BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Home in Carolina (Sweet Magnolias Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home in Carolina

I like trilogies and can't wait for the next one to come out.Sherryl Woods characters come alive and they are so real you want to meet them,I can see the little town in South Carolina especially since I lived in Charleston S.C. for man years.
Her books are entertainng ...
I like trilogies and can't wait for the next one to come out.Sherryl Woods characters come alive and they are so real you want to meet them,I can see the little town in South Carolina especially since I lived in Charleston S.C. for man years.
Her books are entertainng and make a good read at any time.

posted by 3387117 on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This could have been a really good book

I loved the idea of this book and thought that I was going to be in for an emotional rollercoster ride. How wrong I was. This book had no depth and really no emotional feeling to it. It felt as if the author just didn't spend any time on it. It felt rushed. When Ty come...
I loved the idea of this book and thought that I was going to be in for an emotional rollercoster ride. How wrong I was. This book had no depth and really no emotional feeling to it. It felt as if the author just didn't spend any time on it. It felt rushed. When Ty comes back to town he dosn't do any groveling or says that he's sorry at all. He just has this 'I'm here, I want you and you just have to deal with it' type of attitude.They act as if he only cheated with one woman when in fact ther were scores of them. Annie comes off as having no backbone what so ever. At one point she confronts Ty about cheating with his groupies and he says'Yes I cheated on you Annie but don't make it into something ugly'. She then tells him that he is right and tells him that she is sorry! Oh and don't get me started on Ty's mother,Maddie. She should have been a better friend to Annie because she knows what it feels like to be cheated on. Insead she tells Annie that she owes it to Ty to give him another chance. I also felt like there were too many secondary characters that had nothing to do with the realtionship between Ty and Annie and it really took away from the story. The author should have focused more on the main characters.

posted by NoelleS on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Ehhh

    I love the series and especially Ty, but why did they make him cheat? It seems like most of the stories involve a cheating husband, and after falling in love with Ty and Annie, I didnt want their story to go down the same boring path. Still a good story, but not as good as the first by far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Anne Sullivan had always loved Tyler Townsend and it had seemed

    Anne Sullivan had always loved Tyler Townsend and it had seemed like what they had was a love that would last a lifetime but then Tyler went and betrayed Anne. When it came out that his secret lover was pregnant with his child, Anne was left heartbroken with all her dreams shattered. Now it has been years and Anne has moved on or so she prefers to think. 
    She is now a successful sports injury therapist and has finally come back to Serenity, her home, to stay. Tyler, on the other hand, has become a successful quarterback but he never forgot Anne. He has spent his last several years repenting and regretting his recklessness in throwing away Anne's love.

    "She'd looked up to him, trusted him, talked to him...fallen in love with him.
    Then he'd betrayed her. And for what? A string of casual flings that had meant nothing....
    Unfortunately, it had taken too long for him to realize just how empty and meaningless all that was."

    An injury gives him the perfect excuse to come back home and try to win Anne back. He is ready to face his mistakes and make amends. But a sudden appearance of his three year old son, Trevor's mother, leaves him scared of losing his son and determined to not let that happen. Dee-Dee had left her infant son on Tyler's hotel doorstep one day and never looked back to check if his father had even took him in! Now her unexpected maternal displays of affection and longing are surprising and a reason of unease for everyone especially Tyler, who is devoted to his son and ready to fight tooth and nail to keep him.

    What does Dee-Dee want?
    Is she truly missing her son and just wants to see him? Or is there a deeper agenda involved?
    Will Anne forgive Tyler for all the heartache and broken dreams?
    Is Tyler truly willing to make sacrifices and go that extra mile to win over Anne?
    Will Anne be able to accept Tyler's son and make a family with him?

    When I took up this book,Home in Carolina, I didn't know it was part of a series. I came to know about it only after checking about it on the internet. Although, this book can be read as a standalone but I would recommend reading it in order because several times in the book references are given to the previous story lines which would be best understood if the reader has read them.

    The cover is captivating and serene and it was the cover that made me pick up this book. All the coming-back-home-to-find-closure theme attracted me.

    The writing style of Sherryl is simple and crisp. She is able to engage the reader with her balance of humor, wit and serious. She expertly includes references to her previous story lines and also gives hints about her subsequent books, thus, creating an interest in the reader for the next Sweet Magnolias books.

    Although, the plot was interesting but I felt the story was not executed at par with the plot. It felt it was unnecessarily long with Anne and Tyler going in circles. Sometimes it seemed like now Anne would give way to her love for Tyler and accept him but then suddenly she would retreat to her previous angry and hurt self. In the end also she was sure of never accepting a future with him but then a cozy dinner and some romantic music changed her mind leaving the reader reeling and confused. If only a dinner was needed to pacify her then Tyler should have done that before instead of waiting for so long. I just mean to say that the reasons for reconciliation and closure are not convincing and I felt unsatisfied here.

    The friendships in the story are beautifully portrayed in the book be it the friendship between Anne, Raylene and Sarah or Dana Sue, Maddie and Helen. The love between Cal and Maddie, Ronnie and Dana Sue, Erik and Helen is heartwarming and touching and I thoroughly enjoyed them. This is the first book where I loved the supporting characters more than the main ones! The stories for these lovable supporting cast have either come before this book or will feature next and have made me eager to go and read the previous books in this series as well as give a shot to the subsequent books.

    Home in Carolinais a light and a leisure read. I give it a 3.8 out of 5. This review is also available on my blog Njkinny's World of Books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1