BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Relight Rechargeable Book Light: Gray/Black

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's perfect

It's a handy little light and it gets banged around like an iron tool on a job site. I do travel a bit and have had several of these little book lights - all have failed with good care, but this one takes some abuse, keeps shining and still puts me to sleep at night.
...
It's a handy little light and it gets banged around like an iron tool on a job site. I do travel a bit and have had several of these little book lights - all have failed with good care, but this one takes some abuse, keeps shining and still puts me to sleep at night.

I even saved the box so that I can replace it if I loose it or have some help from a luggage handler.

kozmo

posted by kozmo18 on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not bright

i was very disappointed with the brightness.....or better yet, lack of brightness. i've always used the "itty bitty book light," which is corded. i was hoping this would be as bright, but no such luck.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's perfect

    It's a handy little light and it gets banged around like an iron tool on a job site. I do travel a bit and have had several of these little book lights - all have failed with good care, but this one takes some abuse, keeps shining and still puts me to sleep at night.

    I even saved the box so that I can replace it if I loose it or have some help from a luggage handler.

    kozmo

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finally!

    I've been through so many book lights and countless batteries! Finally a wireless, rechargeable book light. It's compact enough to go any/every where. With 2 light settings, you don't have to worry about disturbing anyone around you.
    I was so tired of replacing batteries and bulbs. I'd get to a really good point in a book and the light would start to fade. AC adapters weren't any better. Always being tethered to a wall... who wants that.
    This will be the last book light I ever buy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    The BEST book light ever!

    I think I have used every book light made. I own 2 of these and they are by far the best book light I've ever used. The only time I find to read, is when I'm in bed so a book light is mandatory for me. This one puts out a wonderful white light and illuminates the entire page. The charger works fast and lasts several days. The only reason I have 2 is because I left one at my daughter's house on a recent trip.

    I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who uses a book light.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Very Nice

    I broke my last rechargable book light that I had for several years and was very concerned that I would not be able to find another one that I would like. I found this one and decided to try it and I am very happy with it. I have only had to charge it once in two months time, it is very light weight and has two light settings which are plenty bright enough. I would recommend this light to anyone who likes to read at night with out a full size light on or in the car and you will save money by not having to buy batteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Best I've found so far

    I'm always on the lookout for the perfect book light. This one isn't perfect, but... Pros: Doesn't require batteries; lightweight; compact; two brightness options. Cons: Light is not cast evenly over two pages; grip is too tight for a hardcover, too loose for a paperback, so it takes some maneuvering to latch the grip onto the right number of pages. It would be nice if it had a warning light to indicate low charge. Still, the fact that it doesn't require batteries is enough to make this the best book light I've found so far. I hate the cost, waste, hassle, and ecological damage of continually going through batteries with other book lights.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    not bright

    i was very disappointed with the brightness.....or better yet, lack of brightness. i've always used the "itty bitty book light," which is corded. i was hoping this would be as bright, but no such luck.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    WARNING: Great light, but it's DEFECTIVE! Manufacturer will NOT stand behind product!

    This is the BEST book light I have ever owned and I love that it is rechargeable. It worked great for reading, but it also worked great for other things; including using it for a flashlight when the lights would go out. I used it in bed, in the car, and any other place I needed a light.

    HOWEVER the problem is that the switch is defective and will eventually stop working, about the time the warranty runs out. In addition, the light will start to flicker when you try to adjust the angle of the light and it will cut off and not cut back on. In other words, there are two distinct defects that start a few months after use and the manufacturer will NOT replace it or even give you credit towards another product. Barnes and Noble WILL replace it if you are lucky and the problems start within the first 30-60 days after purchase, but what will you do if the defects start after the first couple of months or after the warranty runs out? In addition, and this is the kicker, the manufacturer ADMITS that this product is known to be defective. They are fully aware that this product needs to be redesigned, yet they continue to sell this light. They claim they are working on a new version, but instead of pulling the product until the redesign is completed, they continue to sell a defective product. The worst part is that I have purchased 3 of these and even with the loyalty I gave this company, they REFUSED to give me a credit or a discount towards buying another light from them. So even though this is the best book light I have ever used, its defective, and due to the manufacturer's refusal to stand behind their products, they have lost my business forever! I will NEVER buy another product from them!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Idea is great, design needs work

    I've had this product for a few months and I much prefer it to the battery operated ones. There are some design flaws that need to be worked out in order to get a better rating.

    The Good: 1/ It's rechargeable!! No scrambling for batteries. 2/ Closes up to a very compact size.

    The Bad: 1/ The outer rim of the light lights up. The glare from it is distracting to the eyes and I don't think it helps in illuminating the text any better that the flat, single surface light. 2/ I can't attach it to my hardcover books - the opening is too narrow and inflexible and attaching it to the pages is ridiculous, so I end up holding it to read. 3/ The brightest illumination (right after charging) is great, but only lasts for an hour of reading. Then it gets noticeably dimmer for several hours after that. I'm not sure how long it will last if I have to charge it every time I use it. 4/ The light is not adjustable enough. There's no flexibility in turning the light's position - the only motion is up or down. On larger books, I find it helpful to be able to turn the light in the direction of the page I'm reading. This light doesn't allow that.
    5/ Has 3 positions, hi beam, low beam and off. I'm not sure why one would use the low beam. It's barely usable, the light is so dim. I think this is just a marketing feature - good in theory, useless (??) in practice.

