Customer Reviews for

Home for a Spell (Bewitching Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice easy read

Great beach book. This book has less supernatural and witchy interest than previous books. More attention was given to the blooming relationship than to dark currents of the town. I hope the next book reveals more of what is happening to the town.

posted by 18081245 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series,

So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series, I feel like Alt is running out of steam. This isn't an issue for me since all authors go through this with lengthy series, which I think is why trilogies are becoming popular with writers. That being said,...
So as much as I love Maggie and the Bewitching Mysteries series, I feel like Alt is running out of steam. This isn't an issue for me since all authors go through this with lengthy series, which I think is why trilogies are becoming popular with writers. That being said, I have faith that Alt will bring back all of the charm of her earlier books in her next installment.

But this raises the question: Where the heck is Book 8?

posted by KTinNY on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    nice easy read

    Great beach book. This book has less supernatural and witchy interest than previous books. More attention was given to the blooming relationship than to dark currents of the town. I hope the next book reveals more of what is happening to the town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the Bewitching Mysteries series!

    Home for a Spell (A Bewitching Mystery) is Madelyn Alt's latest offering in the Bewitching Mystery series. It picks up a short time after A Witch In Time (A Bewitching Mystery) ended. We find Maggie, still with a cast on her leg, happily cohabiting with Marcus and hoping things in Stony Mill have started to calm down. Of course, things haven't calmed down--that wouldn't make much of a story, would it?

    So, when the lives of those around Maggie start to change and impact her own, she sees it as a sign to affect some change for herself. Fearing that she is holding Marcus back, she decides to find a new apartment that is accessible for her while still in a cast. Naturally, the apartment manager, a creepy little man to begin with, ends up murdered and Maggie ends finding his body. The mystery that follows isn't complicated, but there is a bit of a surprise at the end. What I liked about this book, and the whole series for that matter, is Maggie's personal growth. She's come a long way from the first book, where whisperings of her power made her uncomfortable, to a place where she is trusting her instincts, for the most part, and is even broadening her horizons into the world of the supernatural.

    One thing I've noticed in the more recent offerings in the series is the lack of supernatural. In fact, at one point Maggie mentions this & Marcus responds that once summer is over & the veil thins, things will change. I'm hoping that this is a bit of foreshadowing on Alt's part because I really enjoy the supernatural aspects of the series. I think that the lack of supernatural events, however, have actually encouraged Maggie to use and develop her gifts, perhaps because she'll need them in the books to come?

    Home for a Spell (A Bewitching Mystery) is another great addition to the Bewitching Mysteries series. I love Maggie & I especially love Marcus & can't wait to see how things develop in the future.

    Follow me as readerbarbara at blogspot dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Fun

    Was a tad boring at first but then was a very cute read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Love the series! But such a fellow Hoosier

    I love your series Madelyn! You clearly did your homework on "witchy" ways and seem to get "it".

    But there is a happy place between being a "Hoosier" and Fifty Shades" when it comes to Marcus. Go ahead and jump off the cliff a bit.

    You have wondered a bit from the spiritual goings on. Would like to "see" more of that back. Maybe a fun trip to Shipshawanna? Or the Notre Dame???? Of course I am a Boiler and I am sure the N.I.G.H.T.S would have a blast in Tippicanoe County! (The Tippicanoe Batttlefield)

    I am looking forward to the next one. I just love mind-candy!

    Best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    fun, fast reading, with wit and laughter

    this was a fun book to read, it carries the series on quiet nicely. its a pretty quick read but it is entertaining along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Read it

    I am a big fan of this series. I love Maggie and especially with Marcus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A little disappointed in this book.

    I have just discovered this series this summer and have now read all the books. A Wiccan myself and a mystery lover this series hit the spot. I love the characters, but found the latest book a little slow. I was also looking forward to more romance between Maggie and Marcus. This series would make a great TV series. Has anyone pitched it to a network?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Love this series!

    This is a great series. This book was a tad predictable but the whit and the dialogue make up for it mostly. I love the way Madelyn Alt develops her characters and the interactions between them. Wonderful LOL times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2