Customer Reviews for

Home in Carolina (Sweet Magnolias Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home in Carolina

I like trilogies and can't wait for the next one to come out.Sherryl Woods characters come alive and they are so real you want to meet them,I can see the little town in South Carolina especially since I lived in Charleston S.C. for man years.
Her books are entertainng ...
I like trilogies and can't wait for the next one to come out.Sherryl Woods characters come alive and they are so real you want to meet them,I can see the little town in South Carolina especially since I lived in Charleston S.C. for man years.
Her books are entertainng and make a good read at any time.

posted by 3387117 on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This could have been a really good book

I loved the idea of this book and thought that I was going to be in for an emotional rollercoster ride. How wrong I was. This book had no depth and really no emotional feeling to it. It felt as if the author just didn't spend any time on it. It felt rushed. When Ty come...
I loved the idea of this book and thought that I was going to be in for an emotional rollercoster ride. How wrong I was. This book had no depth and really no emotional feeling to it. It felt as if the author just didn't spend any time on it. It felt rushed. When Ty comes back to town he dosn't do any groveling or says that he's sorry at all. He just has this 'I'm here, I want you and you just have to deal with it' type of attitude.They act as if he only cheated with one woman when in fact ther were scores of them. Annie comes off as having no backbone what so ever. At one point she confronts Ty about cheating with his groupies and he says'Yes I cheated on you Annie but don't make it into something ugly'. She then tells him that he is right and tells him that she is sorry! Oh and don't get me started on Ty's mother,Maddie. She should have been a better friend to Annie because she knows what it feels like to be cheated on. Insead she tells Annie that she owes it to Ty to give him another chance. I also felt like there were too many secondary characters that had nothing to do with the realtionship between Ty and Annie and it really took away from the story. The author should have focused more on the main characters.

posted by NoelleS on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Home in Carolina

    I like trilogies and can't wait for the next one to come out.Sherryl Woods characters come alive and they are so real you want to meet them,I can see the little town in South Carolina especially since I lived in Charleston S.C. for man years.
    Her books are entertainng and make a good read at any time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Ehhh

    I love the series and especially Ty, but why did they make him cheat? It seems like most of the stories involve a cheating husband, and after falling in love with Ty and Annie, I didnt want their story to go down the same boring path. Still a good story, but not as good as the first by far!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    This could have been a really good book

    I loved the idea of this book and thought that I was going to be in for an emotional rollercoster ride. How wrong I was. This book had no depth and really no emotional feeling to it. It felt as if the author just didn't spend any time on it. It felt rushed. When Ty comes back to town he dosn't do any groveling or says that he's sorry at all. He just has this 'I'm here, I want you and you just have to deal with it' type of attitude.They act as if he only cheated with one woman when in fact ther were scores of them. Annie comes off as having no backbone what so ever. At one point she confronts Ty about cheating with his groupies and he says'Yes I cheated on you Annie but don't make it into something ugly'. She then tells him that he is right and tells him that she is sorry! Oh and don't get me started on Ty's mother,Maddie. She should have been a better friend to Annie because she knows what it feels like to be cheated on. Insead she tells Annie that she owes it to Ty to give him another chance. I also felt like there were too many secondary characters that had nothing to do with the realtionship between Ty and Annie and it really took away from the story. The author should have focused more on the main characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    I have read most of the books by Sherryl Woods. They are all outstanding and I would highly reccommend them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Awesome book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    pleasant second chance at love romance

    Sports injury therapist Annie Sullivan is eating breakfast at her mom's restaurant in Serenity, South Carolina when the newspaper states that Star braves pitcher Ty Townsend is on Injury Reserve following surgery to his shoulder after suffering a potential career ending injury. He is back in Serenity to heal with home cooking, which makes Annie unhappy as they were seeing one another until he betrayed her with a sports groupie Dee-Dee.

    Ty knows he screwed up when he could not resist the seductive offer, but wants a second chance with Annie. However, the proof of his transgression is his three years old son Trevor who he is has solo custody of and refuses to give up his child even for Annie. As Ty tries to earn a second chance, Dee-Dee arrives in Serenity willing to use Trevor as an extortionist ploy to get what she wants.

    The latest Serenity Sweet Magnolias romance (See Sweet Tea at Magnolias) is a pleasant second chance at love romance starring a warm cast filled with southern charm. Although everyone involved proclaims what is best for Trevor is what they want, each of the adults except for Dee-Dee's thought provoking BF and Annie's sandwiched mom come across selfish. Still readers will enjoy dining at Helen's restaurant in serenity where sweet ice tea is served to drink.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Anne Sullivan had always loved Tyler Townsend and it had seemed

    Anne Sullivan had always loved Tyler Townsend and it had seemed like what they had was a love that would last a lifetime but then Tyler went and betrayed Anne. When it came out that his secret lover was pregnant with his child, Anne was left heartbroken with all her dreams shattered. Now it has been years and Anne has moved on or so she prefers to think. 
    She is now a successful sports injury therapist and has finally come back to Serenity, her home, to stay. Tyler, on the other hand, has become a successful quarterback but he never forgot Anne. He has spent his last several years repenting and regretting his recklessness in throwing away Anne's love.

    "She'd looked up to him, trusted him, talked to him...fallen in love with him.
    Then he'd betrayed her. And for what? A string of casual flings that had meant nothing....
    Unfortunately, it had taken too long for him to realize just how empty and meaningless all that was."

