Customer Reviews for

Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    I love this little book

    After reading from this outstanding book I always feel happier, stronger, more in control. I keep a copy on my bedstand and read a few pages every morning and night. I also keep another copy at work and read it when I'm feeling stressed. I've ordered copies of it for everyone on my Holiday list this year. 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' is the most valuable gift I can imagine giving anyone for such a small price. I'd rate this book 10 stars if I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    Beautifully illustrated and written

    This collection of words includes not only great quotes from good men but a whole collection of pictures behind to draw you into your meditation. At the same time, I would encourage those who have participated in other religions to look into this book. In this slim volume, Taro Gold has packed full information into a window into the soul. You won't be missing anything. At the same time, I have read most of the quotes you have been listening to for many years, and find them very puzzling and bizarre. They do not seem to mimic the exact translations of Buddhist wisdom or thought, but rather the English translations of them, beautiful, yet profound. Perhaps that's what I like about Buddhism, and eastern religion. Though some of his quotes may be misinterpreted, they are not without character, or mind. The Tao has been treated to one hell of a lot of interpretation here, totally changing the words Lao Tzu said in some cases. But otherwise, it seems to be a perfect translation of the mind of Lao Tzu, and that's good enough to keep you thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    Powerful little book!

    This book I have on hand for a daily dose. Basically one could say it is a little book of advice. Even on the worst day a dose of this little book will help you get through it. Very powerful. Very insightful. I don't leave the house without mine! I also enjoy the larger volume that was recently published, which has even more entries than this volume.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Great to read, RE-READ...and GIFT!!!

    It's incredible that such a HUGE treasure chest could fit into such a physically tiny book that can literally fit in the palm of your hand (and a pocket). Don't make the mistake of typecasting Taro Gold's tiny hard-cover book for one of those books that have a drawing and a short line on each page. Quite the contrary, this little book is CRAMMED with useful, short and profound gems from Eastern thought that can influence (or ease) your life. One page might have three or four lines, another a full page. And each message is profound (some more complex than others). The philosophical WEIGHT is huge for such a tiny book. And the size is PERFECT: you can carry it in your carry-on when you go on an airline (which I do) or in your pocket (which I do) when you travel. And it makes a SUPERB gift, especially to a high school or college graduate. Just remember: it's small in size -- and GIANT in content.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    this is the first 'book of wisdom' that I have actually found fun to read. I enjoy just opening up to a random page each day and reading something from it. it always appeals to my life somehow at just the right time. I am looking forward to the larger volume II coming out in september as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    A book to read from every day

    I keep copies of this book with me at home, at work and even in my car. I read a few thoughts from it now and then throughout each day to lift my spirits and help me focus on positive ideas. It is priceless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    The wise maxims found in this great collection sometime seem like common sense (which is not so common), and it's so important to be reminded of them. Reading a page or two from this book each day helps me feel grounded and more hopeful. It helps me be more confident and happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    I love this little book! I keep buying copies and giving them away... It makes me feel good when I give this book to someone as I think, in some way, that I'm helping them to live a better life. It's refreshingly light and easy to read, yet suprisingly profound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I like this booklet so much!

    Wisdom in short clear words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Best little book

    I love this little book and read from it every night, keep it on the table by my bed. My wife has given this book to dozens of our friends and relatives and everyone tells us they read from it all the time for inspiration and deep wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Not terribly inspiring

    May be helpful to some people but not helpful to me. Just leave it on a shelf and refer to it from time to time, did not find the pictures inspiring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    The world would be a better place if everyone read this book and took its messages to heart. I've given it to many friends and everyone has felt encouraged by what they read. Each idea in this book has a ringing truth that causes one to pause and think. Outstanding through and through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    This is the best book of Eastern wisdom I've ever read. I keep ordering more and more copies to give to family and friends. The wisdom is deep but easy to understand, and best of all it's helpful in everyday life. Everyone I've given it to has loved it. We read a thought or two from it each day at work to lift our spirits, center our minds, and get us thinking on a deeper level. Great inspiration on the path to a truly happy life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Wise words

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life is a simple, yet thoughtful guide. Not just another daybook, it's practical and uplifting without being preachy. Makes a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    This book is full of wise thoughts. I keep it on my desk, read one page a day. Very insightful, good stuff for living. For everyone or anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    What a great book! Like they say - good things come in small packages. There are so many helpful and encouraging messages in this one little book, it's incredible! There are hundreds and hundreds of fantastic quotations I've never heard before. There are thoughts from the Buddha, from Lao Tzu, Mahatma Gandhi, and other historic figures as well as many rare proverbs. There is also a lot of wonderful insight from Taro Gold, the author. This book is a treasure chest of wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' is the best collection of Eastern wisdom I've ever found. The enlightening theme is that 'true happiness is within us all; we have only to reveal it.' Filled with hundreds of simple and inspiring guideposts based on the timeless wisdom of Eastern thought, this book's compact size allows me to carry it along for those times when I need a little extra inspiration and guidance. Beautifully illustrated as well. One of the most valuable books I've ever bought, and for the lowest price, too. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    I've read many inspirational books and collections of wisdom, and 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' is my favorite. I feel better, more confident and hopeful, after reading from this little treasury. It's filled with hundreds of simple yet profound thoughts, all of which serve to enhance one's outlook on life. I enthusiastically recommend 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    My daughter gave me this little treasure as an early Holiday gift. My first impression was how beautiful it is. My daughter said I'd be surprised how many wonderful things I'd read in it, and she was right. It's truly outstanding. The wisdom contained in this book speaks to everyone so although it's technically 'eastern' I think anyone would gain much from it. I have never learned so much and been so inspired by such a little book! I'm buying many extra copies as stocking stuffers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom

    I heard some DJs talking about this book on the radio and felt very impressed by the quotes they read from it. I immediately bought a copy. Over the following weeks, I read a few pages every night before bed, then again each morning before work. It began helping me so much, I bought extra copies to keep with me at work and in my car! Then I bought more copies to give to everyone I know. And all my friends have loved it as well. It is like a little book of guidance for me. It has completely changed my outlook on life and the way I see things that happen both good and bad. I really feel happier now than ever before in my life! I give so much credit to the author for making this wonderful book and helping me see things in a better light. It is probably the smallest book I own, and the most valuable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2