Customer Reviews for

Home Lost (Clarion of Destiny Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Terrific story, bad editing, but worth it

This was a really terrific story. Very interesting, well-developed plot with complex twists, suspense, and even really good flashbacks. Characters were likeable, real, and compelling: honorable people who tried hard to do the right thing even when they had been treated...
This was a really terrific story. Very interesting, well-developed plot with complex twists, suspense, and even really good flashbacks. Characters were likeable, real, and compelling: honorable people who tried hard to do the right thing even when they had been treated badly. Really engaging read. The one drawback to this story, and one that makes me hesitate to buy the others, is that there were a lot of small copyediting and typographical errors throughout the book. Although the writing overall was good and sophisticated so I could forget I was reading something written by an author, rather than watching the story unfold, I'd be rudely and frequently reminded by encountering these errors. Often, the wrong word was used (like 'sight' instead of 'site'), which changed the meaning; punctuation was bad in a lot of places (lots of missing apostrophes and commas, for example); spelling was mangled here and there;and lots more. Normally, this many errors would cause me to walk away, but this was good enough that I read all 497 pages in spite of the distraction, and wanted more of them. Wish I could proof this for the author just so I'd be able in future to read the stories without the drawback of the disruptive editing flaws! Hate to pay for a book that might have just as many.

posted by 8210995 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh.

I like the story but he has a very elementary writing style and horrible grammer/punctuation. This goes for the whole series.

posted by 9884816 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Fantastic fantasy novel!

    This was a great read! The reader is pulled in right from the prologue and can't put it down! The main character, Leena, is chosen by a magical tree to get the Garlan branch: a powerful wand. Thus begins a chain of events that sends Leena on a perilous journey north to find the Great Wizard. Along the way she meets a number of fantastic characters, allies and enemies alike! The characters are all well developed and it is clear that the author put a great deal of thought into the plot and the backstory as well. Leena is still young and untrained and the reader gets to watch her grow and mature as the novel progresses. McLaren paints a beautiful world and the reader can just immerse themselves in it. I felt like I was shivering along with Leena in the cold. Home Lost, the first novel in the Clarion of Destiny series, ended with a satisfying conclusion, but - as any good book in a series does - left the reader wanting more. I highly recommend this book and can't wait to start the next one!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Great read, you'll finish it in no time.

    I really enjoyed this volume of Clarion of Destiny. Some complain there is too much back story, or its mostly Darius telling his story, but so what? Darius had a great story. I'm half way through the second book, To Save Elderon, and I'm very glad to have heard Darius' story.

    I'd recommend this to anyone. It doesn't get bogged down in details and stuff that just doesn't matter - it gets to the point and keeps the pace going.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I was swallowed up in this imaginative ADVENTURE!!

    This is volume 1 of an 8 volume adventure. I was unabashedly carried away into his warm and magical adventure.. Mclaren's character development, imagination and adventurous tale became a passion.........and I am waiting to pounce on his next volume.. I devoured volume 1 and 2 - he has just released volume 3........at smashbooks (it has to go through a stringent review process before it is released to Barnes and Nobel--I am a Nook reader)............and I am anxiously awaiting it's release. He is currently editing book 4. How do I know, because he responded to my email........(how wonderful!) and filled me in. Obviously, his story and writing style really appealed to me. Good BUY!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Two thumbs up!

    Great first book...just bought the second and cant wait to get started! There were some typos, etc but to me didnt distract from the story. I am hooked as i was with Jordans Wheel of Time series...i hope the next books continue to achieve the interest of the first!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    GREAT Read!

    This is a great read. Highly imaginative and the writing transports you to the author's world. I could NOT put this book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Bluestar

    I am going to stop rping im sorry. Bye forever! *Bluestar dissaperes.*

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great read

    Loved this book. Very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Lovedthisbook

    Very interesting, story within story, without the confusion. Cant wait to read more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I liked this alot

    I thought I read most of everyone's fantasy series- this author is new to me. What a nice find! I will buy more of them as they make their way here. More Barnes and Noble more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Great read! Ends rather abruptly, but for a free read, this works. I will have to buy the rest of the book to find out how it ends. I was given almost 500 pages to 'sample' before purchasing and, in my book, you can't beat that!

    Was reading along, thoroughly enjoying the story, character depth, and easy flow when I turned the page and OMG!...no more words, no warning, no 'The End', no nothing!! Did not even mention a sequel or hint at where one could find 'the rest of the story'! There IS more. isn't there? Hope so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    super good book.

    i couldn't put this one down. it held my attention all the way to the end. i can't wait to read more of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Mind=BLOWN

    Okay, because it is currently 11:20ish PM here, I'll keep it short.


    Awesome storyline, great editing, meeeep length-200+ pages is short for me-compelling characters...just about the only person-er, people-I don't get are the Great Wizard and a certain traveling companion. You readers know who! Yeah...

    Rosechaaan uses larger words when exhausted...

    Imagotosleepnao...

    Meeeeeeeeeeeeeep...

    zzzzzzzzzzzzz...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    This book was great! The story catches your imagination and keeps it. I read this book in one day and then bought the next four. I will get the rest next payday! This book is very well written. The author write's in such a way that the story just floos in your mind. You will find your self wraped up in this book and time will fly by! This is a great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Deadleaf's den

    He marks a large cave with plenty of room, pathways, and hollows. It has room for another bear and a cub or two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    a Must Read,a great adventure about a 16 year old girl that needs to save her family and the world

    this is a great story,but you must get the other books to see what happens,i'm on the second one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Have to read it

    The best book you will ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Darkflame

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Stormpaw

    *urrs*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    I just wanted to check out a book...amd i see two people having sex!!!! That's nasty

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great free book

    Certainly an enjoyable beginning to another fantasy series! I am ready to continue reading about Leena, her quest to save her family, and her friends she meets along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4