    An injury gives him the perfect excuse to come back home and try to win Anne back. He is ready to face his mistakes and make amends. But a sudden appearance of his three year old son, Trevor's mother, leaves him scared of losing his son and determined to not let that happen. Dee-Dee had left her infant son on Tyler's hotel doorstep one day and never looked back to check if his father had even took him in! Now her unexpected maternal displays of affection and longing are surprising and a reason of unease for everyone especially Tyler, who is devoted to his son and ready to fight tooth and nail to keep him.

    What does Dee-Dee want?
    Is she truly missing her son and just wants to see him? Or is there a deeper agenda involved?
    Will Anne forgive Tyler for all the heartache and broken dreams?
    Is Tyler truly willing to make sacrifices and go that extra mile to win over Anne?
    Will Anne be able to accept Tyler's son and make a family with him?

    When I took up this book,Home in Carolina, I didn't know it was part of a series. I came to know about it only after checking about it on the internet. Although, this book can be read as a standalone but I would recommend reading it in order because several times in the book references are given to the previous story lines which would be best understood if the reader has read them.

    The cover is captivating and serene and it was the cover that made me pick up this book. All the coming-back-home-to-find-closure theme attracted me.

    The writing style of Sherryl is simple and crisp. She is able to engage the reader with her balance of humor, wit and serious. She expertly includes references to her previous story lines and also gives hints about her subsequent books, thus, creating an interest in the reader for the next Sweet Magnolias books.

    Although, the plot was interesting but I felt the story was not executed at par with the plot. It felt it was unnecessarily long with Anne and Tyler going in circles. Sometimes it seemed like now Anne would give way to her love for Tyler and accept him but then suddenly she would retreat to her previous angry and hurt self. In the end also she was sure of never accepting a future with him but then a cozy dinner and some romantic music changed her mind leaving the reader reeling and confused. If only a dinner was needed to pacify her then Tyler should have done that before instead of waiting for so long. I just mean to say that the reasons for reconciliation and closure are not convincing and I felt unsatisfied here.

    The friendships in the story are beautifully portrayed in the book be it the friendship between Anne, Raylene and Sarah or Dana Sue, Maddie and Helen. The love between Cal and Maddie, Ronnie and Dana Sue, Erik and Helen is heartwarming and touching and I thoroughly enjoyed them. This is the first book where I loved the supporting characters more than the main ones! The stories for these lovable supporting cast have either come before this book or will feature next and have made me eager to go and read the previous books in this series as well as give a shot to the subsequent books.

    Home in Carolinais a light and a leisure read. I give it a 3.8 out of 5. This review is also available on my blog Njkinny's World of Books..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recomment

    This series is amazing. With each book you feel more like part of the family. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Great Series

    I got the first 4 books of this series from my sister and enjoyed them so much I decided to buy the remaining 3 to complete the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tyler and Annie

    They have been the two best characters I wanted to read about the most and I enjoyed being given the chance to read about them! By far the best one for me anf of course when Tys mom Maddie married Tys coach Cal Maddox!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Great read!

    This was my first time reading one of Sherryl Woods books. I will definitely be reading the rest of the Sweet Magnolia series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    The new chapter of the Sweet Magnolias

    I would like to start by saying that I am a huge fan of Sherryl Woods, she is a wonderful author who has the ability to draw readers into another world with her stories. The first three books in the Sweet Magnolias series were magnificent and gave a great back story and lead in into this first in the second installment of the series. I did however find this book slightly lacking. One of my favorite parts in reading Sherryl Woods is how easy she makes it to fall in love with the characters. In this instance I found it more difficult to really care about these two people, which was disappointing because of the back story throughout the other three books. The trials between these two characters were hard to believe because we get to know them in the previous books. I had a very hard time understanding that he would cheat on her after everything they had already been through together. I would however absolutely recommend giving this book a shot if you are a fan of her work or if you are a romance reader looking for something new. I fully intend to continue on with the series because at the heart of things I do love Sherryl Woods and the tales of love that she provides in each of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    excellent storyline

    great character development and nice visiting the sweet magnolia's again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Love those Sweet Magnolias!

    What a great book! This was the first book I read in the Sweet Magnolia series, and I really enjoyed it. The author did a good job at reeling me into her imaginary town of Serenity and making me feel a part of this small, southern community. Living in a small town, I was able to relate to the the repeated instances where everyone in town seemed to know what was happening almost before the people involved did! It is also very difficult to be the "cheatee", and try to decide if you want to re-build that relationship, especially with the whole town watching (helping?), but she pulls it off with style. While reading this book, however, I felt as if I missed some really important stories about the secondary characters, so I went back and bought the first four books in the series to get the whole picture. Prior to this book, I have only read a couple of books by Woods, but see that she has written 100+, so I plan to catch up on some of her older ones as well as watching for the new ones coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Home In Carolina

    Sherryl Woods Sweet Magnolias continue on to the next generation. If you enjoy her writing and her trilogies, you'll enjoy this next installment of the characters in Serenity, South Carolina. The Magnolias and their families are delightful, touching and totally supportive of each other. They're very careful of who comes into their town. They are extremely proud of their town and its heritage. Anyone who has read Miss Woods' books will find that this is a book that won't be put aside to read later. It's also one to share with others. A delightful page turner that calls out for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Home in Carolina is the 5th bookin the Magnolia series that Sherryl Woods has created. Once again the characters come to life and an amazing number are intertwined into the main story.

    When I read the Magnolia series I almost feel like part of the group. The characters are so well defined that they seem like real people to me. I want to jump in my car and find Serenity, settle there and become part of the players. What a great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner

    This is a wonderful series. After I read the first one I went and and got all the others published so far. Annie & Ty's story went a long way in showing us about forgiveness and giving second chances. I don't know if I could forgive like Annie did, but I'm glad she was able to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5