Customer Reviews for

Black Soft Bound Medium Journal

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

What I've always wanted and never found

... until now! This journal has a soft flexible leather cover, and the pages are glued securely into the rounded flexible spine. It's a whopping inch thick (no more of those teeny journals you have to replace all the time!), and best of all, the inside is graph paper!...
... until now! This journal has a soft flexible leather cover, and the pages are glued securely into the rounded flexible spine. It's a whopping inch thick (no more of those teeny journals you have to replace all the time!), and best of all, the inside is graph paper! Satisfies both my desire to have straight lines to draw, doodle, and box things neatly, but also fills my need for small lines to fit small handwriting. (5 squares/inch) Finally, a great alternative to blank unlined journals where I could write small but slanted all over the page.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It would be very helpful to list the SIZE of these journal refil

It would be very helpful to list the SIZE of these journal refills in order to purchase one and find out what I actually think of them. Do they come in ALL sizes or just one? Either way, list the size or sizes.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    What I've always wanted and never found

    ... until now! This journal has a soft flexible leather cover, and the pages are glued securely into the rounded flexible spine. It's a whopping inch thick (no more of those teeny journals you have to replace all the time!), and best of all, the inside is graph paper! Satisfies both my desire to have straight lines to draw, doodle, and box things neatly, but also fills my need for small lines to fit small handwriting. (5 squares/inch) Finally, a great alternative to blank unlined journals where I could write small but slanted all over the page.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Best Journal / Notebook Ever

    If you're in the market for a really simple but well made journal this is the one for you. The pages are graphed, great for writers, designers, sketch artists, even planning the floor design of your apt. My personal favorite feature of this book is that it lays flat and you don't have to break the spine to hold it down. Check it out!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    The only paper I will ever write on Period.

    This Book rules! It is cool and hot, and by hot, I mean totally sweet! I buy them for everyone that I don't want to see their thoughts lost. I am working on filling up my second one. It takes me five years to fill one up. The grid forces me to write small, and this translates to neater penmanship for me. I love it. The binding is evidently indestructible, I am not careful with it, I carry it everywhere, I fold the front cover to touch the back, I do not try to break the spine, but I don't try not to break the spine. These books can travel to heaven and back and look brand new. the only wear is the discoloring of the page edges from so much use. I love this book and you should too. They make great gifts for anyone who values words and ideas. My two journals are the two most valuable earthly possessions to me. If my whole house was burning and I could only save three things from the flames, my two journals would be all three things that I would save. Don't read other peoples books, write your own book. This is the only book review I have ever written. I just care so much about this journal. Just go out and buy this book, If you don't absolutely love it unconditionally, I will eat my hat! FIGURATIVELY!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Great value, durable.

    I love this journal. There are actually more than 500 pages; one of mine has 688.

    Pros: It's affordable enough per page to feel no hesitancy in just burning through pages, diagramming or writing big when you want, and leaving lots of white space. It's thick enough to be a sturdy writing surface. It's flexible enough to be comfortable and carry well. It's very durable. It's size is perfect.

    Cons: The new ones' grid lines are darker and more varied journal to journal, and don't fade out at the edge (for a nice clean look) anymore.

    Wishes: That B&N would also carry the other sizes, thicknesses and blank-pagers. This one's the best of them, tho. Return to even lighter grid lines.

    Because of it's value, feel, and durability, it's the one that I end up actually having around and using a lot.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Functional and tidy

    This is a very practical journal for people who want something that is functional for writing and not just pretty. The grid lines are great for keeping writing in a straight line and drawing pictures or graphs. It has lots of pages, too, which is a plus. I use this for venting, particularly when I'm frustrated at my husband, so I needed plenty of pages. :)

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    my little black book

    I feel a little silly writing a review about a journal... but this is an inspiring book/journal to me because I love graph paper. Perhaps I have a fetish over graph paper. It makes me want to draw and doodle... it reminds me of high school and college in a good way. And once a picture is drawn, then there must be words to accompany the picture. I love this book for my children for times when we travel. They write down thoughts, sometimes ask me to draw pictures to illustrate their words and it is something for them to look back on later. I will definately keep buying these journals.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    A big chunky thought tank.

