Customer Reviews for

A Home of Her Own

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    The perfect angsty romance!

    If you're looking for a heroine and tons of angst, look no further! I could immediately relate to Lucky even without any similar situations in my own life. I really enjoyed this book. This is the first I've read by Ms. Novak and I'm looking forward to checking out her other work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly recommended,great read.

    Loved the book,happy endings are so good home is where you find your true happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Good

    Good read and characters but didnt like ending could of did them more justice its like she had to have the book in the morning and rushed it in a couple hrs. Very discouraging considering the writing quality in rest of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Your heart aches for Lucky and all she has been through. Mike s

    Your heart aches for Lucky and all she has been through. Mike struggles with loyalty for his family and his growing attraction for Lucky. The only
    problem I had with the story was it seemed to come to an end too quickly. I felt there were some situations that needed to be better explained. I do enjoy Brenda's books and would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great story!

    I dont know how brenda novak keeps coming up with such interesting, unique, relatable characters and plots. This one almost brought me to tears. I am not a big romance fan but i love this series! I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Crystal

    Sighs and reads a magazine

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    a home of her own

    Sure enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I love all of Brenda Novak's books, especially her Dundee series. I came across her by accedent while in K-mart one day. I loved the book, A Family of Her Own so much that I started to search for others like it and was pleased to find that it was part of a series. I have been hunting down the rest of the series ever since (they are no longer in print). My favorite thus far has been A Home of Her Own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Don't judge a book by it's cover, nor people as well!

    Ms. Novak is a wonderful writer. She lets you get to know the characters, not just the main characters, but all the characters. She lets you see both sides of the story. It starts out as Lucky Caldwell, daughter of 'Red'(who was the town prostitute), comes back to Dundee, to find her father after finding Red's Journal. She inherited a house that most of the town doesn't feel she should have inherited, including Mike Hill, who he believes that he should have inherited it. The story keeps you wanting to read to see which way it's going to take the characters. So don't think that once you start this book that it will be easy to put down, because you won't be able to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Preconceived ideas and opinions can be destructive.

    This story of a daughter badly damaged psychologically, but yet so strong of heart that she travels all over the country trying to make up for the bad things her mother did, is outstanding. It has taken Lucky years to get to the point that she can come back to the Victorian house she inherited from her wealthy stepfather, a stepfather who had loved her. Now , for him, she wants to restore the house and sell it, perhaps to his grandson who had thought he would inherit it. This story is hard on all of us, particularly at the time of year we all want to do good for our fellow man, because we can see some of the cruel things that are heaped upon this young woman simply because of her mother's actions. At some time in our lives I'm sure we have misjudged someone because of his or her family, but we forget to stop and ask ourselves whether we should have taken time to get to know that person for himself or herself. This is a really good story, and, of course, has a smaller story within, which I look forward to reading when Brenda releases the story of Gabe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    A New Favorite

    I have been waiting months for this installment from Dundee, Idaho (since I read ¿Family of Her Own), and I was not disappointed. I bought it the night that my bookstore put it on the shelf and I read it twice in 3 days ¿ the first time because I was anxious to see what happened next, and the second time to make sure I got all the details! I have several favorite books/series that I keep and reread throughout the years, and this book just got added to my permanent collection. I am now playing the waiting game for Gabe¿s story in June. Ms. Novak ¿ Thank you and keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    A Terrific Book!

    This was a wonderful contemporary story about Lucky Caldwell; a girl who grew up in a small town; feeling like she never belonged, never felt wanted, or liked because of who and what her mother was. She inherited a house from her stepfather and six years after his death she returns to renovate the house and find out who her biological father is. The first person she sees is Mike Hill; a man that she has loved since she was sixteen. It is such a touching story. She is very much alone and she has to prove that she is not like her mother. The relationship that grows between Lucky and Mike is wonderful I can't wait for the next book in the series. I highly recommend this book and any other Brenda Novak book. You will not regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific contemporary relationship drama

    When Lucky Caldwell was ten, her mother Red a hooker married wealthy Morris Caldwell though his family went ballistic. Red walked out of his life not long after the 'I do' was exchanged. Still Morris liked Lucky and bequeathed to her a fixer upper Victorian house that has left his kin outraged.--- Like his family, Morris¿ grandson Mike Hill detests the fact that Lucky owns the house next door to him due to his grandfather¿s will. He thinks she is just like her mother, an avaricious whore. Now six years after inheriting the house, Lucky has moved in to renovate it and find out who is her biological father, one of three men listed by her late mother in her diary. As Lucky goes about town, Mike finds to his chagrin that he is attracted to her and worse as he gets to know her he likes her. Still there is no hope for anything beyond a short fling as his mother loathes Lucky due to her gene pool.--- A HOUSE OF HER OWN is a terrific contemporary relationship drama that stars a solid cast of individuals who feel authentic especially when old grudges continue to fester. Lucky is a wonderful protagonist who gains reader empathy as she constantly has to prove that she is not a chip off the old block. Mike is quickly pulled in two directions; wanting to remain loyal to his family especially his mother, but desperately wants to sleep with the enemy who he loves. Lucky¿s family tree search adds a reason for her to return to town but that still remains a diversion from a fabulous family feuding spectacle.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1