Customer Reviews for

The Book of Myself: A Do-It-Yourself Autobiography in 201 Questions

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This book is an amazing way to have a grandparent's life revealed to others.

I had my grandmother fill this book out for me, about 10 years ago. She recently passed away; the grandchildren gathered together (using the book) and we formatted her eulogy using her own words. We knew her happiest moments and saddest. We knew the things she loved....
I had my grandmother fill this book out for me, about 10 years ago. She recently passed away; the grandchildren gathered together (using the book) and we formatted her eulogy using her own words. We knew her happiest moments and saddest. We knew the things she loved. We were able to share my grandmother in a very deep way that touched everyone in a way I've never seen at a funeral. No one spoke for my grandmother; she spoke for herself. Her words (thanks to this book) was a true and endearing testiment to her life.

posted by 2032966 on October 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Old and Happy Families ONLY

I bought this because I thought it'd be nice to have for my children and grandchildren someday. I thought I would fill in all my information and memories. Like my full name, best memory, childhood pets, saddest moment, biggest regret, etc. It's not like that at all. E...
I bought this because I thought it'd be nice to have for my children and grandchildren someday. I thought I would fill in all my information and memories. Like my full name, best memory, childhood pets, saddest moment, biggest regret, etc. It's not like that at all. Each "Question" gives you a page to write an answer. A young person can not answer most of the questions. "When I was younger..." refers to their 20s. And it's not for people with broken families. "What I love most about my mother/father". "How I liked to entertain my friends/guests". "What I think my grandchildren will accomplish in life". If you've had a sad childhood and a broken home than this book is not for you. This is 100% disappointing to me.

posted by 4000319 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    This book is an amazing way to have a grandparent's life revealed to others.

    I had my grandmother fill this book out for me, about 10 years ago. She recently passed away; the grandchildren gathered together (using the book) and we formatted her eulogy using her own words. We knew her happiest moments and saddest. We knew the things she loved. We were able to share my grandmother in a very deep way that touched everyone in a way I've never seen at a funeral. No one spoke for my grandmother; she spoke for herself. Her words (thanks to this book) was a true and endearing testiment to her life.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Get the new edition

    I got the new edition of Book of Myself for my uncle. He has no kids and has always been a mentor to me. I asked him to use the book to write his life story and life lessons for our family history and personal benefit. The Book of Myself lays out clear and interesting questions and gives room to answer. He is finding it easy to do in bits and pieces, and it's filling up quickly.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Great book...great wasy to share your history with others

    This is a great book. I gave one to my father as a way for him to pass along his great stories to his daughters...much as his parents did. I thing got one for my friend so whe could use it to share her experiences as a mother, a woman, a wife, and a friend. She loved it. I finally got one for myself and work on when I can...but know it will be a great tribute to my half-sisters and nephews when they are older. Worth the money and the time!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    A bit diffuclt ti use if your an abandoned as a child

    This book is for really for happy normal families not the few who were left out. But if you change some of the questions to fit your life and dont get bitter or give in to self pity you can write a decent life story.Its important to remember not everyone always has a happy childhood or life

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Really gets your pen going!

    I never could have written so much about my life without his journaling book. The prompts give just the right amount of direction, while still being flexible for different kinds and ages of people. It pulled out lots of memories: what I liked doing after school as a kid, what my parents' politics were, special friendships and mentors, movies and music at different times in my life, my first car, pet stories. And it made me think: what I am proud of doing, what I regret not exploring, wishes, traits I hope to be remembered for. These are just examples, the book covers a lot of ground. I promise you will find lots that will get your pen going! It's fun to do and satisfying to have it all down now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    family history lovers take note!

    I got this book and another Marshall book, Words to Live By, for my parents to fill out for their grandchildren. Both are excellent. The Book of Myself made it easy for them to recount their life stories. Words to Live By helped them write all those great bits of lessons-learned and sage advice that grandparents do so well. Now my kids have so much to remember their wonderful oma and opa by! (and me too!) Both books are warmly done, with encouraging and interesting questions on a range of topics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Get the 2007 Edition

    I got the new edition of Book of Myself for my uncle. He has no kids and has always been a mentor to me. I asked him to use this book to write his life story and life lessons for our family history and personal benefit. The Book of Myself lays out clear and interesting questions and gives room to answer. He is finding it easy to do in bits and pieces, and it's filling up quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1