    I've now burned up two of these great notebooks. They flex well and the spine holds up to all sorts of abuse. In between Miquelrius's I decided to try out a Moleskine. The wimpy spine was blown out on the Moleskine in about three months. I don't write like I'm possessed or anything, I use them to take notes in the field. My first took almost 3 years to fill up. The second is almost done now on it's second year. That's why I love these books, they hold up great. Oh and did I mention that the paper treats most pen tips nicely? And the paper seems somewhat resistant to finger fat for your gel rollers. I hope they don't stop producing this awesome notebook, I'm almost tempted to buy a case of them just in case!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Excellent Journal

    I've been using this journal for years. It's easy to use on the go. It has college-ruled graph lines, but light, so they don't get in the way. I write in one direction, turn it over, and then write in the other. It comes in black or red. It used to come in blue also, and I wish they'd start selling the blue again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy with Journal

    This journal is very well made. The large number of pages is really a plus.....more than other journals. The graphic paper does not inhibit writing and encourages the use of diagrams. Very good purchase.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This journal is just right. Plain and simple but at the same time bold, elegant and with lots of character, the cover mimics a leather like surface, it's not too small but big enough to make it unconfortable to carry around. The graph paper is just right to design or just sketch. It has like 400 pages on it... I love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Perfect in so many ways...

    I love this journal...I spent hours looking for a journal that was just right...and this is what my hard-work paid off with...This journal is perfect: Smaller than 'normal' lines, Graph Paper, Flexible binding, a ton of pages... PERFECT!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    I really enjoy using this journal. It is fantastic quality, and

    I really enjoy using this journal. It is fantastic quality, and the pages are amazingly smooth.
    With merely that review, it would be five stars. However, I wish to add that the cover is almost too flimsy. The leather is really smooth, but it is very thin. 
    In reality, I would say that it is more accurately a 4.5 star review, but alas that is not possible.

    The pages work with dip pens as well, which amazes me actually. Even though the pages are thin, the ink still does not bleed through like it does with some notebooks of lesser quality.

    So, even though I did not give this product a perfect review, I would still recommend it.

    I will probably even buy again!

    On the fence? Go ahead and get it. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    This is a nifty notebook! I didn't think I'd like the graph pape

    This is a nifty notebook! I didn't think I'd like the graph paper because I'm used to regular lines but I loved the graph paper! I wish it had a description with the measurements of the journal though. So I measured it myself. It's about 6 inches wide, 8 inches long, and 1 inch thick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    My Last Journal

    Like many other reviewers I have tried a number of different notebooks/journals. I use a fountain pen almost exclusively and the exploration for "fountain pen friendly" paper and that is reasonable AND have more than 48 pages is difficult. I did not have high hopes for this journal. Boy, was I wrong. There are some inks and some nibs that do not work all that well- feathering and bleed through can occur. However, I have hit upon several combinations that just work perfectly, allowing me to use both sides of the page without "echo" from the preceding page.The soft covers do present a challenge when writing on the left side of the gutter but I simply slide another book under the front cover for support; once in the middle, all is well. Just reverse the process when coming to the end. My hope is that this version and style will continue and that B & N will continue to carry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    A really nice journal

    Well made and truly economic journal that fits easily into traveling.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    It would be very helpful to list the SIZE of these journal refil

    It would be very helpful to list the SIZE of these journal refills in order to purchase one and find out what I actually think of them. Do they come in ALL sizes or just one? Either way, list the size or sizes.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I did a little review video on this but since B&N  dont allo

    I did a little review video on this but since B&N  dont allow links, you can look for it on youtube just search : "Review : miquel rius soft bound medium journal"

    I showed how it is inside and out and thoughts about it :) ... HOPE IT HELPS YOU DECIDE WHETHER YOU WANT TO PURCHASE THIS OR NOT! <3

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I LOVE these journals!! One, it's cheaper to buy them from B&

    I LOVE these journals!! One, it's cheaper to buy them from B&N by half than to buy them from the Miquelrius website. You'll also spend an arm and a leg in shipping from MR, but B&N knows what they're doing in keeping the customer happy and coming back for more. That said, the notebook itself is spectacular. I have a thing for thicker books and notebooks in general, and this one has more than enough writing space to accommodate my needs. I use it for just about everything... Writing notes for my own stories, random lists of goodness I want to remember, rough sketches for artwork, calligraphy, and it's excellent for drawing knitting/crochet charts. I literally just bought three more of these, one as a gift and two for myself to use specifically for calligraphy and one for knitting/crochet patterns, despite being nowhere near filling my first journal. If I have my way about it, this will be the only notebook I ever buy for regular use ever again. I wish I'd had one of these in college, as my notes would have been far more organized, hah!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    This is an amazing journal! The durability is great, and I am ve

    This is an amazing journal! The durability is great, and I am very rough with my notebook, but it always manages to retain its shape. I use it for EVERYTHING! From journaling to scribbling notes, to recipes.  I bought two at once because I was so impressed.  Definitely worth $10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great buy!

    Endless pages! I just it for calligraphy : )
    The paper is graph (perfect for daily practice!). I have experienced bleeding when I have been careless and pressed too hard with the dip pen.

    EXCELLENT!! (Mine has ~600 pages)...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3