Customer Reviews for

Home for the Summer (Chesapeake Diaries Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    I am so in love with this series. This is book 5 and I am getti

    I am so in love with this series. This is book 5 and I am getting ready to jump in to book 6, although I am a little reluctant because this is the last book and I don't want it to end. I love the town of St Dennis and if it were real I would be packing my bags to move there. Everything about this series says "HOME". The characters are all fabulous even with their flaws, the places are all quaint and scream small town. The stories are so romantic and filled with all the things wonderful and annoying about small town life. This series is a definite to read if you are a fan of romance and Mariah Stewart has become my new favorite author. I am going to send a note to the author and beg for more. Wish me luck with that. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    read one, had the read the whole series, most enjoyable reading

    read one, had the read the whole series, most enjoyable reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Robin Book provided by NetGalley for review Review o

    Reviewed by Robin
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    As soon as Lucy was able to she left home and never looked back taking with her a secret she would rather keep locked away. Twenty years ago something happened that shook up Lucy’s safe little world and not wanting to ruin the lives of anyone she has kept it hidden. Although she never told she is always aware of what happened, carrying with her the secret and nightmares that go with it. In the process she makes excuses not to home back home to the small town and her families Inn. She also left behind her best friend Clay.

    Now twenty years later she is back at the Inn complete with nightmares. Feelings start to flood back for both her and Clay. What is she to do with the secret and her feelings for Clay? Her successful career as an event planner brings her back home. If she wants any kind of a future with Clay she must face the past.

    Ms. Stewart has a way of tackling difficult things in an easy manner that implies what happened, while being totally sensitive to the material. I really enjoyed this story of Clay and Lucy although at times I would have enjoyed more of their relationship then everything else that was happening all around them. I loved that she showed that no matter how much time goes between you and a friend that if that truly is your friend they tend to forgive showing that they cherish you a person.

    As she delves into the world of relationships, memories, secrets and love we find that you can’t help but realize that the richness of small community has its advantages. The warmth of small town living makes you feel that no matter what happened in the past there is always a way to overcome the fear that causes the nightmares if you only trust your family and those that have always been there for you. Ms. Stewart makes you care and become a part of the community. Even though the story doesn’t have a lot of depth it is still a wonderful read as you become a part of it while getting caught up in the lives of those that live St. Dennis and are chronicles in the Chesapeake Diaries taking you to a place where people care.

    I for one am looking forward to catching up with the others in St. Dennison the Chesapeake. I also look forward to many more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Summer Series

    #5 Chesapeake Diaries - I have read all the others in the series so was looking forward to hearing more about Lucy's past and her high school days. Some of Lucy Sinclair’s best days were those spent growing up in small town St. Dennis—working at the family inn and enjoying summers filled with swimming, sailing, tennis, and the company of Clay Madison, her best friend. But Lucy’s darkest day, the one that shattered her innocence with violence and fear, also happened in St. Dennis. And the town she once loved became the place she gladly left behind—along with the terrible secret she’s kept for twenty years. A good series and nice read. (love Grace and her diaries)!

    Looking forward to the new The Long Way Home, the next in the Chesapeake Diaries Series coming out the end of Jan, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There is a reason for Lucy Sinclair to stay away from her childh

    There is a reason for Lucy Sinclair to stay away from her childhood home in St. Dennis, it simply holds too many memories she wishes desperately to forget. It's also a reason she hasn't told anyone and doesn't plan on it if she can help it. If only the nightmares didn't keep her up all night and her mother didn't want her to come home for the holidays more. Being a successful wedding planner as a joint owner in her own company Shaefer & Sinclair, she stayed more than busy in her office in Los Angeles. Now after the biggest celebrity wedding she hosted for Dallas MacGregor in her hometown of St. Dennis, the phones were literally ringing off the hook with business.

    But things are going to get even more interesting as Lucy gets another big boost to her business when billionaire Robert Magellan wants the exact same wedding set up for her new bride Suzanna and he will spare no expense to ensure she has the true wedding of her dreams. Their's won't simply be a one day affair, they want a week long event and they want it all to take place at her family's historic inn in St. Dennis. Knowing she can't possibly turn down an opportunity this grand, Lucy does what she can to hop back and forth from L.A. to St. Dennis to attempt to coordinate this wedding. However Susanna isn't the type to deal with phone calls and emails. She wants the personal face to face contact with Lucy and she won't deal with anyone else.

    Now Lucy has to try and find some way to work through the many details of pulling together a wedding of a life time in only 5 short months while trying to manage her ever increasingly busy business back in L.A. Her partner Bonnie is now commuting to Sacramento to help her ailing ex-husband back to health and finds herself falling in love with him once more. Will Lucy be able to handle all the increasing work load on both coasts or will she have to find a way to cut something lose before she loses her sanity.

    In book 5 of The Chesapeake Diaries series by Mariah Stewart, Home for the Summer will require a balancing act for poor Lucy Sinclair of epic proportions to make her business a success and still give her elite clients exactly what they desire. Along the way, Lucy befriends her childhood friend, Clay Madison and soon finds that there is more there than simply friendship with someone she has grown up to respect and possibly love. But is that enough to warrant leaving her successful business in L.A.? Only time will tell as the romance continues to grow between some of the most wonderful characters in St. Dennis. If you haven't had the opportunity to pick up this series, may I suggest starting at the beginning with Coming Home? This is an unforgettable series and I for one am more than thrilled that Mariah is keeping this one going when most authors end a series after three books.

    I received Home For The Summer by Mariah Stewart compliments of Ballantine Books and TLC Book Tours for my honest review and the saddest part about her books is when you get to the last page. It's hard to let go of the characters you honestly come to love and get to know. From the always quirky Inn owner and editor of the St. Dennis Gazette Grace, to the fun-loving ice cream shoppe owner, Stef, you are just bound to connect to someone in this delightful and truly charming series. I personally rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and while it's not a stand alone book there is certainly enough given in the book, that you could read it as a first, but trust me you'll want to pick up the entire series! I absolutely LOVE it and highly recommend it! Now I'm am anxiously awaiting, the Long Way Home which is due out in January 2013!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Recommend this book as well as this series

    I have really enjoyed each book in this series and this one is no different. Learning about what happened to Lucy that forever changed her as well as learning about what is going on with the other characters was great. I am looking forward to more from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND READING

    FOR ANYONE WHO HAS FOLLOEED THE SERIES, IT HAS ALL THE USUAL CHARACTERS. THIS IS KIND OF LIKE THE FULL CIRCLE CULMINATION FOR LUCY SINCLARE. IT SI A DELIGHTFUL STORY WITH A HAPPY ENDING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    I loved the book as well as the other 4 in the series, keep them

    I loved the book as well as the other 4 in the series, keep them coming, enjoy reading about what is going on withall of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Donna

    I love the "Chesapeake" series. Very enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2