    Overall, despite all the "Bad", I like this product. It's good, but could be SO much better!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A Big Disappointment

    My daughter and I each bought a different booklight at B & N over the holidays. I chose this one, and I lost. Unless you're the world's fastest speed reader, this booklight will not hold a charge long enough to avoid annoying you. I specifically bought it (at 3 times the cost of the battery-operated Mighty Bright my daughter selected) for the convenience of the recharger. I read over the recharging directions 3 times to make sure I was recharging this correctly. Not only does it not last nearly as long as the insert indicates, it starts to dim to an unusable level after just an hour or so. As the insert warns that you should let it run all the way down before recharging it, plan on 1 hour of reading and 7 hours of just letting it sit there on dim before you should recharge it. I keep hoping it will magically start shining brighter and lasting longer, but until it does, I've commandeered my daughter's booklight. See my review for the Mighty Bright -- at 1/3 the price, it's 3 times better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love this booklight especially because of the fact it charges. I used to go through so many booklights because the batteries wouldn't last. The light is very very bright and the 2 light levels work awesome. The only downside is the clip is not as wide as I perfer it, but I still love this product!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you use a booklight a lot, as I do, you end up spending a fortune on batteries and the light slowly dims as the batteries run low. A rechargeable light is really the way to go. This one charges fast and holds a charge well. The color of the light output is different (since it's LED) than a standard booklight, but I got used to it. The only problem I had is w/the clip. I read mainly hardcover books and the clip broke off while attaching it one day. I can still prop the light up to use but it's not as convenient as having it clipped on. I still recommend the light. I'm writing this review just so others know to be a little careful w/the clip.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    best light ever

    I love this. Bought three for our family and then another as a gift. It's perfect for reading in bed with it lying on your chest pointing at the book. You can clip it to the book, too, but I find the other way works a lot better. Bright, recharges quickly. Simply perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    If you buy it online Barns & Noble will not pay shipping to return it even if the product is defective. You have to make a special trip to the store to return it or it will cost you more money.

    I bought 4 reading lights only 3 worked I tried to return one on line but they Barnes & Noble wanted me to pay return shipping. I addition they do not have a process to print a return form out or a label for the box to send it back. I will not make the mistake of buying on line from Barns & Noble again. Great product very poor customer service from such a large company.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Re-chargeable book light. Re-chargeable book light.

    Like most dedicated readers,I find myself reading late into the night most nights and find this very therapeudic since it helps me to sleep. I have been using battery operated reading lights for some time and found them both awkward to use and also to replace the batteries so often is quite expensive. Until I discovered this light! While surfing the internet one day for such a light in Ontario, Canada, which is where I am from and unable to find anything locally, I found this light on the B & N website and ordered it immediately. Not only did it arrive very quickly, but I was amazed at its small size and light weight. It is truly an incredible little reading light. It has two light intensities (high & low)<BR/>and the greatest little charger that keeps the light ready at all times.<BR/>This light is also perfect for travel, since it is so compact and powerful. I would rate this light a 5 except for two small issues. It could be a bit wider where it mounts to the book since it sometimes tends to tip depending on the type of book you are reading. I would also like to see the light head swivel a bit to read the adjoining page when reading a larger book. both minor complaints. I would not give up this light for any reason, it is marvelous. Great design!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    I love this light

    The amount of light this little tool gives off is just right. The charge lasts a long time. I've never had a better book light.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    Love is book light. Is easy to use and pack for trips. The recha

    Love is book light. Is easy to use and pack for trips. The recharge lasts a long time plus the two levels of lighting are very helpful. I have used it for reading with my Kindle, my laptop, and books. it does not disturb my spouse at night. The light is very gentle and not glaring. I have used it as a flashlight so I don't trip over my black cat at night. I have had it for years and want to purchase more as gifts but sadly this one is no longer produced. I should have bought a half a dozen of them--this is much better made and an easier light to read by than the &quot;Itty Bitty Light&quot;.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I LOVE IT!!! But want to buy another and I'm having a hard time:

    I LOVE IT!!! But want to buy another and I'm having a hard time:(  I would give it a 10 rating if I could!!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I bought this product as a Christmas present for my husband who

    I bought this product as a Christmas present for my husband who has poor eyesight and loves to read in bed. After several weeks, the clip-on broke off and now it cannot hold on to pages. VERY UNHAPPY to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    great light but hinges are so loose the light does not stay posi

    great light but hinges are so loose the light does not stay positioned for reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    What To Do

    I bought this book light from B&N about 2 years ago. It worked great and I loved not having to worry about having a supply of batteries on hand. About a month ago I started having problems with it. I could not turn it off unless it was fully charged. I contacted Great Point and they never got back to me. I now have to let it fully run down and then recharge it. I'm so disappointed. I don't know if I should buy another one or try something different. I have gone thru several battery models in the past and know there drawbacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2