Customer Reviews for

Book Cradle Book Holder and Stand

Average Rating 2.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, though meant for bigger books

I bought this for my grandma for her birthday since she likes to read during her lunch time and in bed at night. She said she loves it, and I like the feel of it, myself. When we tried it out with thicker books it worked great, but with thin things, such as magazines or...
I bought this for my grandma for her birthday since she likes to read during her lunch time and in bed at night. She said she loves it, and I like the feel of it, myself. When we tried it out with thicker books it worked great, but with thin things, such as magazines or pamphlets, it didn't work quite as well (the thin things sometimes would flop out.) This is a great gift for someone who loves to read but needs their hands for other things! I've also heard this is good to use while using cookbooks because it holds it up for you to see and you don't have to touch it with messy hands.

posted by 1408691 on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Useful but not perfect

There's a lot to love about the Book Cradle; it's light, handy, has an adjustable strap, and fold-out legs so that it can become a book stand as well as a book holder, it's designed to be left connected to whatever book one is reading, which limits the possibility of lo...
There's a lot to love about the Book Cradle; it's light, handy, has an adjustable strap, and fold-out legs so that it can become a book stand as well as a book holder, it's designed to be left connected to whatever book one is reading, which limits the possibility of losing it. With all that to recommend it, I still can't give it the highest marks. First it's designed to fit inside the spine of a book, which both means it's useless if you're reading a paperback, and attaching it to a hardback book causes me to wince in sympathetic pain for the book. It's flexible arms keep the pages open well, but because they are covered with rubber, they tend to leave little tears at the bottom of the pages. The folding legs are clever but the angle that they leave a book when it is standing upon them is too shallow for me to read comfortably. The Book Cradle's design is innovative, but requires more refinement to achieve greatness.

posted by Eridanus on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The best little book holder ever.

    I love this book holder. It fits regular novels, large paper-backs, and even text books. The poseable page holders can be adjusted to whatever position is most comfortable. The prongs in the back come in handy for hands-free reading. And the strap is perfect for one-handed reading. This book holder is just right all around. Give it as a gift for anyone who loves reading books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Useful but not perfect

    There's a lot to love about the Book Cradle; it's light, handy, has an adjustable strap, and fold-out legs so that it can become a book stand as well as a book holder, it's designed to be left connected to whatever book one is reading, which limits the possibility of losing it. With all that to recommend it, I still can't give it the highest marks. First it's designed to fit inside the spine of a book, which both means it's useless if you're reading a paperback, and attaching it to a hardback book causes me to wince in sympathetic pain for the book. It's flexible arms keep the pages open well, but because they are covered with rubber, they tend to leave little tears at the bottom of the pages. The folding legs are clever but the angle that they leave a book when it is standing upon them is too shallow for me to read comfortably. The Book Cradle's design is innovative, but requires more refinement to achieve greatness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Good, though meant for bigger books

    I bought this for my grandma for her birthday since she likes to read during her lunch time and in bed at night. She said she loves it, and I like the feel of it, myself. When we tried it out with thicker books it worked great, but with thin things, such as magazines or pamphlets, it didn't work quite as well (the thin things sometimes would flop out.) This is a great gift for someone who loves to read but needs their hands for other things! I've also heard this is good to use while using cookbooks because it holds it up for you to see and you don't have to touch it with messy hands.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    bookholder

    This looked like an absolutely great idea... until I actually tried to use it. The short piece that goes up into the spine of the book broke. I think it wasn't glued very well, but still the whole thing was rather fragile. I returned it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Book Cradle a Bit Cumbersome

    This cradle can sit on a desk or be held in your hand and has two rubber adjustable "fingers" that can be manipulated to hold the pages in place. For desktop use it's sturdy and doesn't take up a lot of space - it works great for this application. As a handheld device, it will keep your pages in place, but you have to learn how to turn pages to get around the rubber fingers -- not sure if it really accomplishes much compared to holding the book unaided. Not a bad buy, and as I said, works great on a desk or table. Very well made for a few dollars more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Book Cradle Book Holder

    This item does not work as advertised. It does not work with soft cover books. It only fits in the center of a hardcover book and the flexible arms will not stay in place to hold the pages. I was very disappointed with this product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Book Cradle Book Holder and Stand

    It works even better than I had hoped. Heavy books are easy to hold and it also works great for paperbacks. You can balance book (hands free) while you eat, etc. Great product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    The little piece in between the pages was cheaply glued on and b

    The little piece in between the pages was cheaply glued on and broke off the first time I used it. Do not buy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    I have used this book holder dozens of times and unfortunately g

    I have used this book holder dozens of times and unfortunately gave up trying to use it. It's simply below average on functionality. If you opt to use it, save your receipt from B&N.

