Customer Reviews for

Home for a Spell (Bewitching Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice easy read

Great beach book. This book has less supernatural and witchy interest than previous books. More attention was given to the blooming relationship than to dark currents of the town. I hope the next book reveals more of what is happening to the town.

posted by 18081245 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series,

So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series, I feel like Alt is running out of steam. This isn't an issue for me since all authors go through this with lengthy series, which I think is why trilogies are becoming popular with writers. That being said,...
So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series, I feel like Alt is running out of steam. This isn't an issue for me since all authors go through this with lengthy series, which I think is why trilogies are becoming popular with writers. That being said, I have faith that Alt will bring back all of the charm of her earlier books in her next installment.

But this raises the question: Where the heck is Book 8?

posted by KTinNY on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series,

    So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series, I feel like Alt is running out of steam. This isn't an issue for me since all authors go through this with lengthy series, which I think is why trilogies are becoming popular with writers. That being said, I have faith that Alt will bring back all of the charm of her earlier books in her next installment.

    But this raises the question: Where the heck is Book 8?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Love the series

    I really love this series, the characters are great! I wish the next book would be released, it seems like forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Madelyn Alt creates wonderful light reads. Her books captivate you and keep you turning the pages well into the night. I don't feel like I need a degree to read them.

    On the other hand she weaves together whit, smiles and laughter within the prose of each page. Keeping you on your toes as everything starts coming together.

    She has successfully researched the "Earth Faiths" and portrays them correctly and gently within her books. It is very nice to see "others" being acknowledged without fear and with being gentle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    nice easy read

    Great beach book. This book has less supernatural and witchy interest than previous books. More attention was given to the blooming relationship than to dark currents of the town. I hope the next book reveals more of what is happening to the town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Wait for paperback edition, don't waist your money on hardback.

    This series started out with a bang for me. The first five books looked very promising and exciting. However, the last two have left me very disappointed. I was hoping to see Maggie excel with her powers, a little more steamey romance between her and Marcus, and a mystery that you can't solve after reading the first three or four chapters. I know this author has it in her as she has proved it time and time again, but I won't be so quick to run out and buy the new hardcover editions as I have been, anytime soon. I'll wait for paperbacks until I'm sure I don't feel like I'm wasting $25.00.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A little disappointed....

    I have been a fan of this series since the beginning and love the light atmosphere the author creates. However, at this point, I expected Maggie's abilities to really be shining through, and I didn't feel that she progressed at all in this story. Not only that, but to be an "intuitive," she's not very, and in fact sometimes seems a little slow on the uptake. I enjoy the storytelling, but hopefully future installments will heat up, not only the witchcraft, but especially the intimacy level between our two main characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the Bewitching Mysteries series!

    Home for a Spell (A Bewitching Mystery) is Madelyn Alt's latest offering in the Bewitching Mystery series. It picks up a short time after A Witch In Time (A Bewitching Mystery) ended. We find Maggie, still with a cast on her leg, happily cohabiting with Marcus and hoping things in Stony Mill have started to calm down. Of course, things haven't calmed down--that wouldn't make much of a story, would it?

    So, when the lives of those around Maggie start to change and impact her own, she sees it as a sign to affect some change for herself. Fearing that she is holding Marcus back, she decides to find a new apartment that is accessible for her while still in a cast. Naturally, the apartment manager, a creepy little man to begin with, ends up murdered and Maggie ends finding his body. The mystery that follows isn't complicated, but there is a bit of a surprise at the end. What I liked about this book, and the whole series for that matter, is Maggie's personal growth. She's come a long way from the first book, where whisperings of her power made her uncomfortable, to a place where she is trusting her instincts, for the most part, and is even broadening her horizons into the world of the supernatural.

    One thing I've noticed in the more recent offerings in the series is the lack of supernatural. In fact, at one point Maggie mentions this & Marcus responds that once summer is over & the veil thins, things will change. I'm hoping that this is a bit of foreshadowing on Alt's part because I really enjoy the supernatural aspects of the series. I think that the lack of supernatural events, however, have actually encouraged Maggie to use and develop her gifts, perhaps because she'll need them in the books to come?

    Home for a Spell (A Bewitching Mystery) is another great addition to the Bewitching Mysteries series. I love Maggie & I especially love Marcus & can't wait to see how things develop in the future.

    Follow me as readerbarbara at blogspot dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Better than #6, But Losing Ground

    Since I was so disappointed with #6, I immediately dove into #7. I think the mystery in this book was more interesting than the previous book, although very predictable, but still, the book does not seem to have the same fire as previous books. There isn't much I can say about the book itself, but I do hope the series returns to its former glory. I'm going to hand on for one more book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This whimsical amateur sleuth small town urban fantasy mystery is pure magic

    Stony Mill, Indiana is a charming small town known as the antiques capital of the Midwest. It used to be a quiet place where nothing major occurred, but in the last year a string of murders unconnected to each other has occurred. Maggie O'Neill, who works at the Enchantments antique shop, is an empath who channels her Spirit Guides and at times casts a magick spell. Her lover Marcus Quinn and her boss Felicity "Liss" Dow are experienced with the paranormal arts.

    Maggie lives with Marcus since she broke her ankle and needs his help to get around. When she realizes he is going to delay attending college to take care of her, she decides to move into her own place. Maggie gets a good deal on a rental but when they go to sign the lease, they find the complex manager dead in the pool. Using Marcus' mundane skills and Maggie's arcane gifts, they work with the police to find out what was on a flash drive and a hard drive that was smashed to smithereens. What they learn explains why he was murdered, but who the perpetrator is remains blank.

