Customer Reviews for

Home Front

Average Rating 4.5
( 433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS DEFINITELY A 5 STAR BOOK/ A MUST READ

I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY RE...
I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY READING

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Great writer, but too sad.

I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I ...
I've had many of Kristen Hannah's previous books, and I find the same thing over and over again, they're just too sad for me to get through. I read books to "escape" from the real world, but instead, I find myself crying and feeling really sad while reading Hannah. I know a good author makes you feel the emotions, and I keep reading Kristen Hannah because I do love the way she writes, but Home Front and her last release were just entirely too sad for me to read. I need feel good books, but if you don't mind sobbing through a story, then you seriously will love Kristen Hannah. I believe she's a great author, just not necessarily for me.

posted by 5571664 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS DEFINITELY A 5 STAR BOOK/ A MUST READ

    I GOT THE BOOK FRIDAY AT 10:00 PM & BY 4:00 AM I WAS FINISHED. (YES I KNOW GET A LIFE LOL ) BUT IT WAS A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. WAS WORTH THE MONEY BECAUSE AS LONG AS I'M ENJOYING IT I DON'T CARE WHAT IT COSTS. SO IF U WANT A KEEPER TREAT YOUR SELF. HAPPY READING

    34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Keep the tissues close by!

    This book was a wonderful read! It is so perfect for the non-military people to see what our military families sacrifice for our freedom.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    CAPTIVATING!!

    This is one of the best books I have read!! It was like a movie unfolding through the pages of a book. I am a soldier's wife. I understand some of the things in this book, like the seperation. My husband came home. He is ok and well..... I cried through the entire book.... Maybe because I can relate to the characters. We have friends who suffer from PTSD. It is real, and some of the outcomes were not good. I highly recommend this book!!!! You won't be sorry you read it!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    AWESOME

    Hard to put down beginning to end! I laughed & cried all at the same time several times.
    DEFINATE 5 STARS!!!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Kristan hannah writes emotional, moving and educational books. I learned alot, never fully realized the hardships and sacrifices of the military families.... great characters, pertinent complex real life situations....
    kristan hannah has not disappointed us ...another great book by our favorite author!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Loved it

    This story I am sure hits home with many military families. I loved the trials and struggles that were unfortunately true to life! I did need a few tissues but loved every word. This story starts to show the ugly side of war, and the effect it has on the families. GOD BLESS AMERICA AND OUR TROOPS!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    AWESOME READ!

    This is the BEST Kristin Hannah book I've read. Will be recommending to everyone.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book made me laugh, cry, appreciate our military in a whole new way, and cherish my family and friends. I can not explain all the different feelings I encountered reading this book. BRAVO Kristin Hannah! This is truly a great read. It would make a terrific movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Excellent book, good representation of the "home front" battle

    As a young army wife, I was eager to read this book having just survived a very long year with my husband being deployed to Afghanistan. This book was hard to read, but in a good way if that makes sense. Kristin Hannah's portrayal of pre-deployment, deployment, and the after math that follows upon their return is a pretty accurate depiction. This book is absolutely lovely, beginning to end. I was in tears one moment and laughing the next. I love her emphasis on the real truth of PTSD, even if it was in an extreme case, and the effects it has on our heroes coming home. Read this, if not for a feel good family story, but for some small insight into the struggles 1% of Americans face so that you could have your freedom.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Role reversal: Joleen & Tammy are deployed to Iraq. The hus

    Role reversal: Joleen & Tammy are deployed to Iraq. The husbands are taking on new roles with the domestic duties plus their careers & the wives lives are at risk every moment. This is a grueling peek into the “uglies” of war and what our troops are dealing with in their lives. This is a wonderful but bittersweet lesson in life that I am glad I read it but it’s not one I will read again. This isn’t one of my favorite Kristin Hannah stories, but exquisite in all else

