Customer Reviews for

Distressed Brown Leather Journal (with Tie Fastener)

Average Rating 5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I want to carry it everywhere!

The wonderful feel of this journal is not limited to the way the cover feels to your fingers. There's just something about the weight, the way it closes - so quickly yet securely and sort of satisfying as you end your session with it by 'tying up a loose end.' The siz...
The wonderful feel of this journal is not limited to the way the cover feels to your fingers. There's just something about the weight, the way it closes - so quickly yet securely and sort of satisfying as you end your session with it by 'tying up a loose end.' The size is convenient, although I wish it came larger and smaller for various uses. The refills are easy to use and inexpensive, with their 'just stiff enough' covers allowing for easy storage. This is my favorite cover ever. Some reviews cautioned about things pulling apart - just treat it gently and it will serve you well.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

leather cord tears easily

While the depressed leather is wonderful, the leather cord tears very easily, shortening the length. But I still would buy another just because the binding wears well.

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    I want to carry it everywhere!

    The wonderful feel of this journal is not limited to the way the cover feels to your fingers. There's just something about the weight, the way it closes - so quickly yet securely and sort of satisfying as you end your session with it by 'tying up a loose end.' The size is convenient, although I wish it came larger and smaller for various uses. The refills are easy to use and inexpensive, with their 'just stiff enough' covers allowing for easy storage. This is my favorite cover ever. Some reviews cautioned about things pulling apart - just treat it gently and it will serve you well.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Long Time Fave

    I usually don't write reviews for things, but for this I had to. I bought this journal back in 2002 or 2003. I believe it's one of the best purchases that I've made. I'd stash it in my tote, purse or backpack and it's lasted pretty well. When I first bought it, I was concerned about the tie fastener, but surprisingly, it's still intact (knock on wood). I love that there are two slots for pens/pencils. I usually carry a black and a blue one, though sometimes, I'll carry a pencil for sketching. The used refills look great on my bookshelf and to top it off the price is reasonable. All in all, I completely recommend this item for daily journaling and traveling.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Lost Treasure.

    I bought this journal cover for two reasons, I appreciate leather, and I love to journalize. I didn't think the supple leather would endure, but it did and it gained character with each refill. I was given another journal, so I put the cover in my bookcase. I moved and the cover has since disappeared. I truly missed my long time companion but eventually replaced it. By the way that journal cover survived my countless camping and fly fishing adventures, military execises and even a tour in Iraq. It truly was much tougher than I initially gave it credit for.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Excellent

    I'm a writer and I take a lot of notes about little experiments and things such as that, and this is wonderful. The refills are easy to lable so you know what is what and just the right size to store several. It feels great to use and is preety sturdy really. Some people say the strap splits, but even then you can just fix it with some super glue.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    Lasts Forever

    I have had this journal for almost four years now, and it still looks great. I have gone through several refills without any problems. I carry it around in my bag with a bunch of other stuff, and it has yet to be messed up. The pages don't even get folded because the suede cover holds it closed so tightly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Distressed Brown Leather Journal

    I purchased this journal from the website on the recommendations of previous customer reviews and I am very pleased I did. It is incredibly soft, yet seems extremely durable at the same time. I agree that the pen slots were something that made this one stand out against some others that I looked at, cannot tell you just how handy they are. And the price just cannot be beat, definitely worth more. I am sure I will be using this journal for many years to come, I just love it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    If you like journaling, Check this out.

    this journal is so awesome. i love the distressed leather. the inside flap has to pen slots so that you will always have your pen handy when you are ready to write. i love the fact that the journal inside is a refill. the leather is so..so..i really like it. this is a must buy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    The best Choice

    I have had this journal for a few months now and its been great. The fact that its refillable is awesome because then you know the paper is bound tight and will out last your writtings. It also has a place to hold your writting pen. I have had a few leather bound journals in the past and never had one that has held up as well as this one. As time goes on the leather looks better and develops its own character.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Beautiful, supple leather, refillable

    This journal is 'refillable' - the label says with a 'standard No. 3. refill' from Barnes and Noble. Haven't looked for that yet, but I'm sure it will be fine. But what really impressed me is the rich, supple texture of the suede cover and the warm, brown color. This instantly looks like you've had it forever, and I'm sure it will age very well! The tie also seems nice and sturdy, not like it will fall off. Note that it's a single tie, so you wrap it around and tuck the end under - you don't have to tie a silly bow!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Indiana Jones' Favorite

    I've had this journal for 1 year now, and it's great. It's easy to write in, even though it's my travel journal. The leather is soft, although it looks very old and worn. I own a few journals, but not as nice as this one. It reminds me alot of the journal that Indiana Jones kept all of his secret locations in. Hence, that is why it's my travel journal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Around the World

    I purchased this journal for my husband who is being deployed to Bosnia for a year. The leather cover should protect it through whatever comes its way. Plus it has a masculine feel to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Leather Journal

    I love the leather journal that I got. It reminds me of something from way back when. I just might get a few more and give out as gifts. The price was good too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Great reusable leather journal cover

    The deciding factor for buying this journal cover was the 2 pen slots inside the front flap. You don't have to worry about a writing instrument when on the go. Being able to buy the refills at B&N also makes this inexpensive in the long run. Mine is aging well considering it was very soft to begin with. It's a keeper for me and I plan on using it for a very long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Handy and inconspicuous

    Easy to fold and tie and very handy place for a pencil/pen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    WONDERFUL!

    I actually purched this journal to use as an "old style" agenda during the school. It is the most worth while thing I have bought in a long time.Would defainlty recommend buying several of these, or just one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    LOVE THIS JOURNAL!

    This is the best journal! It is easy to travel with, looks great. Having it in view helps remind me to continue my journaling. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a journal!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Durable, attractrive, perfect size to carry with you and comfortable size to write in.will buy another one when this one is filled!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    My son bought me this journal as a retirement gift and I love th

    My son bought me this journal as a retirement gift and I love the way it feels and smells. I didn't realize that it had slots for pens or pencils until I saw the product description on the B&N website. Previously, I just wrapped my pencil in the leather cover when I closed it, and it stayed there securely. It's a perfect size for throwing in my backpack or carrying it with me while off on a walk. I am glad to see that refills are made for it because I want to continue to use it for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    This journal has been to 6 countries with me.

    I've used this journal as a travel journal and I always take it with me when I go abroad. It fits nicely in my day pack. I like the wrap around cover and the tie design because I can stick in postcards or ticket stubs without them falling out. The distressed leather makes me feel like Hemingway or Indiana Jones. Whereever I go people comment on it. I would highly recommended this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    LOVE IT!

    Perfect book to carry around and jot things down in. I love the cover, and the pen holding slits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2