    This whimsical amateur sleuth small town urban fantasy mystery is pure magic as is the overall series (see A Witch In Time). Maggie has matured considerably in the past year as she has learned to love her skills rather than rue having them. The murder is believable and the characters ring true. However, Home for a Spell belongs to the lead couple as the author casts a spellbinder of a tale on enchanted readers.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Okay

    This series of books is okay. Not bad, not good. I feel they could be better written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Fun

    Was a tad boring at first but then was a very cute read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Love the series! But such a fellow Hoosier

    I love your series Madelyn! You clearly did your homework on "witchy" ways and seem to get "it".

    But there is a happy place between being a "Hoosier" and Fifty Shades" when it comes to Marcus. Go ahead and jump off the cliff a bit.

    You have wondered a bit from the spiritual goings on. Would like to "see" more of that back. Maybe a fun trip to Shipshawanna? Or the Notre Dame???? Of course I am a Boiler and I am sure the N.I.G.H.T.S would have a blast in Tippicanoe County! (The Tippicanoe Batttlefield)

    I am looking forward to the next one. I just love mind-candy!

    Best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    fun, fast reading, with wit and laughter

    this was a fun book to read, it carries the series on quiet nicely. its a pretty quick read but it is entertaining along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Disappointed

    I have read all of Madelyn Alt's books in the Bewitched series and this one wasn't worth my time. I was very disappointed in the story and will no longer continue reading this series. I think the author needs to drop this series and try something else. This book felt forced to be finished and I couldn't wait for it to be over. I have now switched to author Juliet Blackwell who offers more magik and a better story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Read it

    I am a big fan of this series. I love Maggie and especially with Marcus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    In Alt’s mystery novel, Maggie is back at work with her br

    In Alt’s mystery novel, Maggie is back at work with her broken ankle still in a cast. A lot is going on from her best friend preparing to leave town, to her boyfriend Marcus working and preparing to go to school to her desire to find new lodging. With some help from Marcus’ Uncle Lou, Maggie finds a new dream home that quickly turns into a nightmare when the creepy apartment manager is found murdered before she can sign the lease. But what’s worse, Maggie finds herself knee deep in the search for a new home and a very clever killer on the loose and determined to stay that way.

    The character of Maggie continues to mature while never once losing her sense of humor. Charmingly spooky, a true page-tuner that will keep readers wondering if something lurks in the darkness beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yawnnnn

    Dry and dissapointing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A little disappointed in this book.

    I have just discovered this series this summer and have now read all the books. A Wiccan myself and a mystery lover this series hit the spot. I love the characters, but found the latest book a little slow. I was also looking forward to more romance between Maggie and Marcus. This series would make a great TV series. Has anyone pitched it to a network?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A big disappointment

    Even though I was less than happy with the 6th book in this series, I preordered this book for my Nook and couldn't wait for it to come out. I was terribly disappointed. No magic, no mystery, no romance. The book was nothing more than a constant repetition of facts. Something would happen, Maggie would tell Marcus, and then the whole story would be repeated to the police, or Lis or whomever. There was nothing of substance in the entire book. I actually couldn't wait to finish it, not to see who the murderer was because that was very obvious from early on in the story, but just so I could read another book. This series started out with a bang and really captured my attention, but quite honestly, I think the last two books in this series were timewasters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Buy this book!

    Note: This review originally appeared in The Season E-Zine's January mystery section. Reading one of Madelyn Alt's books is like spending time in the company of a good friend. Her prose is witty yet comfortable, her dialogue is natural and funny, and her characters are so perfectly developed you finish the story feeling like you know them personally. Maggie makes for a winsome heroine and an engaging narrator. Her boss and confidante, Felicity "Liss" Dow, is so warm and charismatic that you'll find yourself longing to quit your job and go work for her yourself. And Maggie's boyfriend, oh-so-sexy bad-boy-with-a-heart-of-gold Marcus Quinn is hands-down one of the best series love interests I've read to date. The relationships Alt has created between her characters are marvelous, as well. The deep friendship between Maggie and Liss, the tender yet smoldering romance between Maggie and Marcus, Maggie's uneasy relationship with occult-adverse ex-boyfriend Tom - all are perfectly realized on the page. The mystery in Home for a Spell is creepy, twisty, and expertly constructed. Granted, it's a bit smaller in scale than in some of Alt's previous novels, but that's not a bad thing. Because there isn't a huge cast of characters to keep track of and Maggie and Marcus are smack in the middle of everything that's happening, the book has a great sense of urgency and immediacy that makes the book difficult to put down (I should know - I read the entire thing in one sitting!). The only reason I didn't give this book a Perfect Ten is that I wasn't entirely sure Alt earned her ending. Don't get me wrong - the climax of the book is fabulous and includes a twist I totally didn't see coming; when all was said and done, however, I felt that maybe the twist was just a tad too far out of left field. That's a minor criticism, however, and one that should not in any way discourage you from running right out and buying yourself a copy of Home for a Spell. I adored this book, and plan to heartily recommend it to all of my friends who are cozy readers. And while you're at it, do yourself a favor and pick up the rest of the books in Alt's Bewitching Mysteries - I can't imagine many better ways to start the New Year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5