    Pros:
    1. Light weight - no one wants a heavy books holder to add to the weight of trying to read a book.
    2. Aesthetically pleasing (for me anyway).
    3. Adjustable hand strap. Nice concept for the limited applications...but see below.

    Cons:
    1. The spine in the center rising up vertically is not adjustable. This creates a problem depending on the thickness of books you are trying to use with it. If your book is too thick for the holder, then you will end up digging into the books binding, or simply unable to use the holder at all.
    2. The fold out legs are too flimsy and short. This creates a problem if you have large books that require the arms to reach out further than they allow because they have to fold up and around the pages (think about beginning to read a book or ending a book - one side it a lot thicker than the other).
    3. Adjustable hand strap. Have you considered having only one hand available to flip down both adjustable arms, turn the page, and flip them back up....I didn't and it's simply ridiculous to try with one hand available? But if you think your dexterity is above average, then go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Very functional! I own a lot of Zelco items, and think they are

    Very functional!
    I own a lot of Zelco items, and think they are very well thought out, useful products. This item is no different. Very comfortable to hold, ergonomic design. I love that the "legs" flip out so you can use it hands-free. Easy to use. Well made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I love this item! It fits all types of books - even heavy textb

    I love this item! It fits all types of books - even heavy textbooks. Very comfortable to hold, and easy to use. Very useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    It was too fragile.  The center spine broke.  

    It was too fragile.  The center spine broke.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Didn't work - at all.

    The middle piece of hold the book kept coming off, everytime I tried to turn a page. Didn't work well for large books. Returned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Broke within seconds of opening the package!

    I took this product out of the packaging, placed a somewhat thick PAPERBACK book in the cradle as instructed, and the front vertical piece that holds the spine in place broke instantly. Not a bad concept actually but should not be made out of brittle plastic and super-glue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Not to great

    I barley got home and I was checking it out the first hour I bought it. I was siting on the floor and I moved my leg. That's when the right plastic leg to lean it back broke. Its not very durable and as I have told you not very sturdy. The stores are very far away from my house and its already a hasle now that I have to drive back to return it. Unless you read only small paperbacks I wouldn't advise you to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    Flimsy

    It worked tolerably well until the center piece which goes into the spine broke off. It is too light for thick hardbacks. It works best with paperbacks. This model should be either improved or removed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It works

    Four stars because it is the most decently price bookstand I could find. And it does the job too, my problem is I have a ridiculously thick Med-Surg textbook for school and it wasn't able to handle that too well. It offered good support although I am always scared that the legs would break, and the middle spine thing (that thing sticking out in the middle) did break on me, I kept the warranty info and all, but I chose to glue it back on myself than spend for shipping and the trouble. But if you don't have super thick books, I bet it would be perfect. I also like the book holder option, where you don't use the legs and just hold your book with its strap. And the bendy page holder (the fork-looking things), I like how I can adjust that to my needs. So bottomline, yes, this is a buy, don't waste your money on wire or cheap stands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    May I have my money back?

    Bought it to read in bed...waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Returned to the store...

    I am sorry to say that the book cradle book holder and stand that we purchased at the Barnes and Noble was returned. I bought it for my thirteen year old daughter for her hardcover stories that she is reading. She lets me know that the stories can be heavy at times when they are 600-800 pages and in hardcover. I thought that the book cradle book holder and stand would help with this but she tried it a few times and said that it took the pleasure out of the reading and that it was more of a nuisance. This maybe only her thinking and I hope that others find this product helpful. We have not found another book holder; I am not sure there is one out there that will actually do the trick. No problem and good luck with your search... RelaxingK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    poor Design

    I returned this item. I bought one as a gift and one for myself. Returned both. I did not think it stood up to my expectations according to the description on the packaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2