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I've read other Kristin Hannah books and enjoyed them, but I think this is her best book by far. I learned a lot about PTSD. I did cry often while reading it, but it wasn't that it was so sad, it just made FEEL. And the funny parts about dealing with kids touched me, too. I live on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington state, so I could identify visually with those scenes in the book. This is the kind of book that I wanted to finish so I could see how it ended, but also didn't want it to end because I didn't want to be done with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Just the facts

    This is a great read. I like books that make me think and this one, as do all Kristin Hannah books, rose to the occasion. I agree with another reviewer that people tell too much of the story in reviews, so YES read it. In fact I avoid reading the book jacket because they tell so much of the story. Can't wait for the next Hannah book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Incredible

    Powerful book loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Michael and Jolene's marriage is falling a part.  Neither seems

    Michael and Jolene's marriage is falling a part.  Neither seems to understand the other.  Michael is a defense attorney who works long hours, often breaking promises to be there for his family.  Jolene is in the Guard, a job that saved her life after tragedy, providing friends and family.  Her family at homes doesn't understand how important her job is to her.  On top of this Jolene has two daughters that she is often raising alone since Michael is so busy with his job.  Then Michael drops a bomb on Jolene.  He tells her he doesn't love her anymore.  The next day she is deployed to fight in a war that Michael doesn't believe in and her girls don't understand just when her marriage is falling apart.  Michael must step in and balance his job and his family.  Jolene must go to war; their lives change forever.  But war is hard.  No one imagined how hard it would be.




    It isn't possible to describe how much I loved this book.  There is no description that can possibly capture the growth and emotion present in this book.  Michael starts off selfish and Jolene seems a bit too perfect.  But as time progresses, each character must face their own demons.  It doesn't happen quickly, nor is it easy.  The description of a military family felt dead-on.  My family was a military family and it all felt so real.  There's such a tension for those in the military.  There's a pull to be there for your family and do your job for your country.  Kids don't quite understand that and Ms. Hannah captured that perfectly.  The raw emotion present can certainly bring tears.  Not only are their marital issues but there is much tragedy and sadness.  The entire family changes in the end.




    I was reading this when we first moved into the new place.  Stuff was everywhere and we had to get up early to pick up more furniture.  But I stayed up until 5 am  reading this the bathtub (water was so cold!) because I just couldn't put it down.  It's that good.




    Overall, this is such a great book.  Everyone should read it.  Even if it doesn't sound like it's your cup of tea, it is.  It really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Absolutely loved this novel!

    I have never read anything from Kristin Hannah before but I am now hooked. I was so compelled to keep reading until I finished this book. You gain a real perspective and respect for those military families and all their sacrifices they provide for our country. Very well written and since I have purchased four more of her novels for my "Nook" library!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Great read.

    Had trouble putting this book down. Kept me in suspense most of the time. Wasn't sure how it would end. Gave a little insight of what families go through when a loved one serves our country in the military.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    Im the type of reader who needs a book to draw me in from page 1. This book does just that. I absolutely loved it just as all the kristin hannah books ive read. True that if you dont like emotionally moving books, this book is probably not for you but if you love abook that has adoring characters, then you are sure to love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    ANONYMOUS

    Excellent book,in fact I feel it is the best book Kristin Hannah has written yet and I have read most all of her books,and everyone was a very good read,it is well worth the money and I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Love this book!

    I could not put it down. Such a touching story, and it was definitely realistic! It' s a must read. Kristin Hannah is a great writer, and I plan to read more of her books in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Book, Difficult to Read

    This is a well-written book on a topic that should be of interest to everyone. I personally, found it difficult to read, because my father was killed in WWII when I was 4 years old. The story line is painful and while many may feel that it comes out OK in the end, being a pacifist, I can't agree. If you can stomach war and the disaster it is on the military and families, then you may well love this book. The writing, as with all Kristin Hannah's books, is excellent, very real, breathtaking, heart-slamming REAL. If you want to go to war vicariously, or to a military hospital to salvage a loved one; then this is the book for you. For me, it was everything that I never wanted to think about let alone read in grim detail. For me, it should have carried a warning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15