Customer Reviews for

Home Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS DEFINITELY A 5 STAR BOOK/ A MUST READ

I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY RE...
I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY READING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Great writer, but too sad.

I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I ...
I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I know a good author makes you feel the emotions, and I keep reading Kristen Hannah because I do love the way she writes, but Home Front and her last release were just entirely too sad for me to read. I need feel good books, but if you don't mind sobbing through a story, then you seriously will love Kristen Hannah. I believe she's a great author, just not necessarily for me.

posted by 5571664 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    4.5 stars

    Wow. Amazing book...and i read a lot. Real people with real reactions/actions. Thought sbout this book a lot once it was over. Will read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great read

    A very enjoyable, easy read. Deals with a military family where its the wife thats deployed to Iraq. Her husband is unsupportive and her preteen daughter is horrible to her. Once she leaves for war, her family wishes they could have a few moments back with her once they realize she may not come home. Good lessons on being supportive of the people we love. God Bless Our Troops!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Marine

    This was beautiful, I only noticed 1 problem in the research, never call a Marine soldier, they are Marines and very proud of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I wanna read!!

    I just made a guess on the rating, anxious to readu, whens it availiable!??

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2015

    Good Book

    Good book with up to date storyline. I did not like Michael the military spouse very much and felt that the 12 year old daughter was spoiled and maybe each a little overdone. The other characters and character development were well done and I especially enjoyed the sisterhood between Jolene and Tami.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Home Front

    Really great read. I could not put it down. Way too many late nights! I cried more than I had since reading Firefly Lane. My fiirst read of hers. If you enjoy a good cry and new ways of seeing things.....read this book.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    For me, Kristin Hannah's very best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good but Depressing

    This book was good but depressing. I am sure it is what military life is really about and those of us who don't know this world cannot understand the sacrifices. One thing that I have learned from this author is that she captures emotions in such a way it's amazing and it sticks with you for a long time. Winter Garden was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly recommended, you have to read!

    It definitely a page turner, it makes you hold your breath till you keep reading to find out what is going to happen next! It is really sweet how the turns around and realizes he loves is wife. it was very uplifting.

    The author keeps you in suspense, and i would read
    more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great!

    Not often does book bring me to tears but this one did. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Great story about heros

    I like all of Hannah's books. This is right up there. It is a story about a family who has a loved one at war. We all need to learn about how these people give so much to our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Enlightening-highly recommended

    Home Front brought the reality of living in a milatary family to life. It shows just how hard it is on the family at home when their loved ones go off to war. It also brings the realization that by dealing with the losses of friends, mates, and comrads everone's life changes. You cannot expect anyone to come back the way they left. Adjustments need to be made by everyone involved.

    I had a hard time putting it down. It was sad, but also kept me wondering what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    A story for todays family

    This is a great book for those who are in or been apart of a military family. I did my share of crying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Home front

    I thought this was very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good & Sad

    Great story, great characters, real situations. Very well written and realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Definately an inspiring read, real sad but full of hope and prom

    Definately an inspiring read, real sad but full of hope and promise and as real and poignant as it gets--it will stay with you-- and perhaps haunt you ---one of Hannah's best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    R

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Tear jerker

    Kind of a slow start but tears start to flow towards the end! Great story of a woman overcoming tough obstacles in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book is a great read. Yes, you will probably need tissues. I

    The book is a great read. Yes, you will probably need tissues. I think Hannah has written a timely novel that works great for the present. Many a soldier returns home and can't really deal with the things that they have seen during the war. It is a wake up cry that Veteran Services need to be improved tremendously in our country. The military itself also needs to do a better job debriefing the soldiers. As usual, Hannah does a good job depicting the complexities of a crumbling marriage as well as moody teens. She still allows a great portrayal of family and friend support. Home Front is a great read and would facilitate an awesome book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book....it was ihteresting and another solid kristin hanah book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4