Customer Reviews for

Home Safe

Average Rating 3
( 644 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(102)

1 Star

(107)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This is the author, Elizabeth Berg

reminding readers that neither editor nor author forgot the date of 9/11. The text reads that Tom's WEDDING was planned for Saturday, September 15th. And now, as this is my book, I'll give it five stars. My books are like my children, so I'm sure you'll understand the i...
reminding readers that neither editor nor author forgot the date of 9/11. The text reads that Tom's WEDDING was planned for Saturday, September 15th. And now, as this is my book, I'll give it five stars. My books are like my children, so I'm sure you'll understand the impulse.

posted by writerEB on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Home Safe - A safe and predictable story

A disappointing read with cliched characters, a flat plot , and a not-unexpected ending. Woman becomes widow, realizes she can't do anything for herself, endlessly nags her grown daughter to "find a man", and then "finds herself" by teaching a writing class. The main ch...
A disappointing read with cliched characters, a flat plot , and a not-unexpected ending. Woman becomes widow, realizes she can't do anything for herself, endlessly nags her grown daughter to "find a man", and then "finds herself" by teaching a writing class. The main character was annoying, her daughter sounded like a 10-year-old, and the story lines resolved in the most predictable ways.

Read "Durable Goods" or "Talk Before Sleep" for better works by this author.

posted by The-Good-Peasant on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Home Safe - A safe and predictable story

    A disappointing read with cliched characters, a flat plot , and a not-unexpected ending. Woman becomes widow, realizes she can't do anything for herself, endlessly nags her grown daughter to "find a man", and then "finds herself" by teaching a writing class. The main character was annoying, her daughter sounded like a 10-year-old, and the story lines resolved in the most predictable ways.

    Read "Durable Goods" or "Talk Before Sleep" for better works by this author.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    This is the author, Elizabeth Berg

    reminding readers that neither editor nor author forgot the date of 9/11. The text reads that Tom's WEDDING was planned for Saturday, September 15th. And now, as this is my book, I'll give it five stars. My books are like my children, so I'm sure you'll understand the impulse.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Feel Good Book!

    Berg just has a great way of writing - she drew me in. I love her writing about a writer and it made me want to talk to her to see if she had ever had periods where she couldn't she write, and how she overcame it, etc, etc.

    This is definitely a feel good book and I'm tempted to call it a coming of middle age book. Interesting how the story unfolds and how it ends (no, I wont' spoil it for you!) But I really recommend this book. Especially if you are a Berg fan already, this one won't disappoint!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    Loved it!

    This was a terrific read: a mystery, a romance, and an elegant exploration of the process of writing and the nature of creativity. It's something I'll recommend to others.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Nice, Easy Read

    Just like its title promises, Home Safe by Elizabeth Berg is a comfy, pleasant, and not too challenging read. A widowed author deals with writer's block while navigating life alone. She has to learn how to handle household chores, finances and parenting without the man she can only remember as perfect. But just as she is settling into her quiet, lonely life a secret is revealed that sets her on a new, uncomfortable path.
    What makes this novel interesting is the relationships, particularly the parent-child dynamic between the main character and her grown daughter. Who is taking care of whom and why? Who needs a better job and who needs a date? Where is the line between caring and meddling? Navigating this relationship is the ultimate goal for both.
    Home Safe starts off a little sappy as we see life through the widow's eyes. Her life was idyllic, her marriage wonderful, her husband a saint. But helped by a colorful mix of characters she begins to wake from that fog to see reality, past and present. The book gets more interesting as her story becomes more realistic.
    This is a good book for a lazy weekend or a long flight. It won't stir your soul or call you to arms. You won't really learn anything, but you will be entertained.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A must-read touching story!!

    You'll definitely enjoy this beautifully written tale of love, loss, identity, and the intricate bond between a mother and daughter. It tells the story of middle-aged author, Helen Ames, who's grieving the sudden death of her overly-protective husband. Turning to her adult daughter for help with everyday life's challenges puts a strain on their relationship and creates problems. Helen is dismayed when she finds herself unable to write and has to put her writing career on hold. To make matters worse, her late-husband had withdrawn a large portion of their retirement account for unknown reasons, making it necessary for her to find another job. As the story unfolds, she begins her unsteady journey from dependency to learning to cope on her own.

    Ms. Berg is wonderfully descriptive in her storytelling. She is incredibly gifted in her ability to conjure scenes and express emotions that I could actually experience with the characters. Her storyline was very captivating, from the first page to the last. I thoroughly enjoyed the enlightening insider's view of the realities of being a writer. Also, there's a lot of wisdom to be gained in the poignant, evolving relationship between Helen and her daughter. I absolutely loved this engaging book and I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Very disappointing and contrived

    As a writer whose husband died unexpectedly, I picked this book up because I, too, suffered an entire year not being able to write anything. However, an intelligent woman, with money, would not fail to see her own dependence and interference with others' lives, and certainly wouldn't be blind to her husband's other life.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    you need to read this book

    good book. read it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    I liked it

    A poignant story of feelings, dreams, mistakes and resolution.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the worst book I have read

    The book was slow to get into. The book also did not resolve what I felt needed to be resolved in the end. The summary of the book left me high hopes that did not quite materalize. I will try more from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    True to form, Elizabeth Berg!

    Another great book by Elizabeth Berg. Her writing style is so easy to read and her characters are just like people you know. Helen's feelings of being unsettled and clinging to her child after the loss of her husband ring true to anyone who has been in Helen's shoes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Always a fan!

    Another great Berg read~

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the read

    I read this book over a weekend. Elizabeth Berg's books are always this way--so wonderfully written and engaging and absorbing. You invest in her characters and the books, though they are so much more about character and feeling and the human experience than about action and conflict, somehow read like page turners. As always, more than once I read passages in her books that are so profoundly true to life that I feel moved by a sentence or a perfect phrase, somehow so insightful. She is the greatest writer of women's lives and feelings I have ever read. I loved how this novel seemed to provide us little "meta" glimpses into her own autobiographical experiences of being a writer. It's hard not to assume that some of Helen's feelings on writing, writer's block, and the business of writing are Elizabeth's own. There were a couple plot devices that were perhaps a little too coincidental or well-timed, but I didn't mind in the least, because they added such interest. What I love most and remember most about E.B.'s books is not the action of the story as much as how I felt while reading it -- how her power of observation provides such insight. Elizabeth, if you ever read these reviews: ignore the Margot Langley's! You can't begin to imagine how much your books mean to many of us. This one was so wonderful and I'm truly grateful for her as a writer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Relatible, enjoyable read

    Many relationship aspects. Well written. Great section describing the joy of reading and books and bookstores.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Love everything she writes

    She never lets me down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Mixed Feelings

    I did not like the characters, but I continued to read. It was as if I was waiting for something. Perhaps I related more to the main character's struggle than I would care to admit. Even if that were the case, this novel felt incomplete. It just fell short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    very disappointed. Don't waste your money

    very disappointed. Don't waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Mckenna to jacob read

    Heyy babe ur locked out go to the next res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    This was awful. I can't believe Berg wrote it. I liked Range

    This was awful. I can't believe Berg wrote it. I liked Range of Motion and What We Keep and I can't believe the same author wrote this boring book. I couldn't form any attachment to the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Christina

    This is Kitchen. Go to next result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33