions. It goes on for 105 pages or so, not a very long story. Succinct and colorful, descriptive and enticing, draws you in from the very beginning. A well spent time reading this book. The twists and turns surprise and enchant. What happens at the end? I wanted the story to go on, but the writer decided to end the story. There is nothing we can do but carry on the plot in our own minds.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Tony Morrison strikes again

    Great read, compelling narrative, beautiful language.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Stop telling the story

    When I read reviews, I don't want to read a book report because it ruins any chance of me buying the book. Just say what you thought about it and leave it at that. Please!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Difficult to follow

    I was excited to read this book because I had heard of Toni Morrison but had never read any of her books. While the story was good, I found it at times hard to follow. The character's names changed, as well as the setting, without me being aware. It wasn't until I read the summary at the end that I understood that. Maybe upon reading again, I would enjoy it more, but I was disappointed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Toni Morrison is a literary genius. "I can be miserable if

    Toni Morrison is a literary genius.

    "I can be miserable if I want to. You don't need to try and make it go away. It shouldn't go away. It's just as sad as it ought to be and I'm not going to hide from what's true just because it hurts." (from page 131)

    Why is it so hard to write about books that are so amazing? I always seem to have this issue with my favorite books. This is definitely the case with Toni Morrison's Home. Even though the novel is shy of 200 pages, the story inside it is so artfully crafted and brilliantly executed. The varying points of view and switch between first person and third person gives the reader different versions of the 'truth'.

    I've learned about eugenics in my women's studies classes. It's a horrible dark secret in American society that often gets overlooked or ignored. In a way, I am glad that Morrison decided to talk about this piece of history in her latest novel. I am disgusted that it happened, don't get me wrong, but I strongly believe in learning about any sort of discrimination. That's another reason why I admire Morrison so much. She links together all of the oppressions and shows how racism exists right along with sexism and classism. The voices of minorities have always been silenced, and there is great power in learning from the past. The other choice is to ignore it, but what does that do to a person?

    Frank is a perfect example of this. He may not be a perfect person, a perfect brother or boyfriend, but he is still human. He tries to ignore the past and it just haunts him and pulls him into a downward spiral. His post-traumatic stress is clear through his hallucinations and 'abnormal' reactions. When he finally says the truth, though, he is freed from that poisonous denial.

    I can't recommend this novel highly enough. If you love happy, care-free novels, then this isn't for you. You might say it's too depressing, too dark, too somber. But to her fans (like me) it is empowering and hopeful. The message here is really strong and inspiring. Nobody should make you feel like you're worth nothing. You might get discriminated against because of the color of your skin, or your gender, or the lack of money in your pockets, but those oppressors aren't better than you. No one is better than you. It takes a lot of courage to see that and accept it, but it's true.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Kevin

    * sits down*

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Yes pkease

    Stop telling the whole book In the reviews .
    T

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Read

    Ms Morrison never fails! Gotta love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Disappointing....

    Home is the story of siblings Frank and Ycidra "Cee" Money, who grow up underloved in a small Southern town. As adults, each of them leaves home--Frank as an enlisted man unprepared for the ravages of war and Cee as the wife of a despicable cad. Despite their hometown's impenetrable hardness and meanness, the siblings end up back there years later, gaining the healing they have been unwittingly delaying in refusing to come to terms with the place they have wanted so desperately to leave behind.

    Morrison fans will find plenty of her signature elements in Home: the small-town setting, childhood trauma, the collision of race and sex, love gone wrong, and the redemptive magic of women's love. In this way, Home is unquestionably the work of the Nobel Prize-winning master of American letters. However, aside from these authorial tells, the novel falls rather horribly flat, which is decidedly uncharacteristic of Morrison novels. While I confess to being underwhelmed by her novel Love, I stand by my assessment of Morrison as a giant in American literature. This notwithstanding, Home simply fails to satisfy. It is unrelentingly ungenerous in backstory and characterological inner life. This omniscient narrator is inexplicably tight-lipped. Things are somewhat better in this regard with Frank, the story's hero, but other characters, including his sister, the heroine, are given appallingly short shrift in these areas.

    One of the deep joys of reading Morrison is hearbreakingly beautiful language. Another is the invitation to gut-level understanding of who a character is and why his/her actions make absolute sense within a sharply drawn physical, emotional, and economic context. Home has so many interesting characters--the siblings' hardworking but perpetually impoverished parents, their resolutely unconcerned grandfather, their evil step-grandmother for whom the siblings and their parents can never be good enough, the woman who loves but is relieved ultimately to lose war-torn Frank, the kind but tragically unethical doctor who nearly kills the naive Cee, the stern women who pray, sing, and doctor her back to a self she has never known how to be, and others besides. Unfortunately, this overly terse novel renders them all as little more than one-dimensional stock characters, and not the living, breathing fictional people we experience in the overwhelming majority of other Morrison novels. Home is not a bad book, but it clearly should be so much more than it is and offer so much more than it does.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Trent

    Me too ttyt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Another Morrison Success!

    If you're like me and have already read you fair share of Toni Morrison's work, you won't be disappointed with "Home." It is yet another wonderful book that is complex and rich in it's brevity.

    Morrison has always written as if she wrote 400+ pages and then edits down to 100 making the reader really have to immerse themselves into the text to really see what Morrison is trying to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Holt

    Dang it nooks almost dead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Did not like this one.

    Highly over-rated in my humble opinion. Dis-jointed and fairy-tale like ending. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Gween

    Gween

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Ocean

    Sorry theres was a lag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Great read

    Makes you realize that theres no place like home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5