Customer Reviews for

Home Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 441 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS DEFINITELY A 5 STAR BOOK/ A MUST READ

I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY RE...
I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY READING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Great writer, but too sad.

I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I ...
I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I know a good author makes you feel the emotions, and I keep reading Kristen Hannah because I do love the way she writes, but Home Front and her last release were just entirely too sad for me to read. I need feel good books, but if you don't mind sobbing through a story, then you seriously will love Kristen Hannah. I believe she's a great author, just not necessarily for me.

posted by 5571664 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great writer, but too sad.

    I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I know a good author makes you feel the emotions, and I keep reading Kristen Hannah because I do love the way she writes, but Home Front and her last release were just entirely too sad for me to read. I need feel good books, but if you don't mind sobbing through a story, then you seriously will love Kristen Hannah. I believe she's a great author, just not necessarily for me.

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Best Book I Have Ever Read!!

    Saying this is the best book I have ever read, is no small statement. I read an average of 3 books a week and have for many years. However, no book has ever had me in tears from almost the beginning, all the way to the end. If you don't like emotional books, this is not for you. But if you like to read a story that seems so real, with characters so genuine, than you must read this!!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this author but....

    I really wanted to like this book. I enjoy this author but this one did not hold my interest. I was excited to read it because I work for a helicopter company and thought that with it being in the story line it would be a home run for me. The characters were not ones that I feel I had a vested interest in. It was an OK read for me not bad but not great, either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    War at home...

    The first 100 pages were whine after whine after whine. There was nothing keeping me here except that I had to read for book club. Could not stand any of the characters including the 2 children 12 and 5. I finally become engrossed in the book when the Iraq War became center stage. This became the turning point of my attention. There were many conflicting situations that did not add up or make sense. The story itself was awesome - mother goes off to war and leaves husband and children - but I questioned numerous scenarios. The prose in this book is good but there are many conflicting situations that did not add up or did not make sense. Overall it was a good story but I think the correction of conflicting situations would have made it a better read and a much more enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Good book but too short

    I liked Home Front. I liked the characters and the plot was very interesting. I felt, though, that many major issues were covered in a short time. I felt more chapters could have been devoted to Jo's life in Iraq and the trial. The trial was merely a blip on the radar. I felt things were left a little too tidy in the end. I know that people want a happy ending, but I think the true reality of PTSD and Jo's particular story would have been a much harder and longer struggle. I am someone who enjoys epic long stories, so many may not agree with me. This is just my take.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Recommend

    A little predictable, but presents a fresh slant on PTSD from the female soldier's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    good read.

    good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    This book made my eyes well down at the end. I don't know if tha

    This book made my eyes well down at the end. I don't know if that was because I listened to this while I was working out so I wasn't as emotional, but it surely wasn't for lack of sad moments. I don't think I could even imagine going through what she went through and still be as sane as she was at the end of this book.
    I've found writing this book particularly hard because I don't have strong feelings toward this book. I neither hated it, nor loved it; it was a decent book, but I don't think it wasted my time, nor do I think everyone needs to read it. I think that for me int provided a new perspective that I never really considered before.

    I don't really like war books, I'm not sure why, but they just don't attract me, but here I was listening to this book about a woman who went off to war. It was heart breaking as she talked about having to writing "Just in Case" letters for her 12 year old and 4 year old while her husband was pouting like a child declairing "I don't love you anymore" two weeks before she is deployed. It was harsh, but that admission made them grow back together.

    I wanted to believe that Michael had changed and that he came to love Jolene again, but his attitude at the start of the book makes it hard to believe. I do think that he realized he made a mistake in not trying with Jolene, but his turn around was too quick to be believeable. It was also all too coincidental that he is working on a PTSD case as his wife goes off to war, but that is what books are for right? Unlikely coincidences.

    What also irked me about this book was the teenage daughter, Betsy. Maybe it was just the fact that this was an audiobook and when the speaker changed their voice to a high pitched whine whenever being Betsy, but she just annoyed the crap out of me. She was a typical teenager who couldn't stand her mom, but there were times when her cruelty even hurt me. The worst was when Jolene, in reaction to a door slamming threw herself and her awkward prosthetic leg to the ground at her best friend, Tammy's memorial at her home; Betsy yelled "Whats wrong with you? You're ruining my life!" like it was all about her. As much as Jolene snapped at her, never once did she say "For once this isn't about you" or anything to that effect. Teenager are awful.

    The scenes where Jolene struggled with coming back from war were the most touching, even when she wrote in her journal about what war was like for her. It was something that I never really thought about and it was terrifying to read about. That along with the case of PTSD that Michael (who was a lawyer defending a Marine who shot his wife) really showed how war affected those that came back.

    All in all, it wasn't a terrible book, but it the ending was wrapped up in a neat little bow with everyone happy. (Except for Tammy) I would tell you what it is that made me cry in the end, but then you wouldn't go read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Good Read

    Although not my absolute favorite of this authors books, it was a good read. The storyline of how to love and be loved kept me interested until the end. The only downside was I had thestoryline figured out fairly early on. This was only my second book I have read by this author and plan to read others as I enjoy her wriring style very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Ok

    This book would have been eaasier for me to read if the mom was not a helicopter pilot....part time no less lol...

    I would have thought with her past issues the author would have put her in a field that allowed her to be a nurturer....such as a military nurse or doctor....

    That role would befit a woman who grew up amidst pain....the odds of a person in the military to live next door to their childhood friend...who is also in the military...and a pilot must be billions to one...another lol....

    I like my characters to imitate reality as much as possible when I read fiction..because I am being asked to read about a story that could happen....might happen or will happen....therefore....let me place them in a setting that would allow for me to at least be open to possibilities...

    I live in a military community as a civilian...and know how very little time in one place many families get to have...when they make friends...they are called to duty someplace else...which made the bff next door very unlikely....but this is a work of fiction...whether you like it would depend on how you arrange the characters....happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3